We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we found the Garden of Eden!”
Review of Soneva Fushi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Soneva Fushi
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kunfunadhoo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2012

What can we say about Soneva Fushi that has not already been said? actually nothing cause whatever you could read, you won't realise how peaceful you gonna feel before to put a foot ( naked) on it! It's more than beaches, clearwater,amazing marine life and wonderfull villas. It's all about details and senses : the smell of the preserved nature, the sound of birds while you do meditation on top of the trees,fresh air on your face when you ride across the jungle,the real taste of organic food from their own garden and above all this incredible feeling of being alone in this paradise!
For the first time i didn't feel guilty to be a tourist : they take care of the environment as they take care of you!
By taking your shoes at the beginning of the journey , the take all your problems away from you, you don't have anything to worry about!
We always try not to go twice at the same place but this time it's gonna be impossible to resist!

Room Tip: The dolphin beach side view is more beautifull and the corals are not as close to the beach , so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twiggy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear Guest,

We loved your review. Thank you very much for the compliments and for sharing your holiday experience with the world.

We are committed to providing our guests with memorable experiences and it makes us so happy and proud to know that you found ‘the Garden of Eden’ here at Soneva Fushi.

We definitely look forward to your next visit and to the pleasure of welcoming you again.


Yours sincerely,


Laurie Burr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

571 - 577 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

great combination of a laid down atmosphere combined with a high quality standard in every respect: attentiveness of personnel, cuisine and activities on offer. My personal highlight was the apnoe (freedive) course led by a certified diving instructress. I was always kind of interested in freediving and wanted to get some tips and tricks from a diving instructor. I was very surprised when i saw that one can enroll in a real course with theory, practice and the certificate at the end. That was a lot of fun! I would also highlight the gym that i used a few times: very well equipped, not just for cardio freaks (as is the trend in many studios) but with lots of free weights as well. All in all a great resort for everyone: honeymooners, couples and families. Would definitely come again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Such a fantastic review – we enjoyed reading your feedback and we are glad that we were able to exceed all your expectations. We are happy that you had lots of fun with diving and that you enjoyed our gym and all the other activities and facilities on offer.

We look forward to your return and to the pleasure of serving you again.


Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Arrived at Soneva Fushi with the family a month after losing my father. We were all looking for a vacation to help us deal with our loss. We couldn't have asked for a better one! The staff at the Soneva were so warm and friendly, especially our Ms. Friday Nafa. She looked after us throughout our stay be it a buggy ride to breakfast or a wake up call. It was as if she never slept! The villas are beautifully done up each with a stretch of private beach. Plenty of snorkeling around the resort with tons of fish. I had a wonderful massage at the attached six senses spa with Tri, who was a fantastic therapist. The island is very rustic, and the one drawback is that the lush vegetation attracts tons of mosquitoes. I was attacked head to toe until I discovered the mosquito repellent the resort provides. The restaurants are good with a large variety of food given the remoteness of the island. The breakfast and lunch buffets were impressive, while we had a superb dinner at "By the Beach" which is a Japanese/Korean tapa style restaurant. Unfortunately our experience at the Mediterranean restaurant was a little less satisfying. However, this was not but a blip on an otherwise perfect vacation, thank you to Laurie, Nafa, Nicolas and all the fabulous staff. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rishi2hotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Soneva Fushi. We are so sorry about your father and we are glad that the warmth and friendliness of our hosts helped you enjoy a relaxed holiday. We have commended Nafa, your Ms. Friday on her excellent service to you and we are pleased that you felt well taken care of throughout your stay with us.

We are sorry to learn of the inconvenience you encountered due to mosquitoes. We have recently implemented a strict fogging schedule of the island daily, as well as provide insect repellents in all our villas, we will however continue to review and further improve our efforts to minimize the mosquitoes on the island. We are also concerned that your experience at the Mediterranean restaurant was less satisfying. Please rest assured that we have taken this up with the department concerned.

We are so happy that overall you enjoyed a perfect vacation and that you plan to be back, hopefully in the near future – we look forward to your return and to the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

We spent our honeymoon here and it was perfect. Very relaxed atmosphere. Yummy food, beautiful island and accommodation. There's not a whole lot to do (other than diving, water sports etc) but for us 2 quiet weeks on the beach was exactly what we wanted

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear Guest,

We are so glad that you chose Soneva Fushi in the Maldives to spend your honeymoon and to know that you enjoyed a relaxed atmosphere, yummy food, beautiful island and accommodation, which made your stay a perfect one.

Thank you for writing on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you again soon, perhaps for your anniversary?

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I went to Soneva Fushi 6 years ago, and believed i had experienced the most perfect trip ever, but this time around it was even better. Having visited all the Soneva and Six Senses resorts (Six Senses is no longer part of the group), as well as some other Maldives resorts, I can honestly say that Soneva Fushi is a world apart.

I knew this time not to even bother carrying slippers or sandals - the island is barefoot luxury at its best. The lemongrass or mint toiletries are gentle and perfect, and one can really appreciate the group's SLOWLIFE philosophy.

Our villa was large, with a lovely big pool and a resident rooster outside. The villas are clean and simple, yet have every amenity you can think of - including a little broom to sweep away any sand you may bring in! Our Friday Nafa was such a charming girl, and made sure we had lots of movies to watch and basically made sure that our every need was met.

The food at the resort is fantastic - breakfast offers so many options, and the best part of waking up is the fresh fruit and juice served up by the delightful Sira. We were at the resort for a week, and so had a chance to experiment with our meals. The private seafood BBQ on the beach on our anniversary was wonderful (we shared our salad with a bunny), the Japanese meal at By The Beach was outstanding, the picnic hamper we were given on our castaway island outing was healthy and wholesome, and the in villa dining menu was perfect for the times we didn't feel like moving. And one certainly cannot forget the endless flavors of ice-cream and sorbet, and Eva's cheesecake, available at anytime, night or day.

The spa is the oldest of all the Six Senses Spas but still a beautiful area, and the therapists are without a doubt the best. I had a pregnancy massage with Mau which left me so peaceful and relaxed that I couldn't stop smiling all day! I also tried a Watsu session with Alit which was superb - being 7 months pregnant this was the first time in an age that I actually felt 'light'! The lovely Lisa seems to be doing a stupendous job here, as all the therapists seem happy, and the energy at the spa is calming and positive.

We basically spent the week snorkeling, swimming, kayaking, walking, and made some lovely new friends as well. My husband and I were joined by the rest of our family after 4 days on the island, and it was a wonderfully bonding experience for us all, so much so that we've decided to do a family trip like this every year! Thank you to Laurie, Nic and the rest of their team at Soneva Fushi - we'll be back very soon!

Room Tip: The sunset side of the island faces a local island which is a bit of an eyesore, but its worth overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slowlifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read such a wonderful review and it was certainly most rewarding to know that you found Soneva Fushi to be even better since your last visit 6 years ago. We are very grateful for your kind compliments on the villa, the spa, our services and the food, particularly the ice cream and sorbet, and Eva’s cheesecake. The praise deservedly goes to my exceptional team who dedicates a lot of time and effort to consistently deliver the best level of service and care to all our guests - they are delighted to know that they played a part in your great holiday experience with your family.

We are so happy that you have decided to do a family trip every year and we certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The minute you arrive and take off your shoes you begin to appreciate how special this resort is. In fact it's not a resort but more home from home. the staff are all friendly, polite and attentive without being overbearing. The location is 30 mins from Male by sea plane and then you are induldged in an environment that inspires relaxation and tranquility. You can do as much or as little as you want from diving to cooking lessons and everything in between. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you won't wear a pair of shoes or fromal clothing so pack light and casual. After many years of travel this has to be the best hotel I have ever stayed in and will make it my mission to go back asap. I can't recommend this place highly enough. Just go and see for yourself!!

Room Tip: Ask for the sunset side if you want the sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilliamP951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Your wonderful feedback made us so happy. We are glad that you found Soneva Fushi to be a home away from home. Your kind compliments have been shared with my Team and we are so proud and thrilled to know that our Resort is the best you have ever stayed in.

We look forward to your return asap and to the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

Laurie Burr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Having been to 6 other Maldivian Islands all of which are great, Soneva Fushi is the one that ticks all the boxes and we would definately go back to.
The food is outstanding, service impeccable and you are made to feel nothing is too much trouble. We had a sunrise villa and come late afternoon we moved to Bar(a)Bara to watch the sunset and have cocktails. We saw dolpdins off the beach on both sides of the island.
The spa is amazing and the diving is the best I have done. We snorkeled at Hanifaru with 6 big mantas and I achieved my ultimate by diving with dolphins. All the dive team are really good fun and are passionate about what they do. The ability to swim a short distance to the edge of the reef made the snorkeling some of the best.
All the staff in every department are so friendly. The management greet and say farewell to every resident and the manager cocktail party is superb. The bicycles are really fun.
A must resort to visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kudahaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLESAManager, General Manager at Soneva Fushi, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to receive such great feedback on your recent stay at Soneva Fushi. We are so glad you enjoyed our facilities, the spa, diving, snorkeling, and the management cocktail party. I have shared your feedback with the dive team and they loved your kind compliments.

Thank you once again for sharing your holiday experience with others and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Laurie Burr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kunfunadhoo
8.7 mi away
Amilla Fushi
Amilla Fushi
#5 of 15 in Baa Atoll
323 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kihaa Maldives
Kihaa Maldives
#12 of 15 in Baa Atoll
585 reviews
12.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at Landaa Giraavaru
Four Seasons Resort Maldives at ...
#1 of 1 in Landaagiraavaru Island
1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
Anantara Kihavah Maldives Villas
#1 of 1 in Kihavah Huravalhi
1,169 reviews
11.2 mi away
Milaidhoo Island Maldives
Milaidhoo Island Maldives
#1 of 15 in Baa Atoll
147 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Maldives
Dusit Thani Maldives
#6 of 15 in Baa Atoll
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soneva Fushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soneva Fushi

Address: Baa Atoll, 2233 (Formerly Soneva Fushi Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Baa Atoll > Kunfunadhoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kunfunadhoo
Price Range: £949 - £3,108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Soneva Fushi 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When Eva and Sonu Shivdasani built Soneva Fushi as well as their home on the deserted island of Kunfunadhoo in the Maldives in 1995 they had no idea that their intensely personal vision of a locally crafted villa and environmentally responsible lifestyle would form the basis of a successful collection of world-class hotels, resorts and spas. But that's exactly what happened. Soneva Fushi was the first 'castaway' resort in the Maldives, pioneering a trend for back-to-nature luxury holidays. It established a blueprint for a highly acclaimed international business, followed by spectacular Soneva Kiri on the unspoilt Thai island of Koh Kood in 2009. The success of the Soneva brand also paved the way for Six Senses Resorts and Spas with award-winning properties in Asia, the Middle East and Europe. Under Eva's and Sonu's direction the Six Senses brand gained a global following before being sold in 2012. Today the Sonevas have many imitators, but no equals. Each Soneva - and a yachting experience, Soneva in Aqua - impresses on a wide range of levels. Breathtaking 'remote but accessible' natural locations, effortlessly chic accommodation, incredible food, truly memorable activities, an inspiring ethos of sustainability and service that is uncannily intuitive. The resort that set the tone and the standards for every subsequent resort. A jewel of an island - large by Maldives standards - with perfect beaches, a vibrant reef encircling the island, a colony of nesting turtles and its very own world class observatory. Located in the Baa Atoll, Maldives' only UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve, Soneva Fushi is blessed with extensive coral reefs and significant biodiversity including large concentrations of whale sharks, manta rays and marine turtles. The resort is perfect for romantic couple getaways, or family holidays as it provides unique experiences and activities for all, from diving and snorkelling with the marine biologist, to sandbank dinners and a children's den (playground). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Soneva Fushi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soneva Fushi By Six Senses Hotel Kunfunadhoo
Soneva Fushi By 6 Senses
Soneva Fushi Resort
Soneva Fushi Hotel
Soneva Fushi Maldives/Kunfunadhoo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing