We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for Business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Based on other reviews, I was hesitant, but had a very nice stay. The hotel is older. I would not stay here for a vacation, but for business travel it was totally fine. To tell the truth, it reminded me of going to grandma's house. Old, but nice and comfortable. I had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking the interior courtyard/pool. The bed was very comfortable and the room was on the larger side with a nice large desk. I was only in the room to sleep and shower but my time there was uneventful - no problems. Parking is $12/day but nearly every hotel in Orange County charges a parking fee so it should not surprise anyone. The only thing I have to say negative is that the hotel charged my credit card $4 for a bottled water that I did not consume. I've had this happen at other places too. Nobody including me is going to go through all the trouble of disputing a small $4 charge to their credit card company. It's not worth my time for 4 bucks. If the hotel is doing this regularly, that's a nice little profit they are accumulating on fake water charges. I used the vending machine in the hall and know for absolute fact that I didn't take the $4 water from the room. Oh well, that's life. It's not like housekeeping could have had a gripe - I tipped them generously every night there. Besides that, very nice stay at the Atrium.

Room Tip: Request the top floor, facing inward toward the hotel's pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tzinnca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Front desk staff is very odd; when we tried to check out, they had 3 folks hunched over and agonizing over the computer, and a line backing up behind. Rather than take one of those people to assist the other guests, all 3 kept trying to help that one guest. Pool area was nice, grounds were ok, but rooms were mediocre at best. Musty smell and run-down looking. Staff is friendly. Restaurant staff is friendly, but food was tasteless; tried eating breakfast there once, never again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Old, dated, smelly hotel. Valet staff friendly but front desk overworked. Concerned about security on back door that wasn't closing properly. Especially in light of three apparent prostitutes working the grounds. The only positive is convenience to the highway and airport. If this is your choice, reconsider!

Room Tip: Choose a room at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DOC112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Lobby, pool, patio bar and staff were excellent. The rooms were mediocre at best. Air conditioner was freezing cold and couldn't adjust. Pocket door for bathroom was broken, maintenance never came to fix it. On the positive side: the mattress and pillows were heavenly. The restaurant was sorely understaffed to accommodate the large groups being hosted by the hotel, and the food was nothing special. If you want to lounge by the pool and soak up the sun while enjoying a delicious rum drink, then the atmosphere is wonderful. Convenient and friendly hotel shuttle service anywhere within 3 miles gets you to a wide array of restaurants, shopping, and movie theaters as well as to the airport across the street.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms seem to be better maintained though they do cost a bit more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The only positive note is the hotel pool is awesome ....... Rooms are out dated and have a musty smell as well as a damp feel to them, 19" TV made in the 80's, 2 outlets in the whole room. Also want to state they didn't not honor the military discount on their website 20% off the best rate....SHAME ON YOU! Stay across the street at the Hilton...it's about the same price when you add on the parking$12 a day and breakfast charge of $12... Hope this helps someone make a better choice than I did.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgiaPeach2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

PRO
- Very convenient to airport (right across street)
- Price OK for the area

CONS
- rooms mediocre
- desk service inefficient.
- room not ready by check in time (and give up hope of checking in early).
- parking is an additional charge at $12 per day.
- not a lot of plugs for device charging

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This hotel is basically fine for what you would likely need a conference hotel to do, house you while you attend sessions. It has a lot of atmosphere in the evenings, with colored lights around a bar in its namesake atrium exposed to the California evening breezes, but the rest of the day is fairly average. We had a room next to the iron gate separating that atrium from the parking lot, and did get bothered by the clanging shut of that gate at all hours - we'd specifically request a different room next time. Also, it was hard to get anybody's attention at the main desk outside of the most common check-in and check-out hours. But the place wasn't bad, and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnArborMiBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irvine hotels
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
1.1 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#7 of 22 in Irvine
586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Irvine - Orange County Airport
0.6 mi away
Irvine Marriott
Irvine Marriott
#10 of 22 in Irvine
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport

Address: 18700 Macarthur Blvd, Irvine, CA 92612-1409
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range: £97 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort style. Tropical Atrium lobby area. Lots of gardens and flowers. Low rise hotel centers around a tropical garden courtyard and pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Hotel Irvine
Atrium Hotel At Orange County Airport Irvine, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing