We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff - great pool area - poor room quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Northern California
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great staff - great pool area - poor room quality”
Reviewed 23 March 2012 via mobile

Customer service was very good from the friendly informative shuttle driver to the attentive waiter in the restaurant. This property is minutes to the airport and has an awesome pool area, but the room was below average. The extra blanket I ordered has holes, the wallpaper in the bathroom is peeling off the walls, and there was one bar of soap. The bed is comfortable though and the patio area is roomy. The flat screen TV and free wi-fi is also a plus. So overall I would rate this property as average - glad I didn't pay very much.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank goldtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    70
    73
    56
    73
See reviews for
60
31
33
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

staff was stuck up and rude, music is extremely loud and goes very late into the night, the "shuttle service" isn't actually a car service, I was really unimpressed with the room. My room service food had hair in it and was flavorless. I will not be returning here and do not recommend it.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I dont know what I did wrong. The price was nice, as were the pics on the website but my room was dim and the beds were crappy. Misrepresentation? Bait and Switch? TV was small. I tried to ask the desk if they have two styles of rooms for different prices and they put me on hold. (i stayed at a place in Reno that did that: poor rooms for cheap and really nice rooms for a little extra money, like economy vs business class vs first class.. whatever) Staff has to know what I was driving at, but remained evasive. I had a conference so I kinda let it slide. I just wish it was a little nicer.
Been renovated but it retains some very real oldness.

Room Tip: Hyatt or whatever is right next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Very convenient to the airport and friendly staff. The lobby is upscale, but the rooms are pretty average, though very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank family_guy_98101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

A hidden gem, but directly across the street from the John Wayne Airport (Orange County). With that said, over the ten days I was there, I NEVER heard an airplane while in my room, the lounge, the lobby or restaurant.

If you're going to rent a car, rent it at Enterprise, off the lobby in the Atrium Hotel. They make amazing deals that the airport location can't, and you'll save significantly on not having to pay the crazy airport taxes and fees. Take the complimentary hotel shuttle (a 2 minute ride) or walk across the street (maybe 10 minutes from the baggage claim to the hotel lobby).

My room was gorgeous, as they're going through a complete overhaul with the rooms. Make sure you inquire about the room that has teh indoor pool. You'll be surprised by the price....and the room doesn't smell like there's a pool.

The hotel pools....holy cow - indoor and out. Beautiful lighting at night and FREE cabanas. Get your drink on during the warm months, at the pool bar and cabanas (same with meals). If chilly outside, order your drink - as the lounge is 2 minutes from the cabanas. Crank up the heater in the cabana (also features a stereo and flat screen tv in each). We LOVED this part of the Atrium experience. Totally chilled after a long day at work.

The restaurant was top notch. One night there was 6 of us, 3 being gluten free. Our server and the chef knew exactly what to do. This was a tough crowd to please, and they had ZERO issues. Great portions, reasonable prices.

The price, for what you get at the Atrium is more than fair. A triple A rate will make it even lower.

With no traffic, it took us 30 minutes to get to LA (plan accordingly). It took us 20 minutes to get to Long Beach, 18 minutes to San Juan Capistrano.

General Manager, Ron Nugent, has fostered a fun atmosphere at the Atrium. While as professional as a four-start corporate hotel, the staff knows exactly when to have fun.

Self parking is right next to the hotel. I suggest valet - - as the valet team was right on time. Always offering dining tips and directions....without being asked.

You absolutely cannot go wrong with the Atrium. This is where we will stay, every single time we're in Orange County/LA. Feels like home.

Make sure you say hello to Ron.

Room Tip: If available, get a room (with balcony) facing the pool. There are lots of them. Check the hotel out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnC1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Good location...next to John Waynes airport. Close to the IHOP and some more eateries. Dark, shabby room with the tap water stinking. Stayed here for 6 days on business. Front desk staff was unaccomodative...one guy (don't remember his name) was rude and made excuses for not answering my calls...he said he had multiple visitors whenever I called...so, he couldn't answer my calls. Food was average at the Waterfall restaurant with an decent spread. Free shuttle service was available within 5 miles of radius from the hotel. Pool area is good with good music and lighting.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kumarikac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
545 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This hotel looks dated in its architecture and its rooms, but that said, they have high end bath amenities, a great pool with cabanas in a center courtyard, and decent happy hour. It is a nice hotel if you need one very close to the airport (its restaurant faces the John Wayne airport parking structure). It's clean and close to the freeway. My room's bathtub was enormous and that was pleasantly unexpected.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLFERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irvine hotels
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
1.1 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#3 of 22 in Irvine
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
0.6 mi away
Irvine Marriott
Irvine Marriott
#9 of 22 in Irvine
548 reviews
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport

Property: Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport
Address: 18700 Macarthur Blvd, Irvine, CA 92612-1409
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort style. Tropical Atrium lobby area. Lots of gardens and flowers. Low rise hotel centers around a tropical garden courtyard and pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Hotel Irvine
Atrium Hotel At Orange County Airport Irvine, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing