We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”
Review of Tomales Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tomales Bay Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were in Room 1 which had a living room, kitchenette and separate bedroom with 2 queen beds. It was clean but the furnishings and bedding were dated. It had a nice back deck that had a view of the water and a front porch that had a bbq. We felt like we were staying in a funky beach house instead of a hotel which we liked. We were there on a Sunday and Monday so things were relatively quiet. The front desk was very attentive and the brown bag breakfast is a nice touch. We were going out on an early fishing trip the next morning so they packed us the breakfast the night before which I really appreciated. Don't expect a "resort" atmosphere, you will be disappointed. We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend room 1 if you are looking for a bit more room or traveling with kids.

Room Tip: Room 1 is spacious. If you are traveling with kids, this is the way to go.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank vacation0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed in just a normal room without the big windows that faced the bay but it had a great updated shared patio with nice chairs and a table. The room was clean and the beds were firm and comfortable. The room was older but had been updated a bit. We just spend one night but it looked like a place you could spend several nights and enjoyed what the surrounding area has to offer!!

Room Tip: They were open to bargaining on the room rate since we were coming to just sleep for the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wenbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Absolutely wonderful greeting by Barbara. Full of information and recommendations. We stayed in room 31 which is in a separate two story building. Ample parking, great room, great view (we were on second floor). Purpose of trip was to attend a wedding, which was held about 7 miles south of this place. Only reason for Very Good vs Excellent is that there is no restaurant at this place or even in this small town for breakfast. There is a coffee place about three miles south and very good place for lunch or dinner. However, they do provide milk, fruit and cereal as well as coffee in your room. The room was Outstanding. Very nice leather sofa, built in corner shelf for laptop, excellent wifi, very nice shower and bathroom, plenty of hanging space and place for suitcase. Would definitely stay here again. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I would actually give this spot a 3.5 if I could. You can't beat the views of tamales bay in room 12, and its in the middle of pt. Reyes reserve. The rooms are clean but simple but not modern, even if they have been upgraded. The beds are comfortable an d our kids slept well, but we dragged them around the coast for four days as well. The hotel has a sleepy feel to it and there is nothing to do in Inverness, so bring a good book and a bottle of wine. We had a very mediocre dinner down the road that cost a ridiculous amount (not their problem) so you may want to eat before you get there.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center and the outdoor pool is freezing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RDSConcord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We spent two nights here and were very comfortable. We were in room six, which overlooks the Tomales Bay. It is a suite. Very clean and comfortable. There is a room with a king size bed and another room with a sofa sleeper. A roll away bed is included as well. There is a small refrigerator and a dinette that was very convenient. You can walk out to the small marina right from the room's back door. The only thing I would change about this room was the brightness of the living room area where the sofa sleeper is. This room get the light from the outside 24 hours a day. The room does have blinds but these do not block the light at all. It is very uncomfortable to sleep with basically the light on all the time. Other than that this place was very nice. It is not fancy but very nicely taken care off. A breakfast snack is included with the room. It consists of cheerios, an apple, orange juice and milk. Most of the people at the front desk were average nice with the exception of Anna. She was very helpful, going the extra mile to make our family feel comfortable. This place is very family friendly. All the rooms are different so give them a call when making plans to get what fits you best. Prices were reasonable. Also, you will find a kayak rental shop right by the hotel.

Room Tip: Call them. All rooms are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peacemomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I stayed here about 6 months ago and reviewed it then. My opinion hasn't changed much, just reinforced. This in an older establishment that has been maintained very well. The rooms aren't in "newly remodeled condition." But I found them very comfortable. I chose the lowest priced type of unit with a queen bed. Last time I stayed in 16 and this time in 21. The living area has two desks with three chairs total. I appreciated having the two desks for computers etc. The wifi is password secure. A minor complaint is that the bathroom is a little small, and there is no place around the sink to put your toilet articles. The heating system works very well, and is very quiet.

One of the big draws for me was that the property is right on Tomales Bay. You will pay extra to get a view of the bay from your room. My room did not have that.

Their "breakfast" is nothing fancy. You can pick it up the night before, or after 8 am in the office. It consists of an apple, cold cereal, milk for the cereal and a carton of juice. Personally I go to Blackbird a short distance up the street.

The price is the lowest I could find in the area. If that is what you want, this is your place. It is a very good value. Check the other options out for yourself online. If you are looking for luxury, go somewhere else.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Skytrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Having stayed at the "Golden Hinde" some years ago and looking for a near-by getaway, we chose to return to the Inverness area, and to what is now The Tomales Bay Resort. It was exactly what we needed! Remodeling continues, but our room has been tastefully renovated, has a refrigerator, sink and great bathroom facilities. It included, too, a fireplace and flat screen TV ( that went unused). The view out the double door glass windows is beyond great - we got to watch a sailing lesson, kayakers and swimmers. The pool is small, but shielded from the wind. Unfortunately, the restaurent is presently closed, but that just lead to us going out a little ways and trying other things in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room with water view...it's so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katyscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
6.1 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
17.3 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,596 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
521 reviews
15.0 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
119 reviews
17.7 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomales Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomales Bay Resort

Address: 12938 Sir Francis Drake Blvd, P.O. Box 38, Inverness, CA 94937-9706
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Inverness
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Tomales Bay Hotel Inverness
Golden Hinde Inverness
Tomales Bay Resort Inverness, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing