We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy and great locale” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ten Inverness Way

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ten Inverness Way
Ranked #4 of 10 Inverness B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Comfy and great locale”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2006

This B&B is located in the very quiet town of Inverness (pop. 50). It's situated at the entrance to Point Reyes national park and Tomales Bay state park. The location is perfect for day hikers, acitvity seekers, and oyster eaters. Rooms are small, though cozy, each with their own decor and bathroom. Breakfast is superb just filling enough to start a day's adventures. Evening wine and cheese service was a great way to meet fellow travellers (and get recommendations for dinner). Johnson Oyster Company (on the road to the lighthouse) is fantastic and we highly recommend buying a dozen or so to eat at a bench on the edge of the estuary.

This place is what it says it is: "A B&B for hikers and readers."

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sixelagogo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    16
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
85
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, WI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2006

The best B&B we've ever stayed in. The rooms are cozy and roomy and the "Living Room" is inviting. Teri and Brett (the inkeepers) made us feel absolutely at home. They provided a wonderful breakfast (e.g., wild mushroom and spinach quiche with fresh fruit) and served complimentary cheese and wine in late afternoon. The Point Reyes National Seashore was at our doorstep (whales, elk, deer, elephant seals, etc.). Will absolutely return!

Helpful?
2 Thank radknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2006

Being somewhat of a B & B "afficionada", I have become fairly picky about them and Ten Inverness Way measures up in every respect. The 1904 house is in the charming craftsman style and is surrounded by lush gardens. A short dirve north of San Francisco, the situation is quiet & secluded yet within walking distance of gourmet restaurants, and a short drive away from shops & restaurants in Olema (especially yummy is fare at the Olema Inn)and quaint Pt Reyes Station. The innkeepers are most aimable (do I sound like hercule Poirot?). One has just retired as Pres of the CA B & B Assn, and is very attentive to the special details of running a first class establishment, besides being a marvelous cook. The other is a delightful botanist who with prior arrangements is eager to lead guests on fun & informative nature hikes in the Pt Reyes National Seashore area. They are both very informed about goings on in the area and enjoy sharing tailor-made creative suggestions about outing options.

Upon checking in, there was wine & local cheese offered in the sitting area in front of a crackling fire in the stone fireplace(be sure to try the Pt Reyes Blue...the cheesemaker having moved there from his previous position at Maytag)...and happily there were still some freshly baked cookies out from earlier in the afternoon. The rooms are charming, I think all with views of the surrounding trees, and the bathrooms have hair dryers and specialty soaps & lotions.

I will return here again and again when I need to come down from the mountains and be by the sea, as I feel as though I've made new friends and found a "home away from home"...without having to perform any of the chores!

Helpful?
5 Thank MKEBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2006

Our stay was nothing short of great. We stayed on a weekday when the inn was a bit slower, so it seemed we had the place all to ourselves.
In the evening, the owners set out wine and cheese for us to snack on in addition to the fresh fruit and cookies that are available all day! Breakfast was yummy, and noticing that my partner had eaten all of his so fast, the owner made him a second omlet without saying a word!
The owners are avid hikers, and have lots of info on the trails around Point Reyes!
Have Fun!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rdubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2005

Our room was nice albeit small, and breakfasts were good. We did not like the fact that our room had no screens for the windows, as no one wants to sleep with insects flying around. We made the mistake of not checking for air conditioning, and there was none. If they could put screens in the windows, the inn stay would be much better.

Helpful?
4 Thank ustravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2005

Ten Inverness Way is a cozy and inviting Inn providing a perfectly relaxing way to end a day of exploring the beautiful California coast. Our room (suite #1) was clean, comfortable, and quiet with fabulous sky lights over the bed.
Various destinations along the Point Reyes National Seashore, such as the Point Reyes Lighthouse and beautiful north and south shores, are only a short drive away (a gorgeous and scenic drive, I would add). Teri, the owner of Ten Inverness Way, was friendly, welcoming, and helpful. Her suggestions and directions were invaluable in helping us to see as much as we could of the area during our stay!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverness
5.3 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
10.7 mi away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
18.1 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
3.7 mi away
Point Reyes Hostel
Point Reyes Hostel
#1 of 2 in Point Reyes Station
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.0 mi away
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
Point Reyes Vineyard Inn
#5 of 15 in Point Reyes Station
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ten Inverness Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ten Inverness Way

Property: Ten Inverness Way
Address: 10 Inverness Way, Inverness, CA 94937
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Inverness
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman B&B, abundant garden, great room with stone fireplace, sunny library, gourmet breakfasts, picnic lunches and access to a diverse recreational area in the Point Reyes National Seashore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ten Inverness Way reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ten Inverness Way California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing