We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore-Formerly Inverness Valley Inn”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore-Formerly Inverness Valley Inn”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Another Fantastic Stay! We stayed here for four days two years ago when this place was the Inverness Valley Inn. We had a great time, very peaceful. We came back this summer expecting another great stay and it was. This time we stayed five days. The recent change in ownership appeared seamless. The new owners, Sue and Andy, are very friendly. They've done some gardening, but it is still the quiet, serene, natural environment that we were expecting. It's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We've stayed in Rooms 3, 9, and 10. 9 and 10 are further from the highway; therefore quieter. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    56
    17
    4
    8
See reviews for
68
91
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We just spent a delightful night with our dog at the Inverness Valley Inn-soon to be called the Cabins at Point Reyes Seashore. The Inn was recently taken over by new owners who are in the process of updating and making the place their own. It is a beautiful, comfortable, private setting with many activities available both on the property and nearby. One of the most beautiful spots in the world, The Point Reyes National Seashore, is only minutes away, as well as the small town of Inverness with a great cafe and a couple good restaurants. Tomales Bay with sunny beaches is just down the road. This is a versatile spot that can be enjoyed by couples, families, large groups or just solo travelers. We loved the quiet nights and beautiful starry night sky and will definitely be back to enjoy more of the area. We highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Dog friendly rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linny18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Had a wondeful time over the 4th of July weekend...the new ownership is really taking pride in the property. Although the area has some deferred maintance the rooms were clean, quite and in private setting. Lots of sun and open rooms with small kitchen and living area. Nice deck in a private setting...very close to all the key activities in Point Reyes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMACI4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We decided at the last minute to spend the 4th up in Inverness. Neither of us had spent any time in the area and we wanted to bring our Australian Shepherd. The Inverness Valley Inn was the first place that could take all three of us. (FYI-the IVI is changing their name to Cabins at Point Reyes).

This name change is a good one as we were expecting an Inn and there wasn't one. There are just cabins. We were part of a two cabin unit that shared a wall. We had a two bedroom unit. It was clean and eco friendly. They provided us with two Dog towels which we made good use of. The kitchen facilities were minimal (2 electric burners, a dorm style refrigerator and a microwave). And the plates and cookware were also minimal (only 2 coffee mugs).

The location was quiet (except for our neighbor's noisy kids and thin walls). The advertised nature trail was bordered by poison oak so we didn't follow it far. We did not use the pool or hot tub as there was so much to do off-property.

The location was great, about ten minutes from Pt. Reyes Station which has several nice restaurants and a great gourmet grocery store.

The owner (or managers we were not sure) were helpful with pointing out dog friendly hikes. And when we needed matches to light the bbq, they brought them over post haste.

Living in San Francisco, it's nice to know that there is such a fantastic getaway area just a little over an hour away (much more convenient than Tahoe). And if you have Verizon as your carrier there was good service and the wifi network was very good.

Room Tip: There are only a few dog-friendly rooms. You have to book them over the phone as opposed to on-line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Packer220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada City, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed here in March and had a lovely time. Beautiful property, fireplace in bedroom, kitchen with everything we needed for meals or wine. Big deck, with table, chairs and bbq. The hikes on the property were wonderful and the hot tub under the stars was icing on the cake. Want to return to swim in the pool! The location was amazing.. the last inn on the way to the Pt. Reyes Lighthouse. Innkeepers just purchased the property and are bringing their expertise and great eye for detail to the rooms and the gardens.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I was somewhat disappointed in our stay here. I try to choose our lodging carefully as we are on a limited budget and don't get away overnight very often. Although the room was clean, it did smell musty (thus the 'poor' room rating) and I could see places on the bathroom ceiling where it looked like they had painted over some mold/mildew. While the walls were thin (our neighbor asked that we turn off the bathroom fan as it was too loud), we enjoyed that there was lots of natural light light in the room. The bathroom towels were pathetic. The bed was comfortable and the gas fireplace was great! We never saw the management, which is OK, and Susan was friendly on the phone. They are making an effort to keep up the grounds, but aren't quite there yet. For me, a little more would go a long way to improve the stay; for instance a little vase of fresh flowers and/or some good, hot coffee and a few muffins delivered at a prearranged time in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorCalGirl_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A&STraveller, Owner at Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry for this guests "disappointments". My wife and I recently purchased this property, and we are working hard to address it's problems. One of our biggest problems is with our very inconsistent linen service. On the weekend of this review, I was fit to be tied because we had received under sized towels. We are currently looking for solutions to this problem. With regard to the other suggestions, all of our rooms include a kitchenette with two burners, a microwave, a refrigerator, and a coffee maker with coffee and tea packets. We think this is a great package for affordable lodging, and our goal is to maintain our price point. All that understood though, we have been very encouraged by all the guests that tell us how happy they are with their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We spent a wonderful weekend at this Inn recently. The facility is under new ownership and Eco friendly. The check - in was very easy. The property seemed well maintained with swimming pool, jacuzzi, 2 tennis courts , picnic tables and a hammock for relaxing. We rented one of their family suites that was clean and spacious enough for 4 people. The kitchen was well equipped with all necessary cooking tools , pots and pans. Bathroom facilities.Each cabin also had BBQ grill and patio or deck seatings. I would return in the near future or recommend it to my friends because of the flexibility with the overnight stay( they allow one night stays), convenient location , good service and fair pricing.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the property , away from the parking lot are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edobai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
6.5 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
17.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,379 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
496 reviews
24.6 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
545 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ten Inverness Way
Ten Inverness Way
#3 of 10 in Inverness
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore

Property: Cottages at Point Reyes Seashore
Address: 13275 Sir Francis Drake Blvd, PO Box 429, Inverness, CA 94937-9706 (Formerly Inverness Valley Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Inverness Valley Hotel Inverness
Cottages At Point Reyes Seashore Inverness, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing