We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Great, Nothing Terrible, Just Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nothing Great, Nothing Terrible, Just Average”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The location is really not too bad - Sandy Canyon seems to be the south-most major road for Irvine. It is a short drive to the many strip malls in Irvine - if you have a car. The good thing is that it is away from the freeways and it is quiet.

This is a typical renovated Candlewood. Some of the shortcomings I don't like here:

1 - some rooms don't smell too good - like people have been frying things in there. 3rd time was the charm
2 - Candlewood still has smoking rooms (even in CA) - so if you really don't like smoke, be careful
3 - the room I ended up getting has a pretty worn out cushion for the sofa
4 - like many Candlewoods, there is not much space around the queen bed
5 - the refrigerator in the room was a little old and noisy. I had to shut the power to it when I slept

The staff is friendly and helpful although my request for a room on the top floor was lost.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Want2GoHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Want2GoHome,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize for the disappointment you had with the room condition. Please be assured that these will be looked into so our team can take actions accordingly.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    19
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
11
10
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hotel is good, main problem is the location, far away from any market, for that one need to cross the highway, Not recommended unless you have a car. Crossing the higway by walking is impossible no way. Mostly the Medicals around.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RupjyotiDeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear RupjyotiDeka,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry your stay was negatively affected by our location. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

I was unsure about this hotel but that went away shortly after arriving. It's not your resort hotel (all rooms have full kitchens, no pool, no breakfast, no hot tub), but it's great if your there a long time. They do have a store in the hotel where you can buy food, snacks, and drinks. Highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobosanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Hotel that makes extended stays comfortable. I have been staying here for more than 2 weeks in a Queen bed studio

Pros:
1. Very close to the Irvine Spectrum Center and the offices around this area.
2. I have stayed in other Candlewood suites and the level of service from the staff here is better.
3. Cost effective pricing and they have good corporate rates for long stays
4. Complimentary washer and dryer use
5. Hotel seems to have been recently refurbished so it does not appear dated
6. Kitchen with stove, microwave, utensils - something that is very important to me on extended stays as I do not like to eat out every day
7. Irvine city Shuttle service (Route D) stop is just a couple of minutes away and has regular service during working hours
8. Average gym, but good enough when you are on the move

Cons
1. No restaurant, or breakfast but that is standard across all Candlewood suites
2. Finding the hotel the first time might be difficult, so remember to enter the campus of Hoag Irvine hospital and turn right. Even with a GPS you might be lost for a bit.

My colleagues who have stayed in other hotels like Extended Stay America and La Quinta in Irvine have recommended this place. I would definitely want to stay here again

Room Tip: Higher floors and on the other side of the entrance should offer more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brijesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Shared a suite with two others. The room was clean and neat and the staff friendly. The hotel is not near any restaurants or shopping however although there is an Albertson's supermarket a couple miles away. The hotel has an arrangement with LABites.com for food delivery from a variety of local restaurants. We tried Yard House and it was OK but as expected, the food was not really hot when it arrived. The pull out couch is not a bed you'd want to be in more than two or three nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chat89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear chat89,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I had stayed in a Candlewood Suites in Chicago a few years back and was not impressed but this one rivals some of the best hotels I have stayed in. You have no need to look any further as this place is it. Superb staff and superb rooms. There's no gratis hot breakfast but they do have food available for purchase. WiFi worked great and room had a huge work area. This Hotel earned their excellent rating from me!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

This is my second time here and I love the new lobby/check in area! Updated and refreshing! The staff was great as they were last time. I will definitely stay again in the future when in the area for business.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaymat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irvine hotels
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Irvine - Spectrum
1.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orange County - Irvine Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Irvine Spectrum
4.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
3.3 mi away
Residence Inn Irvine Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum

Property: Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum
Address: 16150 Sand Canyon Ave, Irvine, CA 92618-3715
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlewood Suites Orange County Irvine/Spectrum Hotel is an ideal choice for both business and leisure travelers. Each spacious suite has a fully equipped kitchen complete with a full-size refrigerator/ice maker, microwave, range, and dishwasher. Traveling on business? Bring your laptop and work efficiently at your executive desk. Communication is no problem with voicemail, free local calls, free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines. Borrow your favorite movie or music from the hotel library and enjoy in your room from the comfort of your recliner. Hungry? Visit the Candlewood Cupboard, our on-site convenience store, and charge it to your room. Work off some stress in our 24-hour fitness center. Staying a long time? Take advantage of our on-site complimentary laundry facility. We re a pet friendly hotel too (fees apply). We are conveniently located off of the 405 or 5 Freeway in Orange County, and just minutes from the John Wayne Airport. The Spectrum Entertainment Center is minutes away where you will find fabulous bars and restaurants as well as a 21 Stadium Theater, a comedy club and a variety of stores for shopping. Orange County is home to some of the most beautiful beaches in Southern California, including Huntington and Newport Beaches. We are also an easy day trip to the sites of Los Angeles and San Diego. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum Hotel Irvine
Candlewood Suites Irvine
Candlewood Irvine
Irvine Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing