We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to Hilton Standards” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Irvine
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
643 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
“Not up to Hilton Standards”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Came in late checkin for next day flight through priceline bid...and as a HHonors member i thought the front desk person would be more helpful with more respect...she was short rude and not helpful and was disappointed with level of service. When I raised this comments to the front desk the next am they stated they were unapologetic ...only stayed here as close to airport but wont stay here again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonanJordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danno4847, General Manager at Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. Your experience is definitely not typical of our hotel nor for the personalized service we strive to provide for our guests. We apologize your experience was not a pleasant one. We will take your comments as an opportunity to train our evening staff so similar service experiences can be avoided in the future.

Should you care to discuss your experience with me directly, I may be reached at 949-833-9999.

Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    330
    158
    65
    52
See reviews for
168
135
78
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The pool is enormous, and heated. The hotel is just over the road from the airport, but oddly enough we didn't notice any aircraft noise at all. Breakfast was a treat. The staff were tremendously helpful and pleasant. We walked back from the airport after dropping off a hire car, and if you don't have a lot of luggage, you could easily walk to the terminal to catch a flight (just follow someone who looks as if they know where they're going - saw lots of air crew on foot): it really is just across the road. If not, get the shuttle. Room was vast. But why does this hotel charge its customers to park a car?? Best Western would never do that ...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happygolucky291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danno4847, General Manager at Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Irvine. The Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport offers the most convenient location to John Wayne Airport makes our location second to none when visiting Irvine or the surrounding areas. Our professional staff takes pride in providing great service in a clean,safe, and friendly environment.

As a note, due to the Hilton Irvine's unique location across from John Wayne Airport, it is necessary to charge for parking in order to protect parking availability for our hotel guests.


We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.


Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avalon, ca
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Directly across from the Orange County Airport, this Hilton is extremely convenient for business travelers. Originally the Registry Hotel, then a Radisson Hotel, this facility has been recently renovated as a Hilton and it's age does show a bit (wall a/c units). The beds were comfortable, the water hot when needed and the amenities appropriate. There was lots of noise transfer from the room above (Godzilla was up at 8am) and some transfer from the room next door as well. The bar and dining options were okay but limited as was the selection of items available on the menu. Room service was prompt and the food enjoyable (steak flatbread!!!) Parking is typically expensive; as are all others hotels options in the area. The staff was warm in their attitude and professional. The exercise room was outstanding (new!) and there is also a tennis court for those so inclined. The center outdoor patio area was a refreshing addition. Valet parking is not 24 hrs but the front desk/security handle the late evening/very early am shift.
I booked thru a name-your-own-price option and they listed this Hilton as a 4 star along with the Hyatt Regency/Irvine where I have stayed many times in the past. The Hyatt is a solid 4 but this Hilton is a 3.5. Still an excellent stay.

Room Tip: even number rooms look towards the hills and odd number rooms look towards the bay (no water view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danno4847, General Manager at Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your positive experience at the Hilton Irvine. Our staff takes great pride in providing a memorable experience for our guests in a clean, safe, and friendly environment. We are very glad to hear you enjoyed the guest room and the amenities offered at the property. We are continually working on our menu options in the restaurant in order to keep up with the latest culinary trends.

Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to once again welcoming you back to the Hilton Irvine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012 via mobile

Picked this hotel due to proximity to the airport and availability of a shuttle, as I had luggage. Had a 7:40 am flight, and asked the day before about the shuttle. I was informed that the shuttle ran every 30 minutes, starting at 5:30 am. At 5:45 I went downstairs to get the 6am shuttle. I was informed that the shuttle would not run until 7am. I had no choice but to walk, dragging my luggage with me.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dsweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danno4847, General Manager at Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for sharing with Trip Advisor your experience with our shuttle service. We apologize for the severe glitch you experienced with our shuttle service. Normally, our schedule operates very efficiently to provide guests easy access to John Wayne Airport. Unfortunately, on the day of your departure, our early driver had a family emergency and could not fulfill his schedule. We did make accommodations with local taxi services. However, for you, we failed to communicate our alternate plans with our taxi services.

We thank you for being our guest and hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

I have worked in the hotel industry for nearly 10 yeras now. The Hilton name has an amazing reputation, which is why I chose to stay at this property while in Orange County for my brother's wedding. I arrived late in the evening and the front desk team all seemed to be a little tired and didn't move to quickly. After a day of work and travel, the guest really just wants to get to their room and go to bed. Once arriving in my room it was uncomfortably hot. I decided to go and get some ice from the machine down the hall. Once there, I noticed that there was a 'out of order' sign on the soda machine, and that the ice machine was empty. I called down to guest services and asked the young lady to bring some ice up to my room since the machine wasn't working. Her response was 'No, but you can go find another machine on a higher floor if you want to.' I'm sorry what!!!!!????? Not only is that just plain rude, it was definitely not great customer service! I turned the air conditioning up higher than I already had in the hopes that the room would cool down enough for me to not be sweating all night. In the morning I went to take a shower and the vent above the shower had blown this black dust or something ALL OVER the bathtub. I called down to have engineering take a look to see if a filter or something needed to be changed and no one came to check.
The stopper in the bathtub was also broken. And for a full service property you would expect room service to be delivered through out the entire day.... but they don't serve lunch?? Over all it wasn't a great experience and it is very unlikely that I will return to this property.

Room Tip: Request to be away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danno4847, General Manager at Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor. Your experience is definitely not typical of the service and experience for which the hotel is known for. We have reviewed your review with both our Front Office Staff and our Engineering team to ensure similar situations do not occur in the future. In regards to Room Service, we do operate Room Service throughout the day but through the lunch menu in the restaurant due to the popularity of our Aura restaurant lunch menu. We apologize this was not communicated properly. Please feel free to contact me directly at (949) 812-3737, so we can work to make amends for this less than stellar experience.

Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrightwood, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Exceptionally located, directly across from Santa Ana Airport, (John Wayne), one cannot help to see that this is a nice hotel to stay at, if one is looking for convenience. The room we stayed in was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The hotel staff was friendly and the rooms were quiet, even though right next to a busy airport.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Travel4662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danno4847, General Manager at Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Irvine. The Hilton Irvine offers a great location, great rooms, and personalized service. We thank you for recognizing the hotel's clean rooms and its convenient location across from the Newly Expanded John Wayne Airport.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is an ordinary building made special by exceptional service throughout the property...!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris2421356707655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danno4847, General Manager at Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Irvine. The Hilton Irvine offers a great location, great rooms, and personalized service. We thank you for recognizing our staff's efforts.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irvine hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Irvine - Orange County Airport
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#2 of 21 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
6.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Irvine - Spectrum
0.7 mi away
Irvine Marriott
Irvine Marriott
#7 of 21 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport

Property: Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
Address: 18800 Macarthur Blvd, Irvine, CA 92612-1410
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Irvine
#4 Family Hotel in Irvine
#6 Business Hotel in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport is centrally located in the heart of Orange County and located near many attractions, shopping centers, and restaurants.Use the complimentary shuttle from Orange County John Wayne Airport. We provide a comfortable setting for any event and welcome the opportunity to welcome your family or group. Equipped with outdoor pool, fitness center, Aura Bar and Grill, this Irvine hotel offers luxury accomodations and expert service for your leisure or corporate stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport Hotel Irvine
Hilton Hotel Irvine
Irvine Hilton
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing