We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and Service”
Review of Houston's

Houston's
Ranked #2 of 651 Restaurants in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Orange, California, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food and Service”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Top notch service! Very attentive and your beverage never goes empty. The hickory burger is the BOMB.COM

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FoodieDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    95
    30
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dress code stupidity”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Men are routinely asked to remove their hats, but women are welcome to wear even baseball hats when dining. This is NOT a world class restaurant and a snooty dress code will not make it one. Men are not allowed to wear their golf hats at lunch, but women are welcome to attend in tennis outfits with pony tails sticking out their tennis hats or visors. Dinner is somewhat understandable, but lunch......................come on Houston's this is California, not the New York theater district. Get a clue!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
“Good Service”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Me and the misses enjoy coming here. The service has always been great and we haven't been disappointed with the food. You can bring your own wine and there is no corkage fee. I usually get the prime rib or the Hawaiian rib eye. It's always been cooked perfectly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Woods, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend - Good food - and always great service -”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We went for a birthday celebration - we had been looking forward to 2 menu items we had here in the past - a double cut pork chop over mashed potatoes and a lightly seared Ahi Tuna, also over mashed potatoes - We were initially disappointed when we were told that both items are no longer on the menu -
We then ordered their back ribs (naked style) - and their steak filet - both were excellent, especially the filet - on our server's (Jon) suggestion we had the filet cooked to medium - came to the table with a nice pink inside and wonderfully seared and spiced outside - Ribs were good - fell off the bone type ribs - certainly a nice surprise at a chop/steak house -
As always, the service was spot on - friendly and very attentive - Jon made sure our drink glasses (Ice Tea and an Arnold Palmer) were never empty -
We favor Houston's for any special occasion, and again, we were not disappointed with the experience - we certainly would like to see both the double cut pork chop and the Ahi Tuna items returned to their menu -

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valueman84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Food, but a bit pricey”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Just had another great lunch at Houston's. Two of us had excellent burgers, and the third person had a superb chicken sandwich. The two burgers and the chicken sandwich were over $50. So the food is good, but rather expensive for what they give you.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Houston's also viewed

Irvine, Orange County
 
Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 
Irvine, Orange County
 

Been to Houston's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing