We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for its class and price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great hotel for its class and price”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel is well located for most tourist activities, and the rooms are clean, new and fresh. I shared a room with a friend of mine, and we each had plenty of space. The front desk staff was very friendly.

The only issue was the breakfast - the breakfast space is very small and it was elbow-to-elbow to get anything. The biggest bottleneck was the waffle maker - that line had at least 10 people in it. I highly recommend that the hotel have at least two but better yet would be three waffle machines.

Overall, I definitely recommend this hotel for casual tourists.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingEarthling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    142
    35
    12
    7
See reviews for
113
55
16
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Enjoyed the room -- sitting area and computer desk are comfortable even though small. Love the contemporary design and decor, which was why I booked this place in the first place. The room is smaller than expected but does have almost all the things you need. A big disappointment was the breakfast. First of all, all the plastic and styrofoam plates, utensils and cups just gave it a cheap feel to this place, even though the room is nice enough. There was a LONG line for the waffle maker so the flow to the whole breakfast bar was very backed up even if you're not using the waffle maker. Things that were out (oatmeal, coffee, certain juice) were not refilled...etc. The pantry has enough selections, however, I was hoping there will be milk or soy milk available, since we arrived pretty late at night and hadn't had dinner, Most drinks stocked there were junk drinks like soda, sports drink...etc. It'll be great if they had more nutritious food in there... Location is very good, close to where we needed to go.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCH98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

If your looking for a bland hotel with average rooms and a staff that doesn't care, this is NOT your hotel. Just finished a week-long stay here and was very pleasantly surprised. Among the many outstanding features was a room rate that was negotiated at the counter and was more than fair. We were late to join in on a group rate yet the manager agreed to honor that rate.The Staff at the counter (Mayra especially) were always cheerful, friendly and willing to accomodate all of our requests throughout the week. The rooms were uniquely decorated in a mod-50's decor and felt more like a mini apartment that a standard hotel room....which is very nice when staying several nights. The ample room included a large couch, very comfortable bed, work area (with free internet), coffee maker, refrigerator, walk in closet and seperate bath/toilet were all very nice features. I used the business center downstairs to access the internet and print several pages of documents all free of charge.. something that is very unusual nowadays. The complimentary breakfast is well stocked with various breakfast favorites both hot and cold. Unlike many other establishments we have had the misfortune of eating "breakfast" at this summer, the items are continually re-stocked and not hoarded by a staff that acts as if it is coming out of their own pockets or trying to save the remants for themselves. On the contrary, they worked very hard to provide enough for everyone and even accommodated my daughter who has a gluten allergy with items that she could eat that were on the menu for other days. The gym and pool area are small and not extravagant but were adequate for our needs. Even their in-house "market" was well stocked for late night snacks. All and all this hotel was a home run. We enjoyed the room, the service and would defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Need_To_Know_All
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
563 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Great location, close enough to plenty of things to do. The property is well kept, nice selection on the breakfast bar, you can tell by the items selected that they must do a lot of international travelers. The rooms are great, they need outlets by the bed for phone chargers. The worst ironing board I have ever used. It was like a dollar tree ironing board, seriously hard to use.. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam-kelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We needed a place to stay in Irvine specifically and used our Marriott reward points for a night at this hotel.

Booking: Interestingly enough, I booked the hotel days before Marriott changed its hotel category. I didn't know this and when I went to order my e-certificate after the switch, I couldn't because it was 5,000 points more (the original category required 15,000, and the new requirement is 20,000). I got it sorted out with Marriott Rewards customer service, but honestly if I had used 20,000 points for this hotel, I think I would've felt a little ripped off.

Location: Very close to the airport. We didn't travel by air so this didn't matter, but I can see how air travelers would find this location convenient. There aren't any restaurants within walking distance (the hotel sits next to a freeway entrance, so no pedestrian access), but if you have a car you can cross under the freeway and there's a Rubio's, Togos, Starbucks, and other quick serve restaurants on the other side in an office plaza.

Check-In: We checked in around 1:00 p.m. and our room was ready. I had called ahead of time and learned our room wasn't ready, but the front desk associate was helpful and arranged a room for us prior to arrival. We were traveling with a toddler and requested a crib in the room. There is only one set of elevators in the entire hotel so park accordingly.

Room Service: This hotel partners with LA Dines (a delivery service), but there are limited delivery times. We were interested in using the service but unfortunately we fell outside of their delivery times.

Room: The room on third floor was spacious and clean, with a separate "living" area partitioned by the desk and a frosted window/screen attached to the desk. This was helpful at night when our toddler slept, as we put the crib on this side of the room. The bathroom was interesting, to say the least. There are two sliding wooden doors - behind door #1 was a pedestal sink and toilet. There's a small, small shelf behind the toilet that is expected to hold - I don't know, a towel? But there is no place to put a towel NEAR the sink - no hook, nothing.

Door #2 had a stand-up shower, and a regular sink with counter space. There was a hook with a small amount of towels, which was ironic because I believe I requested extra towels on the reservation. I was greeted by a (live) spider in the shower. After my shower, I looked for the hair dryer and finally found it in the armoire, on the top shelf next to the extra blanket.

Breakfast: Turkey sausage, eggs, bagels, cereals, etc. Not bad and they kept it well-stocked during breakfast hours.

Overall: I think this place met our needs and we had no major issues. But, I probably wouldn't have booked it at 20,000 points, which is why I selected the "average" rating.

Room Tip: Park close to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aztravlgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Clean/modern rooms, good housekeeping, wi-fi was good, but not super fast. Nice gym and small indoor pool. Close to the highways and it was easy to get around. Plenty of good food nearby and malls, about 20 minute drive to Newport Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zeromiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This was our first time at a Springhill Suites and we really enjoyed it. Unfortunately we only had one night. We arrived very early and I didn't expect to be given access to our room but we were which was great. The rooms are lovely and as another reviewer said, it is much more than just a room. Loved the separate toilet with sink, the walk in glass shower, the modern fixtures. The king size bed was very comfortable and the sofa and tv were all very nice. It had a fridge and a microwave as well. Convenient for shopping and the beach and the airport. Another lovely touch is that there are individual reading lamps on the head board which meant I could read while my husband slept. Great idea! The breakfast was very good, lots of choices, Lovely muffins too. The coffee was good. I can't think of a negative thing to say about this hotel. We were even given an extra hour after check out as our flight was not until evening. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor faced the main road but it was very quiet with the windows closed. Perha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catloverSotogrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David A, Manager at SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you very much for your nice comments about our hotel. It was a pleasure for me to hear you enjoyed your stay. I'm also pleased that you liked the breakfast, room layout and design. Many of our guest appreciate our separate toilet and shower bathroom concept.

Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irvine hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Irvine - Orange County Airport
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Irvine John Wayne Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
1.7 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#3 of 22 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County

Property: SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County
Address: 17601 Fitch, Irvine, CA 92614-6021
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Irvine
#6 Family Hotel in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Irvine hotel is located less than 2-miles from John Wayne Airport (SNA) off the Costa Mesa Freeway in the heart of Orange County. Travelers will appreciate our Irvine hotel's free: airport shuttle, WiFi, and daily breakfast buffet. The SpringHill Suites Irvine hotel offers spacious suites with plush Marriott bedding, a comfortable separated living area with a sleeper sofa and work desk, a wet-bar with mini-fridge and microwave, and a 37" HDTV featuring 12 HD channels such as CNN and ESPN. We feature onsite amenities like a 24-hour fitness center, indoor heated pool, putting green, 24-hour business center, and onsite event space. Our central location between Santa Ana and Irvine offers easy access to popular attractions like Newport Beach, the OC Event Center, and UC-Irvine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County Hotel Irvine
SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing