We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and Delicious”

85 Degrees Bakery Cafe
Ranked #1 of 22 Dessert in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Taiwanese
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Fresh and Delicious”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I went to 85 degrees on my last trip to LA and I was really amazed at the amount of people waiting to go in for a snack. The items were fresh and delicious. I picked 2 items - Taro Bread and Egg Tarts and they were both amazing. I came here almost everyday during my 4 day trip to Irvine and I would recommend this bakery to anyone wanting a snack. The lines are however out the door but it does move fast.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    63
    16
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Only worth it if no wait”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I never understood the hype around 85C. They certainly have some decent pastries but nothing really justify a crazy long wait. The taro bun came close but not close enough. The sea salt coffee is only appealing to bubble tea drinkers. Any semi serious coffee lover would not be completely satisfied with this creamy sugary coffee drink.

If you grow up being spoiled by wonderful European patisseries you will laugh at the people lining up for 85C. However, if you manage to come here at an odd hour to quickly snatch up some pastries with little to no wait, you won't be too disappointed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Verlisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always crowded”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Tried it for the first time and can't wait to go back and try more of their food. Prices are pretty good, and at the end the wait in line is worth it. Pastries go out pretty quick so fresher ones constantly come out.

Helpful?
1 Thank H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fresh and wonderful”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

we were delighted with the freshness and fabulous taste sensations that we got from 85 Degrees. there was a line but it moved so quickly and there were always fresh and fresher items being brought out for us to try - there was just not enough time and the prices were fabulous - from sweet to savory you will definitely be in for a treat!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Worth a visit for breakfast or at the end of the day”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Yes, it's as good as everyone says. Anytime I'm in the OC, someone inevitably shows up to the party with some pastries from 85 that get demolished in quick order! Well I happened to be in Irvine, and the shopping center here is a dream come true! Guppy House, 85C Bakery, Urban Seoul and more? It's just a food lovers paradise.

So what to get? The pork sung bun is awesome. I'm a huge fan of the custard filled buns, and you gotta grab some taro bread at the register. But what I really loved was the sea salt iced coffee- so so so good!

So next time you're in the area, stop in. Wait a while. Bring back pastries your friends will love!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 85 Degrees Bakery Cafe also viewed

Tustin, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 
Aliso Viejo, Orange County
Newport Beach, Orange County
 

Been to 85 Degrees Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing