We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Glad We Chose This B & B.”
Review of Ten Inverness Way

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ten Inverness Way
Ranked #3 of 10 Inverness B&B and Inns
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So Glad We Chose This B & B.”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

When planning our trip to Point Reyes, we spent time and read reviews to decide where would be the best place to stay. We are so glad we had the opportunity to stay at Ten Inverness Way and to meet Terri. We were welcomed with home-baked cookies and tea in the afternoon and with wine and cheese each evening we stayed. Our room was adjacent to the library which contains a wonderful collection of reading material. The room was comfortable, quiet and spotless. The house itself is delightful--with a comfortable great room where guests can read the newspaper or converse with one another and enjoy a glass of wine or a cup of tea. Terri served a delicious breakfast with great coffee each morning we were there. We appreciated the special touches such as a fresh flower garnish on our breakfast plate. Terri had some good recommendations for restaurants, bakeries and a bookstore in the area. Ten Inverness Way is located right off Sir Francis Drake Boulevard which is the main road to most Point Reyes sights. It is within walking distance of Saltwater, a restaurant we tried and enjoyed. We will definitely stay again at Ten Inverness Way on our next visit to the Point Reyes area.

Room Tip: The room next to the library was where we stayed. It is also next to the kitchen and is recommended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountaingirlOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    16
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
92
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed about a year or two ago and I keep forgetting to write this review. First Teri the Host really makes you feel at home and welcomed. My brother and his wife never stayed at a B & B so I was curious how they would like it, whereas my wife and I have stayed at many. They loved it and really were able to relax.
The cookies were awesome. Teri made my favorite cookies! Breakfast was great.
The only negative is I didn't sleep well because whoever washed the sheets used so much bleach, I smelled bleach throughout the night and didn't sleep well. Hopefully less bleach will be used in the future. I can't remember the exact date we went so I checked off the oldest travel date option box.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeyman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We travel a lot. And we consider Point Reyes one of the most beautiful and enjoyable areas we know. Its mix of California coastal ruggedness, Tomales Bay tranquility, and mountain and forest hikes will have whatever effect you're looking for -- relax, enervate, kick back, get re-charged you name it. The food, wine and beer at the restaurants in the area help too.
And Ten Inverness Way is THE place to stay. Teri runs a great B&B: regarding the first B, it's homey, comfortable, a touch of luxury; and as to the other, we had three breakfasts all creative, locavored, and super tasty. Plus interesting folks to meet, the right combination of socializing and solitude.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at Ten Inverness Way and the only downside to our visit was that it was only for one night. We absolutely loved the feel of this place which was homey and inviting. The other guests were just as great as Teri and her staff who were warm and friendly. Breakfast was fantastic and we were sad to head back to the city so quickly, especially because Teri had some great hike suggestions we didn't have time for.

If you want a true home away from home, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Fork, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

There is a reason I have stayed at Ten Inverness Way six times. Every time I stay there, Teri has taken time to insure we have all the attention and information we need without being intrusive. She is very knowledgeable about the area. The property is well positioned to all the hikes in the area.

Cookies and wine in the evening. The breakfast frittata should not be missed.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george60814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Ten Inverness Way and easily could have stayed several more. The B&B was in a perfectly beautiful location, quiet, but still close to food and attractions. Teri (the proprietor) was awesome and was the perfect hostess, helping us plan our visit to the area (suggesting great hikes, restaurants, book stores, etc.). The room was neat, clean, and VERY comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent each morning, not overly fancy like at some B&Bs, but with nice fresh touches each day such as freshly-picked blackberries (from the backyard!) for the pancakes one day, and local cheeses (which Point Reyes is famous for) on others. We had fresh home-baked cookies each afternoon, and wine and cheese in the evenings. The B&B is about an hour out of San Francisco, so it is perfect for a quick get-a-way where you actually feel like you’re getting away. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Walking distance to restaurants, market and a few shops. Very quite. Walking distance to the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Number Ten Inverness Way is a comfortable, country inn, and for me, the only place to stay at Point Reyes. Teri Mattson, the proprietor, treats guests as welcome members of the family and cooks up a hearty breakfast each morning. The congenial atmosphere in the great room encourages everyone's participation in the discussions of the day's adventures over wine, cheese, and cookies—on the house—in the late afternoon. She's also the best source for restaurant recommendations, hikes, walks on the beach, kayaking, and cycling.

Room Tip: All the rooms are handsomely decorated, but after several visits, we prefer number one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
5.3 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
18.1 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,379 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
497 reviews
15.7 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
114 reviews
23.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Inverness Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Inverness Way

Property: Ten Inverness Way
Address: 10 Inverness Way, Inverness, CA 94937
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman B&B, abundant garden, great room with stone fireplace, sunny library, gourmet breakfasts, picnic lunches and access to a diverse recreational area in the Point Reyes National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Ten Inverness Way reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ten Inverness Way California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing