We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican food”
Review of Taco Rosa

Taco Rosa
Reserve with OpenTable
Taco Rosa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #79 of 658 Restaurants in Irvine
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: El Camino Real
Description: Experience authentic Mexico City Cuisine at Taco Rosa. Our talented executive chef and creative team utilize ingredients, spices and flavors passed on through our ancestral roots ~ our Aztec, Mayan & Spanish heritage. Today these elements are fused with cutting-edge technique and innovation providing the best of 'old world' culture in a unique contemporary experience. Taco Rosa brings to you the best dishes from a variety of regions throughout Mexico, unique award winning culinary creations along with your familiar local favorites. We use natural grass fed beef for our Rib Eye Carne Asada, Angus outside skirt steak for our fajitas, enchiladas, salads and tostadas. Fresh Wild Sea Bass is featured in our entree 'Zarandeado' and also in our Ceviche. Taco Rosa features a unique 'cantina approach' which begins each morning with the daily hand squeezing of juices. We produce a supreme and unmatched line of fresh fruit margaritas, sangrias, mojitos and martinis.
Irvine, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Good food, fresh preparation. If a 10 is best, this place is a 7. Server a bit unattentive, even though it was not very busy. Good food, but nothing unexpected.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pinewood2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    39
    12
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
montebello
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mariachi Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The food offered for sunday brunch is good. But it's the strolling Mariachi Group that makes up for it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ernest s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Affordable and delicious”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have visited Taco Rosa twice and both times we received good food and service. Since we went early, it wasn't crowded, so the service was quick.
Dinner before 6:00 pm is Happy Hour throughout the entire restaurant. You can sit anywhere and enjoy half off select dinner items and drinks. Select means look at the menu for the symbol of a Rose next to the entree; be sure not to confuse it with the symbol of the "Chili" which is an entirely different thing: spicy vs. half price. Yes, the rose and the chili can look similar!!
We were served a free small appetizer both time we have gone, so this seems to be a standard practice; nice touch! They don't serve the bowl of tortilla chips and salsa like some Mexican restaurants do but I prefer the appetizer anyway.
First time, I had the "Mexico City" which was good and not too much food; the second visit, I had the Chicken Burrito, which was very filling. Both items were around $6 for each entree, plus a half-price drink, makes a very affordable dinner.
To be honest, the first time we went seemed okay, but we had to figure out the program. Now it seems to be a better deal. There are some sports on television, soccer actually, which must attempt to make it more authentic. Ask for a booth, since they are setup with benches and chairs or all chairs at many of the tables. They have nice music playing throughout the restaurant, but if you sit under a speaker, it may be a little loud. Also, avoid the register area, it seems to be congested with lots of servers logging in orders at one station.
Staff is friendly and efficient, also very professional and keep things moving.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_the_Enchanter417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tustin, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“My favorite Mexican in Tustin”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

The food here is really good. I also enjoy the agua frescas. They often provide a delicious, free, appetizer. There is a focus on Mexico City cuisine. I have always found the service efficient and attentive. I think it's underrated. Recommended highly.

Helpful?
Thank SouthwestDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A very satisfying meal!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Located on the Irvine (or east) side of the sprawling Marketplace complex, Taco Rosa is an enjoyable place for very tasty Mexico City-style cuisine.

I ordered the Carnitas Pibil, which came with pinto beans, rice and a small sweet corn tamale (or tamalito). The carnitas (shredded pork shoulder) were moist (which is not always the case with carnitas) and the accompanying pibil sauce was zesty without being overpoweringly hot. The hand-pressed tortillas were excellent. My wife raved about her Tacos de Filete, which were filled with charbroiled skirt steak and flamed brie cheese. It’s an intriguing combination of flavors with an interesting presentation.

My wife and I agreed that Taco Rosa was a restaurant worth a return visit in the future.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BruinDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taco Rosa also viewed

Irvine, Orange County
Irvine, Orange County
 
Lake Forest, Orange County
 

Been to Taco Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing