We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musty smelling room 154”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Musty smelling room 154”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Location location location this hotel is right next to the airport. Flying in or out of John Wayne airport, this is the hotel for you. Everything is within a quarter of a mile of the hotel. You would never know that your next to an airport the grounds are well-kept, the courtyard is beautiful pool and bar very nice. The only problem I had was the room smelled very musty even with the air conditioning on and the slider to the court yard open the musty smelling won't go away.

Room Tip: You're looking for a hotel close to John Wayne County Airport this is the place to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    71
    73
    56
    75
See reviews for
62
31
34
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel three times. It's always been a great experience so much so that I did not even bother checking online for other hotels for this present stay. I knew where I wanted to be. The hotel staff are great. In particular a front desk staff member by the name of "Miguel. P" was very helpful and attended to our needs speedly. The hotel is located close to the 405 interstate, the South Coast Plaza shopping mall and a few minutes drive to Newport and Laguna Beaches. John Wayne Aiport is also located across the street. The airport air traffic is some how not very loud. You can barely hear the aircraft taking off and landing. The beds are really comfortable, sheets are clean and rooms are quiet. All in all this place has everything I ever need.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I missed my flight and needed a place to stay for the night. I walked across the street, presented a credit card and got a room. I was only there for about 8 hours so I didn't have a lot of experience with it but I'll say this: The room was clean, although not terribly new or fancy. It was safe and convenient as well. I asked for and received a wake up call. I didn't eat or drink there, so I can't comment on the food, but I got a room last minute and everything worked out fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No. California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The outdoor areas are beautiful and relaxing. The staff are friendly and helpful. But the rooms, while clean and spacious, are simply old. They have been updated, but things like the popcorn ceilings and open closet area show its age. Overall, this is a perfectly adequate hotel if you need it for convenience (i.e., attending a training or need somewhere walking distance to the airport).

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MM_TT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

On the plus side, the pool area was a pleasant surprise. It's small, but tastefully decorated with nice furniture and small cabanas. On the negative side, the rooms are VERY dated and dirty. I made the mistake of looking under the bed to find what seemed like years of dust and hair build up on the disgusting carpet, as well as candy wrappers and a dead bug carcass. Thankfully, I found a room at a near-by Fairmont that was a few dollars more, but worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodzette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Michigan, United States
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Large rooms, adequate free breakfast buffet, free shuttle to and from airport. Nice property. One problem is you can't pull up outside the door to check in or out without using the valet. Wifi is not reliable. Good for a night stay before a departure.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed on business for a few days. The facilities and the people are excellent, so if thats important to you customer service is great. The rooms however are outdated, not very clean, and quite frankly not worth the stay. For a hotel in Irvine you'd think the quality would have been better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irvine hotels
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
1.1 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#5 of 22 in Irvine
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Irvine/Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum
0.6 mi away
Irvine Marriott
Irvine Marriott
#9 of 22 in Irvine
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport

Property: Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport
Address: 18700 Macarthur Blvd, Irvine, CA 92612-1409
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort style. Tropical Atrium lobby area. Lots of gardens and flowers. Low rise hotel centers around a tropical garden courtyard and pool area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Atrium Hotel at Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atrium Hotel Irvine
Atrium Hotel At Orange County Airport Irvine, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing