We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solar Expo stay at Great Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Irvine
A La Quinta traveler
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1
Reviewed 14 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 593 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

It has been a couple years since I stayed at this La Quinta, which I like for quick access to the highway and it's in a nice expensive neighborhood with many food and retail options nearby. But, boy, has this property slipped. And, as a pretty frequent flyer of LQ hotels (read my other reviews), I have a pretty good idea of what LQs are supposed to be like.

The one thing I can (until last weekend) always count on at LQ is clean bathrooms. Not here. My room had mold on the tub, on the wall and on the ceiling. Yuck. That really made me doubt the overall cleanliness of the entire bathroom.

On top of that, when we got to the room, clearly the previous guests had smoked in the room. The front desk refused my request for a room change, so we were stuck. But, that aside, what's the use of having a 'smoke-free' hotel if you don't enforce the rules? The front desk played dumb on this, like, "oh, we didn't know". Really? Did housekeeping not report it so you could charge the guest to clean out the smoky smell for the next guest?

In general, the hotel has gotten dingier and more shopworn since I last stayed there two years ago. That's not a surprise, but it looked like little remediation maintenance had been done. Dirt is always a dead giveaway.

The Sand Canyon LQ has been my go-to hotel in that area for quick access to Disneyland without staying in crappy Anaheim. But, at $100 a night, that won't happen again until this property gets some much needed management attention. Wake up LQ! We don't expect the Taj Mahal, but MOLD? Indifferent front desk staff? This place is sliding towards becoming a Motel 6.

Room Tip: Always stay on the north side - away from the train tracks, which run right next to the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SammySki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I am in Irvine for an event at the "Great Park". Booked five nights at the La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum. I am a very deep sleeper, I have slept in cars, buses, trains and airplanes. But, every night I am awoken at the La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum when the trains go by. The hotel is positioned between the 5 and train tracks.

I am staying on the side of the hotel opposite the train tracks on the forth floor (top floor) and still the bed shakes every time a train goes by. It reminds me of the scene in the "Blues Brothers", and Elwood's Hotel room.

The rooms are okay, but not too clean. Will pick a different hotel next time, either the Double Tree, Extended Stay or Quality Inn, all are near.

Room Tip: Top floor opposite train tracks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MuseumDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The room was very clean, the bed was good, the pool area is quite nice considering cramped quarters, and the front desk service was pleasant, but the exact location was visually shocking: wedged RIGHT between the I-5 and the railroad track. Literally! Why would anyone put a hotel there? Given the location, even with the decent room, this place is overpriced. Side note: the Sunday breakfast doesn't open until 7 am, so don't rely on that if you have an early start.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank jebgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank ginac248
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Yucaipa, California, USA
1
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Verizon Amphitheater. This hotel is located within a few miles and there are plenty of restaurants within driving distance. More importantly the bed was the best hotel bed we have ever slept in. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A La Quinta traveler
Tempe, Arizona, USA
1
Reviewed 20 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irvine hotels
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Irvine - Spectrum
1.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orange County - Irvine Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
5.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Irvine John Wayne Airport
4.7 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#5 of 23 in Irvine
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum

Address: 14972 Sand Canyon Ave, Irvine, CA 92618-2100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range: £74 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Irvine Spectrum Hotel Irvine
Irvine La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing