We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bait & Switch at Candlewood - Beware!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Temecula, California
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Bait & Switch at Candlewood - Beware!”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

After enjoying a wonder Rascal Flatts concert at the Verizon Ampitheater in Irvine my wife and I didn't want to drive all the back to Temecula so we decided to stay at Candlewood Suites on Sand Canyon Ave. I had stayed there before a couple of years ago and things were fine. It's a completely different story now. I travel a lot and have seen it all so I normally have a Q&A protocol when I call to reserve a hotel room. Problem was I didn't follow my protocol this time and got burned. Don't let this happen to you. Red Flag #1. I called directly to the front desk to book the room and was immediately transferred to a 1-800 number. Next, I forgot to ask whether the hotel was undergoing any renovations.

By request, I was reserved a room with a king-sized bed for $84. Red flag #2: We arrived, checked in and immediately upon walking down the hallway to our room we could see that their were hundreds of one inch holes drilled at the bottom of the walls, carpet siding at the base of walls had been removed, large air dryers were on and there was "that smell" of water damage or who knows what. There was obviously some type of renovation going on. It was also clear from my last visit that things had changed at this hotel. It appeared a bit run-down.

Red flag #3: Upon entering our room we found a queen instead of the king bed we reserved. By then it was so late in the evening we just went to sleep without complaining. However, the "bait & switch" routine was clear. Further, an ethical front desk clerk should inform you that their hotel is undergoing renovations - or may have had water damage, mold issues or whatever.

Summary: I would avoid the Candlewood Suites Hotel if I could. There is a LaQuinta Hotel just up the road with a couple of restaurants next door right at the 405. Better choice.

Tip #1 - Always ask before you reserve a room in any hotel if they are doing any renovations.
If they are, you can easily negotiate a discount for your room; or decide not to stay there.

Tip #2 - Always confirm with the front desk your accomodations before you hand over your $$.
This is especially the case if you are sent to a 1-800 ph# to make your reservation.

Tip #3 - If you are not satisfied with the hotel or room, get your money back and leave; or
negotiate a discounted room rate the following day.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DrRon1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear DrRon1854,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Irvine.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    19
    28
    8
    7
See reviews for
11
10
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

As I travel throughout California this week, I have decided to offer business and leisure travelers my thoughts. Tonight is my first stay at this hotel property, and right away, I am impressed! The layout of the rooms are spacious, clean, and modern. The staff greeted and smiled at me as if I were a Hollywood VIP! Located off the I-405 Freeway at Sand Canyon Avenue, the Candlewood Suites is a nice alternative to high-rise hotels in the area. This subtle spectacle near the iconic Spectrum at Irvine is a home away from home. On yeah, I won two cupboard dollars upon check in! Spin the wheel of fortune as a Priority Club Member! Good luck!

Room Tip: Location was a little tricky to find even with GPS since a medical hospital shares the corporate par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rixx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed here twice in the past year.

Location is by far the best thing about this hotel. It’s located right off the I-405 and just minutes away from the I-5. This makes getting anywhere inside Orange County a snap and a quick shot up to northern Los Angeles if needed. Your also minutes from a couple major shopping centers, which have Macy’s and Targets so getting supplies is very convenient.
Finding this hotel is not such a joy. It shares the entrance with a major hospital and you cannot actually see the property from the road. Navigation systems get confused as well and pretty much get you to the hospital entrance and then you’re on your own. The hotel is actually in the back. You take the hospital entrance and follow the winding road to almost the backside of the property. The hotel is on the left-hand side. For being by a major hospital, I never once heard a single ambulance, even far off.

I stayed in a one-bedroom unit, so I don’t know how much different the studio suites are, but I am told it’s basically the same, just a wall is added to separate the bedroom and living room. Overall the room was average, nothing to get overly excited. The brochure says the rooms include a kitchen. What you get is a two station electric hot-surface stove, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker and toaster. They do include two placements of silverware for use and a dishwasher to easily clean. The appliances are what you would expect, usable, but some in need of replacement. The dishwasher loved to leak water and the ice machine inside the refrigerator did not work. The toaster worked fine, but the coffee maker was a nightmare, the light did work to say it was on and it did a great job of overflowing water and beans onto the counter. I was seriously tempted to buy a coffee maker for my limited stay.

The rest of the room was about average or standard. Sleeping will defiantly not be a problem as you’re surrounded by foliage and trees, which effectively block out noises from the street.
One appliance issue that actually plagued both rooms I have stayed in was the air conditioner. For whatever reason, both units leak water onto the floor under them. If you walk close to them after running for a couple hours, you get wet so be carefully putting anything around them. My biggest concern was any biological issues that could result from water under the rug from countless times running. Unfortunately, no one ever answered the maintenance line when I called.

One last note. Do not expect any maid service at this hotel, unless you’re staying over 7-days.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Hotel was in a perfect location! Everything we needed near by.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aprilrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The rooms are set up for long term stay with a small but totally equipped (for 2) and adequate kitchenette (minus an oven). They are clean and very quiet.
We stoppped by the front desk on our way out for only a few hours. We made a couple of comments of items that possibly could use some attention in our room. Ice maker was not working and the air conditioner seemed a bit noisy. Upon our return we had a working ice maker and a working but silent air conditioner. The staff and maintenance crew was on top of it!
The Video Library had a nice selection and even had "Second Hand Lion"! We have a hard time getting that one from Block Buster!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I booked my reservation for a week long business trip and imagine my surprise when I arrived and discovered that they were in the middle of renovating the hotel while I was staying there.

Yup, they took my money (standard price) and didn't bother to tell me that:

1. I would need to stay in one room one night and another room the following nights, so I had to checkin and checkout twice.

2. The laundry mat and gym would be closed for two of the days.

3. The hotel would have no water after 10am on a couple of the days.

4. I would enjoy the sights, sounds and smells of construction from early morning to early evening.

I didn't receive any cut rate or advance warning or anything.

Now, if you're reading this, you may think, "What do I care? By the time I visit, they will be done." That's a fair point, but consider this: This hotel is so desperate for money and so devalues its relationship with its business customers that it will charge them full price with no warning to stay in a hotel that is undergoing construction in the exact same areas where you are staying. If you think the mindset that thought this was OK is going to lead to you having a good experience while staying at this hotel for an extended period, I wish you luck.

We have an internal travel site at our company, and you can be sure that my fellow employees will hear about this and think twice about staying here or any Candlewood Suites again.

Room Tip: Ask if your room is under construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

My room was upgaded to a suite on arrival. The suite was nicely appointed and clean, the only minus was the cabinetry showed a bit of wear. The staff was friendly and professional, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marriedwithpassports
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irvine hotels
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Irvine - Spectrum
4.2 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#5 of 22 in Irvine
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orange County - Irvine Spectrum
4.8 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Irvine Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum

Property: Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum
Address: 16150 Sand Canyon Ave, Irvine, CA 92618-3715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Orange County Irvine/Spectrum Hotel is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is no problem with voicemail, free local calls, free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines. Borrow your favorite movie or music from the hotel library and enjoy in your room from the comfort of your recliner. Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. Work off some stress in our 24-hour fitness center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site complimentary laundry facility. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). We are conveniently located off of the 405 or 5 Freeway in Orange County, and just minutes from the John Wayne Airport. The Spectrum Entertainment Center is minutes away where you will find fabulous bars and restaurants as well as a 21 Stadium Theater, a comedy club and a variety of stores for shopping. Orange County is home to some of the most beautiful beaches in Southern California, including Huntington and Newport Beaches. We are also an easy day trip to the sites of Los Angeles and San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum Hotel Irvine
Candlewood Suites Irvine
Candlewood Irvine
Irvine Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing