We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good for a Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pretty Good for a Courtyard”
Reviewed 24 September 2010

This is a standard Courtyard property. Everything is as you'd expect. What makes this place nice is they have a snack bar/restaurant in the lobby, that prepares your meals, and nice seating areas. The food is pretty good, if you want a sandwich or an easy breakfast. This place also has a nice seating area outside, with a fire pit. So you can take your food, or just your drink from the bar (full service) and relax outside. The value is average, but it's a great location to John Wayne airport and only 25 minutes to Long Beach airport.

The drive to beaches is also not that far, so the location is pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Membermaine07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    77
    44
    9
    6
See reviews for
48
27
14
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Very modern and hip lobby. Rooms are standard fare -- like 90% of other couryards. The place was a "good" courtyard with very friendly staff. My only complaint is the workout room which was small for a hotel of this size.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UtahMikester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I was revolted by the stench - stale old food or something else - I have no idea. It was enough to make me gag. The room didn't see affected by the hallway stench but the whole place was pretty lackluster and the common areas weren't that comfortable or inviting since they were right off the front desk. I suppose I'm comparing this to the Embassy Suites or Hampton Inn common areas which I am find enjoyable and accessible. There is also practically nothing within walking distance. Since I'm a business traveler, I want somewhere to unwind at day's end. It was happening here at this stink pot. Also, the rooms are tiny compared with most other suites hotels in the area at the same price.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etsudo92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, MA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Spent two nights here on a business trip - won't again. Central location, but can't get to it right off the street, have to find your way through the entrance through a business park, but that's no big deal. Very busy area (Jamboree and Main), very noisy, even in the early morning.

Very nice lobby area, welcoming and friendly staff, very nice courtyard area, (where a resident rabbit hopped out to greet me!) etc. They have a few parking spaces out front, but you'll likely end up in the garage out back, not a huge issue, but if I were alone at night it could be a bit creepy.

The room itself is a bit "tired," particularly the bathroom. Very disappointed in the amenities, frankly you get better ones at a Comfort Inn, for half the price. Lots of scuff marks on the molding, the tub drain area had been "patched", and took forever to drain, so you're standing in a pool of water the whole time. The toilet was something else, when one flushed, the water is apparently under such pressure it "explodes," and is very loud and startling. Went to get ice, (and ice bucket had no liner, so that's not the most sanitary thing) and was pleased to see they showed on signs and in the hotel guide that there was a machine on my floor, "right near the fitness center." Well, after looking for it for ten minutes, went to the desk and was told, "Oh, it's not there any longer, when we redid the fitness center we took it out. You just have to go to the bar and they'll get you ice." Great. "We do have to get all those signs changed." Uh huh.

They provided two bottles of water, one in the ice bucket and one in the refrigerator but then one sees the little sign telling you that they'll charge you $2.50 for it. I went to Target and got my own supplies. The room was pretty clean, but I did find a piece of candy left by a previous occupant on the air conditioner when I checked in and the cleaning staff obviously had missed that.

They say they have wireless internet, well, I couldn't get it to work, nor could someone else traveling with me in another room, so had to resort to their wired ethernet, which did work just fine.

The pool in the courtyard was empty and shutdown, with a paper sign, "Pool Closed, Due to Continuous Improvement Efforts" so that was yet another disappointment. By the time I checked out the pool had been refilled, but not yet open.

They do have a "bistro" area with sandwiches, breakfast items, etc. in the lobby, and I tried the "Breakfast BLT" and that was very good. If you don't feel like going out anywhere it's a good option, not cheap, but not outrageous.

I expect more from a Marriott and pay for it....and this hotel was a very big disappointment. We send a lot of people to this area for work, but will put them up somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nthsh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

For a hotel close to the airport, this place is great. The entrance doesn't pop right out at you due to the construction, but it's on the corner and not that hard to find. Front desk staff was more than helpful and accomodated our needs almost immediately. Bathroom/closet area is a bit small, but for a short stay is fine.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CopaSis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2009

Stayed here 5 days for a business trip. Irvine is a really safe and easy city to get around. The hotel is close to many restaurants, business parks and shopping centers. It's adjacent to 2 office towers and parking ramps. The elevator was not functional the day I needed to check out, very inconvenient. The lobby is newly renovated and the business center is equipped with 4+ computer, which is very nice. It is a bit expensive, but that's typical of Irvine.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amnesiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2009

First off, the lobby in this "traditional" Courtyard is recently renovated. When I mean tradition, I mean the rooms are designed around a central courtyard with pool and spa. The lobby has over 8 computers although download speeds were pretty slow in my opinion. The lobby had a "bistro" still cafe. I did not try the food. I only stayed one night. I drove in late for an early meeting with a client.

The rooms were your typical courtyard. Very dissappointed with the TV. A 19-inch CRT Philipps TV. Are you kidding me? The room did have a refrigerator, both wired and wireless internet. Room was clean and bed comfortable.

There is construction going on right next to the hotel. Taking up all the convenient parking in front of the hotel. You have to park in the back and drag all your stuff through the hotel. Only 1 elevator was working in this 4 story hotel at the time. I wish the front desk clerk would've told me instead of me dragging my laptop briefcase, luggage, and my presentation materials for my client to an elevator that wasnt working.

In the morning, construction was blocking the driveways and roadway with no detour signs to help you out. Why no detours for travelers who are not familiar with the complex?

I paid $230 with taxes for this place. Way too expensive. I stayed here only because it was close to my client and my meeting was at 815 am.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexsndiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irvine hotels
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
0.3 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#4 of 22 in Irvine
549 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Irvine Marriott
Irvine Marriott
#10 of 22 in Irvine
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Irvine - Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County

Property: Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County
Address: 2701 Main St, Irvine, CA 92614-6230
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Irvine John Wayne Airport Hotel is an oasis in the middle of Orange County. So relaxing that you'd never guess how close this Irvine, California hotel is to John Wayne Airport, UC Irvine, and fantastic shopping at South Coast Plaza and Fashion Island. Inside, experience our new state-of-the-art lobby with flexible work spaces, free Wi-Fi and easy access to the latest news, weather, and airport conditions via our GoBoard®. The highlight of our Irvine, CA hotel lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., which provides guests with healthy food and beverage choices in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Each guest room at this hotel in Irvine, California has been completely redesigned to provide a more welcoming stay. Aesthetic changes create a vibrant atmosphere that encourages creativity and the upgraded high-speed internet enhances productivity. Guests to our John Wayne Airport hotel are in for a comfortable stay thanks to our new improvements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County Hotel Irvine
Courtyard Irvine John Wayne Airport/Orange County CA
Irvine Courtyard
Irvine Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing