We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem near Pt. Reyes Station, CA”
Review of Motel Inverness

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Motel Inverness
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Off the beaten path just outside Pt. Reyes Station, you'll find Motel Inverness. This charming inn was a surprise on several levels. Affordable with truly luxurious bedding in every guestroom. A large oversize lounge is a great gathering space. And the innkeeper, is completely attentive and helpful. Just minutes away from the delightful town of Pt. Reyes Station.

Room Tip: There are only a dozen rooms and each one has a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank napanapa_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

I love this place but this year's visit was a bummer. The setting is on Tomales Bay--fabulous. The staff (Shannon & Melissa) very welcoming and the locale can't be beat (Point Reyes National Seashore). However the rooms are very small, lack telephones and internet connectivity. There is a lovely seating area with a fireplace and TV collocated with the front office. A dining table makes for a perfect dining-in with goodies from Perry's Delicatessen.

The difficulty this year occurred in the common seating area where staff, my wife, and myself were verbally attacked and bizarrely harassed repeatedly by an obviously troubled guest.

Such close quarters and interaction could be a contributing factor here; I'm inclined to avoid the possibility of this sort of disappointment recurring on our future trips to the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jjojr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for our first two nights in the States so we could chill before moving on. We had advised we would be late and arrangements had been made for our key.

We had the Great Egret suite so had a bedroom with table to eat at, kitchen and shower room. There was a deck outside with furniture.

The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable and the shower was good. Only complaint in the bathroom was the usual lack of space to spread toiletries out. Everything in the kitchen worked and there was a full sized cooker for anyone wanting to stay for a while and self-cater. Good big fridge/freezer.

The view from the kitchen and deck was superb for scenery and birds and there is a hummingbird feeder at the kitchen window.

The innkeeper was lovely, friendly and helpful. Would recommend and we will visit again if we manage to get to the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rojanich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed in the Heart's Desire suite, 10/9-1/11/13. What a lovely, relaxing spot. There were four of us and both beds were very comfortable. We ate in a few times and it was nice to have the little kitchenette for dishes, glasses, etc. I also appreciate the hotel's nod to sustainability in the bamboo dishes, notes to be water usage conscious, and other practices. The outside area to watch the wildlife was lovely. We also spent time in the front in the beautiful garden. If you would like a quiet, relaxing, clean place to stay then I highly recommend the Motel Inverness.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MadisonCassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Room 4 was very cute although a bit on the cozy side. On the down side my wife and I woke up in pain, the bed had San Francisco style hills in it. The lodge was very nice with a wonderful view of the bay and nice morning light.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We decided to stay at the Motel Inverness because it was late and we saw that there was a vacancy. That was an excellent decision on our part.

The staff is terrific and provided a lot of information about sightseeing/dining/etc for the area.

The motel is a bit older and has some older style decor. However, the bathroom had new style fixtures. And everything was working perfectly.

The motel backs up to the wetlands of Tomales Bay, and there is a boardwalk that goes out a hundred yards or so with a comfy covered bench at the end. So depending on the season, birdwatchers could freak out here. Or one could just use binocs or a scope (the motel has one) from the wooden decks. The common lobby area is quite comfy.

This is a pleasant good value property, not too far from attractions such as the Pt. Reyes Lighthouse, or the elk preserve.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tecolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Two nights at Motel Inverness right on the main road just past Inverness Park. Small ground floor room with nice little balcony right on the marsh adjacent to Tomales Bay. Some birds to see right there. Really late arrival nicely accommodated. We'd been there before and would go back again. However you don't want to be spending much if any time in this room and if the weather is cold and windy, the balcony is not the place to be. Since we have grown kids in the Marin county area and planned visits to the beaches up the road and breakfast & dinners out, was an OK headquarters for us. Spacious common room. Adjacent outdoor seating with grass friendly to young kids. Caveats: They don't serve any meals - specifically breakfast! Also the bed was too soft and lumpy for my taste...needs to be replaced.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaktLosGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
4.3 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
19 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,776 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
539 reviews
15 mi away
Metro Hotel & Cafe
Metro Hotel & Cafe
#1 of 9 in Petaluma
790 reviews
17.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton San Rafael
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Inverness

Address: 12718 Sir Francis Drake Blvd, Inverness, CA 94937-9716
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Inverness
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range: £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lodging experience in Point Reyes National Seashore. Located on Tomales Bay and surrounded by wildlife preserves on all sides, our guests can experience the tranquility and peacefulness of nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Motel Inverness Hotel Inverness
Hotel Inverness
Motel Inverness California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing