We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the incredible diversity of these reviews!!!!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manka's Inverness Lodge
Ranked #5 of 10 Inverness B&B and Inns
Louisville, KY
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Love the incredible diversity of these reviews!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Another wonderful trip to Manka's. We stayed in the Boathouse, too, and damned if they didn't help us with our luggage either. For those of you who stay in "the most expensive hotels" and need help with your luggage, please go somewhere else. It's tough enough getting a room at Manka's. And the coffee-maker worked just fine in October....thank heaven's I wasn't there in July. The place is very romantic and a touch quirky; expensive as well. But worth every penny if you're in the right mood! Breakfasts are incredible, even with the New York Times. The owners have just purchased the Olema Inn, a few minutes away, to continue the culinary traditions of Manka's that were cut short, or at least abbreviated, by the fire. Rooms too will be available at the Olema. Manka's is located about 60-90 minutes north of San Francisco and about the same distance from the Napa and Sonoma wineries. It is located off of Sir Francis Drake Blvd. on the way out to the Point Reyes Seashore (about a 20-30 minute drive) and about 10 minutes to Point Reyes Station. There is plenty to do in the area, at least for short periods. It is for peace and quiet and romance if you are in the mood. If you need room service go away.......!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MFHLouisville_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    26
    9
    7
    14
See reviews for
10
66
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed four nights at their most expensive accommodations -"The Boat House"- in July 2013. These comments are not about the cost since we usually stay at the most expensive hotels.

This property did not come to our high standards. To make a very long list of disappointments into a very few to just prove the point.

1. No offer to assist with luggage.
2. Coffee maker not working - and to make our point they even knew that when we checked in.
3. The "lavish" chef's dinner served in our boat house consisted of a small leg of chicken, a salad, potato casserole followed by a small slice of cake. It was not good at all. In my opinion the cost of $200 for a chicken dinner is over the top. The website stated it would be lavish - we don't define lavish as a chicken dinner delivered by a pizza man and placed in a basket on your table. No offer of a table cloth, no candles, no nothing. A picnic for $200. Whoopee.
4. Turn down service. YES-NO. One night out of 4 is not up to our standards for this price.
5. Refrigerator - right out the 1920's. Ice on the door. Mold.
6. Mold in the kitchen doors and counter tops
7. Batteries in flashlight on key ring not working. We called desk and it was not replaced until will called and called.
8. No magazines, however, to their credit a NYTimes was delivered with the breakfast.

SUMMARY: We would never return. We were told by management that their property is always fully booked so we can't believe that the owners care about their property. The boathouse is their most expensive suite. The view was ideal, unusual and wonderful though very understated and stark with both furniture and accessories. With a little attention by the owners these could someday be a treasure. However, until they change, we would never return.

R. Osur - Las Vegas

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed at Mankas, cabin 7, for two wonderful nights. It was so quiet, secluded and very romantic. The cabin was beautifully appointed and comfortable with a lovely bathroom. It is luxury from a rustic point of view, which was exactly what we wanted. The fireplace and loaded iPod were the only things we needed! Also, cabin 7 had a rustic little hot tub on the porch, just perfect for two people. We had a lovely time and would stay again if we found ourselves in the area again.

**i totally recommend the Sir and Star in Olema for dinner. So delish!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaina_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is our go-to place in Point Reyes, we especially love the Boat House over Tomales Bay which is pricey indeed yet always pays off for us. A special treat which says to one another how much we love one another.

Yes, it's off the beaten track and so is the service, especially so, but the accommodations are a hoot and a half. This isn't the place for everyone, to be sure; it's an odd-ball kind of joint and not for everyone. But, if you are one such, then you will be happy. We're always happy and satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatalinaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We sadly only had 1 night at Manka's. Highly recommend for at least 2-3 nights. Romantic, unique spot. Clean and lots of nice little touches to make you feel that it is money well spent. We arrived late in the evening and were greeted by a very helpful host. Everything was just perfect. The only nice addition would be a small mini bar in the room. Need some red wine as you gaze at the lovely fireplace.

Room Tip: pay extra for the nicer, bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatJaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

"What a place to ‘get away from it all’. It’s simple and very quirky, but incredibly welcoming. Accommodation is in a variety of restored estates, varying from an old hunting and fishing lodge to a boathouse or a cabin. The style is Ralph Lauren-esq, rustic-meets-contemporary, country chic, maximized for comfort and relaxation. What with the extremely comfortable bed and the absolute silence of the scenery, I had some of the best nights sleep ever. I didn’t hurt that I had spent the day hiking in the fresh air and gorgeous scenery, followed by a deliciously filling, fireside seven-course supper... If you come looking for big-brand service and uniform style then you’ll be disappointed... Life goes at a slower pace here, so expect the odd delay or service hiccup. It didn’t bother us in the slightest, we just enjoyed the sense of relaxation - and the views."

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We are just back from a week in Manka's Cabin wherein we dwelled in delight. A little over a year ago we were ensconced in Manka's Boathouse over (literally) Tomales Bay, where we also dwelled in delight. So, why such contradictory reviews? Why do we long to be Manka-ed and others warn against that state of being?

With good reason pro and con. If you especially are concerned with getting every bit of your penny's worth, then Manka's is not for you. If you are looking for an abiding out-of-the-way stay in splendid environs, then Manka's may be for you. Yes, it's expensive, especially at the high end of their offerings. We have our pennies to be well recompensed.

We also have found the service to be about as much as we want. Anything we've requested has been delivered and often over the top. It's a place where, if you want anything, you need to speak up and ask for it. That's the sort of place we enjoy -- no hovering to be sure.

The bedding is finest kind -- mattress, linens and pillows; sublime rest therein.

Breakfasts are fabulous, often including sticky buns that "jump out of the oven." Mighty tasty. Fireside dinners are recommended on Fridays and Sundays; we were well fed therefore.

We find the post-fire Manka's more comfortable than the pre-fire Manka's and we'll be headed back again this summer.

Room Tip: The Boathouse and Manka's Cabin are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CatalinaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
5.7 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
17.7 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,437 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
503 reviews
15.4 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
117 reviews
23.8 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manka's Inverness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manka's Inverness Lodge

Property: Manka's Inverness Lodge
Address: 30 Calendar Way, Inverness, CA 94937
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts and Craft era Lodge tucked in above Inverness Rooms and Cabins in the hills and on the water ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manka`s Inverness Hotel Inverness
Mankas Inverness Lodge
Manka's Inverness Lodge California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing