We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
No. California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The outdoor areas are beautiful and relaxing. The staff are friendly and helpful. But the rooms, while clean and spacious, are simply old. They have been updated, but things like the popcorn ceilings and open closet area show its age. Overall, this is a perfectly adequate hotel if you need it for convenience (i.e., attending a training or need somewhere walking distance to the airport).

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MM_TT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    70
    73
    56
    74
See reviews for
61
31
33
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

On the plus side, the pool area was a pleasant surprise. It's small, but tastefully decorated with nice furniture and small cabanas. On the negative side, the rooms are VERY dated and dirty. I made the mistake of looking under the bed to find what seemed like years of dust and hair build up on the disgusting carpet, as well as candy wrappers and a dead bug carcass. Thankfully, I found a room at a near-by Fairmont that was a few dollars more, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodzette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Large rooms, adequate free breakfast buffet, free shuttle to and from airport. Nice property. One problem is you can't pull up outside the door to check in or out without using the valet. Wifi is not reliable. Good for a night stay before a departure.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed on business for a few days. The facilities and the people are excellent, so if thats important to you customer service is great. The rooms however are outdated, not very clean, and quite frankly not worth the stay. For a hotel in Irvine you'd think the quality would have been better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nobleperson
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I am sitting in my Atrium hotel room and just read "Tired's" review and I agree wholeheartedly. Great pool area, freezing pool, so my swim suit will stay in the suitcase. Big room but it is musty smelly, and I kept my socks on so as to not walk on the grubby carpet. I was here 2 years ago and it was at least pleasant so I tried again. But when I got here the desk clerk was missing and when he looked at my booking docs he tried to upcharge me 10. and then said he could not see a run down of my daily rate as there was only a total. i told him to divide the total by 2 - the number of nights I was staying! Only then did he drop the extra $10. Big room, no microwave, or fridge, only 1 chair and no easy chair to even relax in. We are keeping the sliding door open all night due to the musty smell. And by the way anyone can come in the back and side doors through all the doors, which are not locked or keyed into the pool areas which are also not locked(yikes) and into our room. Amazing. I agree why spend all that money on lounging furniture in a pool area which is beautiful but has a freezing pool, while the rooms are not just dated but smell, have chipped paint, and lack light and furnishings. We have come here off and on for a number of years but we wont come here again. Do the owners not see that this once popular property has lost its charm.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nobleperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This hotel was a last miniute booking for us. Rooms are very nicely decorated with flat screen TV's very comfortable beds. The front office staff were very attentive and the bar staff members were great. I will be back in the again. Thank you Atrium for the GREAT STAY!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHappyJoyJoy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel was excellent. Staff very friendly. Shuttle service goes 3 mile radius for free, so they took me to shopping centre and picked me up. The Pool area is beautiful at night.
They took me to the airport in the morning. Free wifi. Comfy bed. One of the best places I have stayed. Low price for exceptional value.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Hens6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irvine hotels
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
1.1 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#4 of 22 in Irvine
549 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum
0.6 mi away
Irvine Marriott
Irvine Marriott
#10 of 22 in Irvine
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport

Property: Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport
Address: 18700 Macarthur Blvd, Irvine, CA 92612-1409
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort style. Tropical Atrium lobby area. Lots of gardens and flowers. Low rise hotel centers around a tropical garden courtyard and pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Hotel Irvine
Atrium Hotel At Orange County Airport Irvine, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing