We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Firepit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Irvine Spectrum
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Firepit!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I have stayed at Courtyards all over the Southeast but this was my first visit to a Courtyard on the West Coast. This Courtyard made the other Courtyards look like pay-per-hour motels. It's brand-new, so obviously it will stand out from other Courtyards for that alone. It had a large bathroom (much larger than the luxury hotel I stayed at two weeks before). A smart designer built a shelf with a window into the shower so that you can just reach in to grab a towel without opening the shower door! The showers are all-glass. Sink is large table-type. The beds were soft.

Outside, it comes with a good-sized pool, a fire pit with comfy lounge chairs, and a large artificial grass area with more seating. This Courtyard encourages socializing (which is what my coworkers and I did out by the fire pit). It is also right next to the Irvine Spectrum, so you can get your shopping and dining fix on without having to drive. Finally, it is literally minutes off of the 5 and 405. It took me 15 minutes to get to John Wayne Airport at 7:15 in the morning.

I am not really sure if a $249/night rate is competitive - considering that there are full-service hotels a couple of miles north, but I enjoyed my stay and will recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Odd-numbered rooms face the mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mach91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    68
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
52
53
10
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the Journey concert at the Verizon Amphitheater. They provided a free shuttle to and from the concert which was awesome. The pool area is amazing especially for a Courtyard. The employees are very nice. My only complaint is that they charge $15 for parking. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is by far the best Courtyard I've stayed at anywhere in the nation. It's brand new so that helps. There is a Golfing Green (astroturf) out in the courtyard area and you can even borrow a couple putters and balls from the desk to work on your short game. Whenever I go to any hotel I really enjoy the Cable having the Guide right on the TV instead of guessing what's on or what's coming up. I enjoyed the design features in the bathroom (cut out for towel in the shower). Overall this is a great Courtyard. One thing to be aware of, it does cost $15 to park overnight. Also if you drive an Electric car Nissan has provided charging stations in the parking lot for you. They have an office nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I am giving this property five stars for the reasons listed below, however 4.5 stars would be more realistic. I have never given a Courtyard five stars before, but if this is the new prototype (which I was told it was) then they may be on to something provided they make some changes. As usual, I will list pros and cons for easy reading. Also, the hotel opened on July 6 and I stayed there July 22-25.

PROS:

Front desk staff-Professional, helpful, well-dressed, polite.

Pool area-full size swimming pool big enough for four lap lanes, upscale furniture and lounges, several cabanas (no charge), decent sized hot tub.

Gym-Best I have ever seen in a Courtyard, plenty of cardio, tons of free weights and some Life Fitness machines. Also four TRX straps, plenty of mats, medicine balls, and other equipment you would only see in a health club. Room is 1600 square feet. (Two negatives about the gym. Everything is Life Fitness except the ellipticals which is some off-brand, not very good. Also the two HD TV's in the gym get every channel you get in the hotel room, but for some reason the cardio equipment TVs only get 10 channels. I told management about this fact).

Room-Very nice, two high def TV's separate "living area" (not separate room) with couch (more functional than comfortable) very large work desk, very comfortable bed and nice bathroom with glass shower (no bathtub). Small refrigerator.

Lobby area-very comfortable, lots of furniture, also outdoor area lots of comfortable furniture, fire-pit etc., putting green, ping-pong table.

Other pros include electric charging machines in parking area for electric cars, washer dryers onsite and free internet. Good location across street from Spectrum.

CONS

As others have mentioned $15 a night for parking is a money grab pure and simple. Ironically, when I received my bill the parking was not on it.

Breakfast Bistro-Picture a Starbucks with one cashier and one food preparer for 200+ rooms. Four or five breakfast choices ranging from $6.00-$10.95. Our group tried it one morning; stood in line for ten minutes to order, ten more minutes to get our food; half of which was wrong. Next two days we went to Bruegger's Bagels down the street. Bistro is a bad idea, either have a full service restaurant or buffet.

Bar-I didn't use it but some colleagues did. Same area as Bistro. $7.25 for a plastic cup of beer. Colleagues weren't impressed.

No safe in room and bathroom door shuts automatically (doesn't stay open)

So why five stars. Pool area, gym and rooms. Very good location. But, they need to work out some kinks. I am staying there again in two weeks.

Cheers!

Marius

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms face pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marius40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SoCal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This may be a nice shiny new hotel, but I refuse to pay $15 a night for parking at a Courtyard. This is the ONLY Courtyard in the country that charges. Plenty of other nice hotels in the area that do not charge. The DT is just down the street and just as nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hiflyer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nice and new but has a couple things about Will probably keep me from staying here again.

Positives:
•Nice, new rooms. Good size, modern, clean.
•Nice pool area and public grounds. Very nice for a Courtyard
•Near the Spectrum
•Several USB ports in the room. I counted four.
Negatives
•Near the Spectrum but not much else. It's basically an Industrial Park.
•$15 charge for Parking? What a joke. It's not a downtown location or even a beach resort and there's no valet parking or garage. This charge alone will probably prevent me from returning.
•The service was average. Most employees are probably new and you wouldn't expect Ritz-Carlton type service at this hotel but they could be a little friendlier.

Overall, the hotel itself was exceptionally nice and it'd be a
good choice for someone traveling on business in the area but for a vacationer there are probably better choices, ones that don't charge you to park your own car outside.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gc08012014i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We are rewards members and picked this hotel because we could use our points and get a discount. However after staying here I would have paid full price it was so nice! This hotel was beautifully decorated and designed very well. Although my husband and I stayed here for a night out at the amphitheater we will most likely go back for a night with our son because it is really perfect for children. The pool was amazing, perfect size for adults and children, we loved the lounge area outside with two fire pits, a grass area, putting green, ping pong table, two patio tables for family dining...and this was all outside! The inside also had a very open lounge area, with a nice fire place and bar. I could go on and on with how happy we were staying here. The rooms were nice nothing spectacular but still very nice and I especially loved the shower and design of the bathroom. We will stay here again even though it's only 30 miles from home, just for fun! And we would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We had a double queen room facing the pool, it was nice and I loved every bit of it. However if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinyfay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irvine hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Irvine - Spectrum
5.5 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#4 of 22 in Irvine
558 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Irvine John Wayne Airport
6.1 mi away
Irvine Marriott
Irvine Marriott
#9 of 22 in Irvine
553 reviews
6.2 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Irvine Spectrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Irvine Spectrum

Property: Courtyard Irvine Spectrum
Address: 7955 Irvine Center Dr, Irvine, CA 92618-3207
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Irvine Spectrum 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When unbeatable style, comfort and convenience come together, the result is Courtyard Irvine Spectrum. Outfitted with sleek décor, our spacious accommodations boast modern amenities including free high-speed internet and flat-panel HDTVs, so you can stay connected and entertained. After a sound night's sleep atop our plush beds, fuel up for adventures or meetings at The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®, our on-site restaurant serving delectable American cuisine for breakfast and dinner, as well as Starbucks® coffee and specialty cocktails. Top local attractions are never too far away from our hotel, whether you want to take a quick stroll and treat yourself to premier shopping and entertainment at Irvine Spectrum Center, or enjoy outdoor recreational activities at Orange County Great Park. Following an eventful day, burn off a few calories at our state-of-the-art fitness center. Then, take a soothing dip and relax in our outdoor pool. Whatever brings you to California, anticipate a successful stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Irvine Spectrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Irvine Spectrum Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing