We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dining in Irvine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Fornaio

Il Fornaio
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Fornaio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 643 Restaurants in Irvine
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Michelson
Transit: Orange County Transit
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Dining in Irvine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Il Fornaio offers good Italian food and great service. It's a good place for either business lunch & dinner or for private family dining.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TinCop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcello A, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your patronage and feed back. We value your comments as we continue to work on guest satisfaction and employee recognition. Hope you continue to enjoy your stay with us.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    90
    34
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I've only been here a few times but it time it has been very good - I highly recommend it. Good food, and it came amazingly fast. Not too crowded either.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DanaRoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcello A, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your patronage and feedback and continue to work on guest satisfaction. Hope you continue to enjoy your visits with us.
Sincerely
Marcello Apollonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California, USA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just an average resturant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I was disappointed in this Italian restaurant. The most simple dish pasta with red sauce lacked flavor. I make a better sauce than this restaurant. Seafood with red sauce was lack luster.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eastcoast91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcello A, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your patronage and feedback. Please accept my apologies if we were not able to please you, we take pride in our authentic Italian food made with the freshest available ingredients, but fell short during your last visit. Hope you forgive us and come to visit again. Please let us know what we can do to help you enjoy your visit with us.
Sincerely
Marcello Apollonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
195 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“One of the best Italian restaurants in Irvine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very interesting and unique menu with regional areas of Italy featured each month. The food is wonderful!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcello A, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your patronage and feed back. Your comments are very helpful as we continue to work on guest satisfaction and employee recognition. I hope you continue to enjoy your future visits.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegenwil
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“One of the best Italian restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We went for a dinner to the Il Fornaio. It's an attractive restaurant with a well selected decoration. The food and Wine selection was superb and erverything served was of high qualtity. The service was very friendly and attentive. Even the prices are on the higher end, the qualtity and freshness of the food and therefore its absolutely worth the money you pay.
If you like Itallian food, this is definetively the place to visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcello A, General Manager at Il Fornaio, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hello,
thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your patronage and feedback. We continue to work on guest satisfaction and your comments are very valuable.
Hope you continue to enjoy your visits with us.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Fornaio also viewed

Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 
Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 
Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 

Been to Il Fornaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing