We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Irvine Hotel”
Review of Irvine Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Irvine Marriott
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
151 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Irvine Hotel”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have stayed for years in and around OC for business and leisure. I had never stayed with the Marriott brand due to being almost exclusive to Hilton. What sold me on this hotel, was hands down the service! From check in to check out they were friendly as heck! The rooms are so so, but not bad. My room did not come with a mini fridge or a coffee maker. Didn't try their food, other than the Starbucks on site, which was a plus. Would stay here again no doubt.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlepson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    215
    103
    30
    15
See reviews for
83
60
28
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Could not have been a better experience. All staff was extremely helpful. The renovations are great. The hotel was busy. Paying for parking was a bit much, especially if you were a guest in hotel. Everyone that we interacted with was extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant and bar staff were the best. Emily at the bar and Ramone in the restaurant could not have been better!

Room Tip: One side of the hotel has large sliding glass doors to fresh air. Choose the side with sliding windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I truly hate this hotel. The lobby is trendy and great, but the rooms have not been updated for over 20 years. Where do I start? The stained curtains. The empty, yet dirty and smelly fridge. The holes in the bedsheets. The much-lauded tiny balcony with a view over the parking lot. The 1970s style carpet and fittings. The cheap glasses in the room. The basic wifi at $9.95 per day. The expensive yet very very average food. Need I go on?

Truly awful - I'm so depressed I have to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrvineMarriott, Guest Relations Manager at Irvine Marriott, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your sharing your feedback with us, we are disappointed to hear that we failed to meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any discomfort we may have caused. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the new look and feel of our lobby. It was the first transformation of our three year renovation project. Currently our meeting space is currently under renovation and will look just as sophisticated as our lobby. Our guest rooms have received some enhancements and we're happy to share that we’re currently in the design phase of a forthcoming guest room renovation that is certain to be just as lovely as our Great Room.

We would love an opportunity to share all the exciting changes with the hopes of having the opportunity to redeem ourselves. We welcome you to contact our Rooms Operations Manager, Richard Wallace at 949-553-0100 at your convenience.

Thank you for your feedback and we surely hope you would consider visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California, USA
Level Contributor
167 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this property several times for business and pleasure. We also use it as a place to stay because of its proximity to the John Wayne airport. A couple of things to note about this hotel. It is a little confusing trying to find the hotel. It is primarily a business hotel and as such it is a little hidden among the corporate business buildings.
Check In:
We actually drove around in circles a few times (even using the navigator) until we finally figured out where the entrance was. The front entrance was blocked with construction to the building next door. Suggestion: The hotel needs better signage directing customers. We choose to valet park and that process went smoothly. We were than met by a very friendly greeter, a wonderful young man with great customer service skills. He stood in line and chatted with us to help expedite the check in process. Impressive for a business hotel. He introduced us by name to the check in clerk.
Lobby:
The lobby area and the restaurant have all been renovated. The renovation is fantastic and the decors subtle hues and elegance reflect an Orange County feel. Kudos to the interior designer as this is a giant step in getting away from those standard Marriott tiring colors of burgundy’s, yellow….etc. They are currently renovating the meeting rooms.

Rooms:
The rooms are in need of renovation, and we were told that it has been scheduled. Just note that if you are staying before the renovation, it will reflect the same ole, same ole Marriott design. Our first room that we were given was situated next to the elevator and as soon as we were in the room we could hear the elevator. We asked to be moved and though it was handled politely, we were told by a young woman that she upgraded us slightly for having to ask to be moved. Upon entering this room, even though it was away from the elevator, it was quite a bit smaller. This was problematic as she made such a big deal about telling us that we were getting “her favorite room”. Really? I do not like to make a fuss in these situations (I do not want to be that customer), but it bothered me that she was so disingenuous. I called down to the front desk and asked to speak to the manager of duty. I was very friendly about it and just wanted them to know I didn’t appreciate how the situation was handled. I reached Oliver “Front Desk Supervisor”. He handled the situation very well. He upgraded us to a bigger room. He was extremely polite and understanding and he has been obviously well trained to deal so positively with our complaint. The room was nicely located and we appreciated (we are loyal, frequent customers) his willingness to help us.
Bathrooms:
The bathrooms seem to be all very small. Hopefully they can renovate to create bigger bathrooms. They are well equipped with amenities and the shower head pressure was good. The towels and linens are all of nice quality, especially for a business hotel.
Housekeeping:
The rooms, bathrooms, and property are very clean and well-maintained.
Club Lounge:
The Lounge is too small and was very crowded for breakfast. The food selections were good. The food is set up in a very awkward way as it is in a small alcove and it is difficult to navigate. All the guests piled up in this small area. The two employees were hard pressed to keep up with the refilling of the food and beverages. However, they did their best and I could not fault them for trying so hard.
Service:
We felt that most every employee we encountered were very service oriented. I feel that this property, with the renovations will grow to be the next level. There is a lot of potential here, and I think that the management is obviously working hard to improve the image and guest experience. I personally, will return after the renovations are completed, and look forward to seeing what they are able to do with the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Always5Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had a really nice room although a bit small- the beds were soo comfortable- would stay again.
A bit expensive for a business type hotel but very centrally located to everything. Starbucks in the lobby was convenient. Parking $25 was expensive-

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyaway2day2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
295 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

It has been over 5 years since we have stayed here. However, it is a great location to all activities in a Orange County. What struck me most was the beautifully remodeled lobby and guest rooms. The lobby is open and airy with a nice lounge and several cozy sitting areas. It is just a great spot for drinks with friends. Nice bar with comfy couches and fire pits outside at night. The rooms are on the small side, but adequate with extremely comfortable beds. The location is great for all activities in OC. The concierge breakfast offer erred a full meal with many options to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjworldtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

While it's my opinion that the Marriott hotel (as opposed to it's other family properties such as Courtyard, Residence inn, Springhill suites, etc) is to me, a business travelers hotel. Having said that, this property in particular has been spectacular to us each time we've stayed here - and it's *never* been while on business! Their new lobby remodel is great, and they're working on the rooms now. The pool area, also recently remodeled, is great for children as it has both an indoor and outdoor section (sun or no sun!!) area to the pool. Another plus; on site laundry. Again, not a typical issue for business travel, but when traveling with a family, a washer and dryer on site, are key! The hotel has a Starbucks in the lobby, which is handy! And their FedEx office center also adjacent to the main lobby, comes in quite handy! During our last trip, the restaurant/bar on site had live music... not loud & night club-ish, but two guys with guitars...nice...appropriate. Housecleaning did a nice job during our stay again... that's a big deal to me. Another plus about rooms here.......... outlets. Not just one, but actually a few. Who knew outlets for phone charging, laptop charging, etc, would be so high on the must have list!! The hotel offers valet and self park -- and like most properties around the airport area, the cost will hit your pocketbook a bit, but do search their website for package deals. Instead of paying for daily internet and parking ala cart -- consider a package that will include breakfast too; and save you some money!!! Easy access to the airport and freeways and beaches. Staff has been great each time we've stayed!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAC12family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irvine hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#3 of 22 in Irvine
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Irvine - Orange County Airport
6.1 mi away
Courtyard Irvine Spectrum
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel by Marriott Irvine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Irvine Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irvine Marriott

Property: Irvine Marriott
Address: 18000 Von Karman Ave, Irvine, CA 92612-1096
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Irvine Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling to Orange County for business or pleasure, the Irvine Marriott Hotel places you in the center of it all. This Irvine hotel, CA features a contemporary renovated lobby and lounge with live entertainment, intimate gathering spaces and unique dining experiences, and is ideally situated minutes from famous Southern California beaches, world-class Irvine shopping, Disney, golf, and entertainment. Located just two blocks from the John Wayne Airport, our guests enjoy complimentary shuttle service that provides a relaxing and hassle-free arrival experience. Our guest rooms feature the luxurious Marriott bedding package and flat screen HD TVs. After dining with us in FLOE Lounge, work out your body in our state-of-the-art fitness center or relax in the indoor/outdoor swimming pool. With 27,000 square feet of flexible meeting space and 25 breakout rooms, the Irvine Marriott Hotel is perfect for all types of events, social or corporate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Irvine Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Irvine Hotel Irvine
Irvine Marriott Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing