We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A sad, tired over-priced property”
Review of Irvine Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Irvine Marriott
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A sad, tired over-priced property”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

In-progress first floor renovation notwithstanding, the hotel is a TERRIBLE VALUE at $219/night. Room was small and dated, bathroom was tiny, no dresser-top space, no towel racks (!), no guest services info in room, no robe, no safe, poor TV reception on half of channels. Room was hot upon arrival, hallway was sweltering during entire stay.

Not enough 3g or 4g reception to use my wifi hotspot. Barely enough bars to make cell phone call. But $12.95 for their wifi! Sheesh!

OK, staff was very helpful, cheerful and efficient. Power outlets were early to reach. Desk chair was comfortable. But a new lobby and bar will not make this place worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    214
    103
    30
    14
See reviews for
82
60
28
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed one night at the Marriott Irvine and had an all-in-all pleasant experience.

Rooms vere nice, clean, comfy. Very nice beds and the ususal robes etc that makes a difference if you're staying in...
Staff extremely helpful and nice!!!

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I'm glad I took 2 minutes out of my day to call the Marriott to ask about their renovations, confirmed the $12 weekend parking rate, and confirmed there would be no large wedding receptions or little league teams taking over the hotel, so I decided to stay. The lobby and front desk are closed but the restaurant, fitness center, pool and most importantly the Starbucks are still open. The beds are a little soft for my taste, but the sheets, pillows, towels are nice and soft/fluffy. I've stayed at other Marriotts after their lobby renovations and they're beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BZgal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
225 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I had a room on the top (17th) floor and my focus was to simply get a good night's sleep as I arrived late and left early. The Marriott delivered: consistently good room, with robes and slippers. Front desk staff was friendly and responsive, and in the lobby there's a computer where you can check in for your flight and a printer to print your boarding pass. There's even a Starbucks in the lobby which was also very convenient. Even though the lobby is non-existent during the renovation, the level of service was still good for my needs. Room was quiet, construction staff was very aware of guests and considerate.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelgalCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Major renovations have made the lobby and its public rooms virtually nonexistent. Staff remains friendly and helpful through this process and rooms are large and comfortable. Location, so close to John Wayne airport, is very convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We were - literally - on a plane at LAX when the Qantas lock-out hit. Thrown off like cattle, left at the airport in the hands of hopelessly overwhelmed American Airlines staff (thanks again, Qantas) and made it to the Irvine Marriott at 5am - seven hours after leaving the plane (did I say thanks again Qantas?).
The staff at the Marriott were unbelievable; 100+ tired and angry Australians and others landing on their doorstep and they didn't miss a beat - well done, you guys! The only people I felt sorry for were the two bar attendants when a mob of thirsty Australians decended on them like a plague of locusts at midday the next day - they looked like rabbits in the spotlights!
We can't praise the staff of this hotel enough for the professional and friendly way they handled this extraordinary event (thanks again, Qantas); they hooked us into the world's cheapest car rental company, treated us gently at a time of considrable stress and had plenty of staff on the bar the next day!
LA's not a place I ever thought I'd visit (thanks Qantas) but the staff at this hotel were exceptional; if you're wanting to see the beaches of LA (ordinary!) and looking for a quiet hotel in a good area - this is a good pick.
Thanks again to the front-of-house people and all the other staff at the Irvine Marriott: you made a stressful and unexpected stop-over (do I need to mention Qantas again?) almost memorable - for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monument, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We are Marriott premium customers. We used Marriotts for conferences and for travel. We have used the Irvine Marriott for the past five years for an annual conference. It has been there a while, but it is a really classy Marriott for both business and casual travel. The service is excellent, the rooms large and clean, and the lobby comfortable and hopping. There's a full Starbuck's, good concierge service, and the breakfast buffet is well above average. There is a quick shuttle from the Orange County airport (SNA), and some excellent lunch and dinner restaurants within walking distance. The 10,000sf conference facility is flexible and comfortable, and our conference luncheon meal always outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClayofCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irvine hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#3 of 22 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Irvine - Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
0.6 mi away
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
5.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Irvine - Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irvine Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irvine Marriott

Property: Irvine Marriott
Address: 18000 Von Karman Ave, Irvine, CA 92612-1096
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Irvine Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling to Orange County for business or pleasure, the Irvine Marriott Hotel places you in the center of it all. This Irvine hotel, CA features a contemporary renovated lobby and lounge with live entertainment, intimate gathering spaces and unique dining experiences, and is ideally situated minutes from famous Southern California beaches, world-class Irvine shopping, Disney, golf, and entertainment. Located just two blocks from the John Wayne Airport, our guests enjoy complimentary shuttle service that provides a relaxing and hassle-free arrival experience. Our guest rooms feature the luxurious Marriott bedding package and flat screen HD TVs. After dining with us in FLOE Lounge, work out your body in our state-of-the-art fitness center or relax in the indoor/outdoor swimming pool. With 27,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and 25 breakout rooms, the Irvine Marriott Hotel is perfect for all types of events, social or corporate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Irvine Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Irvine Hotel Irvine
Irvine Marriott Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing