We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, and great amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, and great amenities”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We needed a place to stay for a night and luckily, there were many mid-range hotels in this region. We considered DoubleTree, Holiday Inn, Embassy Suites, and Best Western, but ultimately settled on Springhill Suites due to location and amenities (we wanted a smoke-free hotel with free wifi, parking, and breakfast).

This hotel is located just 3 minutes from the airport. Additionally, they offer free airport shuttles on the half hour from 5am-10pm. The hotel is also just a block away from the highway, so it is easy to get around.

The staff at this hotel are well-trained. We were promptly greeted and check-in was a 5-minute breeze. At breakfast, staff periodically asked guests how they were doing and if they needed anything. Additionally, they immediately cleared tables once guests were done and refilled the breakfast bar.

Cleanliness is paramount for us and this hotel was clean from top to bottom. Sheets were spotless, bathroom was spotless, there was no mold in the grout (hate this), and the room passed the finger dust test.

In terms of room amenities, the bed was comfortable. Other chains, such as Hilton, definitely have more comfortable beds, but we were still able to get a good night's sleep here. We greatly appreciated having a fridge and microwave and liked the separation of dining and living areas. A separate toilet also expedited the morning routine.

The best part about this hotel was hands down the breakfast. Most hotels with free breakfasts only serve stale bagels, pastries, and fruit. Breakfast at Springhill Suites was a different story. The spread did include a variety of breads, pastries, and fruit, however it also included hot oatmeal (with plenty of toppings), scrambled and boiled eggs, sausage, deli meats and cheeses, yogurt, a variety of cereals, and juices and teas. They even had nutella! We were very satisfied with the breakfast and rank it as the best free hotel breakfast we've ever had. What a great way to start the day. The fact that we were able to make sandwiches for the road was the cherry on top.

Overall, we will definitely return to Springhill Suites. The great staff, overall cleanliness, and superb breakfast separate it from the competition and we had an excellent experience.

Room Tip: We looked at the floor plans...all the rooms are about the same size (beds with 2 rooms are obviousl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    142
    35
    12
    7
See reviews for
113
55
16
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Location is awesome, close to freeways, john wayne airport, UCI, Costa Mesa mall, etc. Room was nice, clean, and spacious as usual springhill suites.

Two things I did not like: 1) didn't see the usual pancake/waffle maker for breakfast. 2) The location for the sink faucet in the bathroom is about an inch too far from the sink itself. It's a cool modern looking faucet but the water barely just reaches the sick basin and if you want to hold your hands out to fill them with water, you will most likely be touching the side of the sink which is uncomfortable. The location also makes you focus on one side of the sink and the other side is left basically useless. Good modern idea but not properly implemented. On the other hand the same sink on the smaller bath with the smaller sink is located just fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KamAli06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The place is very clean and has a very open airy feel with a lot of light. I stayed one night and the room was very comfortable, again very open - loved the sliding doors over for the bathroom and shower room. Slept really well on the king bed. Had a mini fridge and microwave. The room also had a sofa with a chaise lounger and a large flat screen. Plenty of outlet space for my gadgets as well!! Breakfast was really great; lots of options (try the blueberry muffins...amazing). Overall, 2 thumbs way up and will be staying again :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SneakerJamming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

The room design for Spring Hill Suites is clever. A living room separated from the bedroom by a work desk and frosted glass panels that can be opened is a good design feature. Flat screen televisions with some HD channels sit on swivels so they can be seen from both living room and bedroom represent a good feature. Toilets and showers are in separate rooms. There are comfortable sofas, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and good storage. Beds are comfortable, linens acceptable. Free breakfast and comfortable patio areas. Large pool and good workout facilities. Very convenient to John Wayne Airport and just off the 55 Freeway. Decor is very modern, not to my tastes, and reminding me a little of some of the lower end European hotels. Snacks sold in the on-premise market.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very nice, clean and very modern hotel. Looks brand new. Staff was very friendly, always spoke to us upon entering and exiting the hotel. The breakfast was excellent, coffee and tea were available at all time. I would highly red comment this hotel and would definitely stay there again. Good freeway access too!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel was very modern, clean, and the staff was nice. My group had 2 rooms and the size of the rooms were large. The sitting area was very nice to have, included a desk, bar like area with coffee and a mini fridge. The bathrooms were divided into 2 rooms; 1. a shower and a sink and 2. a toilet and sink, which was different but it worked out well. The downside to the room/bathroom was no bathtub (my 4 year old niece had to use a shower verses a relaxing bathtub). I'm not sure if all rooms come with just a shower, but both of ours did. The breakfast was filling and had an assortment of healthy options: fresh fruit, oatmeal, eggs, etc as well as the fun stuff like waffles on weekend. The reason for not 5 star rating was because of the indoor pool (way too much chlorine and didn't feel 100% clean) and the lack of a hot tub. Wished they had an outdoor pool or at least a hot tub would have made it perfect! But if you're looking for a nice place to stay I would recommend and definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimpleSusTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

SpringHill Suites Irvine features proximity to the John Wayne Airport and its shuttle service there. For our next day flight, we dropped our rental car off the night before, called the hotel. The shuttle was there in 10 minutes. The trip back in the morning was just as smooth.

The décor at this four-year old property is stylized modern including the common areas and the rooms. In the room, we found a coffee maker, a mini-fridge and a microwave. There’s a sitting area with a desk separated from the bedroom by a screen. One flat screen TV swivels between the two areas. The lavatory and the shower / vanity are in separate rooms off the bedroom. There’s wifi and wired. We used the wired and it worked fine.

There’s a small indoor pool on the first floor and a well equipped exercise room there as well. The Suites offers the usual breakfast buffet, where we found fresh strawberries. Nice.

There are no restaurants within walking distance of the property.

For a quick stay in the area, this property may work for you. It’s clean and convenient, everything Marriott. But it gives a cold, sterile feel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank French75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irvine hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Irvine - Orange County Airport
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Irvine John Wayne Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
1.7 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#3 of 22 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County

Property: SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County
Address: 17601 Fitch, Irvine, CA 92614-6021
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Irvine
#6 Family Hotel in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Irvine hotel is located less than 2-miles from John Wayne Airport (SNA) off the Costa Mesa Freeway in the heart of Orange County. Travelers will appreciate our Irvine hotel's free: airport shuttle, WiFi, and daily breakfast buffet. The SpringHill Suites Irvine hotel offers spacious suites with plush Marriott bedding, a comfortable separated living area with a sleeper sofa and work desk, a wet-bar with mini-fridge and microwave, and a 37" HDTV featuring 12 HD channels such as CNN and ESPN. We feature onsite amenities like a 24-hour fitness center, indoor heated pool, putting green, 24-hour business center, and onsite event space. Our central location between Santa Ana and Irvine offers easy access to popular attractions like Newport Beach, the OC Event Center, and UC-Irvine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County Hotel Irvine
SpringHill Suites Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing