We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wont be back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Torrance, United States
1 review
“Wont be back”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Friends car got broken into. Very low water pressure in bathroom sink. Carpet in the rooms stained & dirty. Went to Breakfast at 9am and all bagels & waffles were gone...waited 30 minutes to see if more would come and none did. The breakfast area was a complete mess. Was told by the front desk that I could not have late check out because "she had already given too many away". I have AAA and no one offered or suggested that I would get a discount if I mentioned it. Will not be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Kayce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    133
    84
    62
    64
See reviews for
167
87
42
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, TX, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014

unless you are okay with sleeping right next to a train track at night, look at other places. The breakfast is not like other La Quinta Inn, where they have scrambled eggs, etc. The bathroom, gives you a old motel feeling. The best part of the stay was a speedy checkout.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Asifur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel, and I would not stay here again. The biggest problem is the location - my room was very close (less than 50 feet) to the train tracks, and I was disturbed repeatedly during the night by the loud rumble and whistle of passing trains. Whoever decided this was a good place for a hotel should have their head examined. In addition, the breakfast was very basic, and the coffee was weak and tasteless. Finally, the shower had one of those trendy but impractical bowed curtain rods that made it impossible to keep the water from spraying out onto the bathroom floor, so there was a nice puddle when I stepped out of the shower. Not a place I will return to.

Room Tip: If you must stay here (and I would avoid it if you can), try to get a room on the side away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We had a flood in our home and were looking for a place to stay that was convenient to our home and husband's work, and also were able to take our 65 lb. golden retriever. We booked the place sight unseen because we had to make a quick decision. We managed to stay here for 5 days before we had to find something else. We gave it two stars because the people at the front desk were nice and there was no extra charge for the dog. Everything else left a lot to be desired. Location was poor because it's right next to metrolink tracks, which would have been fine during the day, but we had no idea so many freight trains sped by during the night with horns blaring. Housecleaning was spotty...had to leave wastebaskets and dirty towels outside on mat in order to get staff's attention once, and 2 other days we were gone over 5 hours in the middle of the day only to come back after 5 PM to unmade bed and nothing else done. There is a Denny's, Knowlwood, and Jack in the Box within a short walking distance, and the hotel is right off the I-5 freeway. Lots of road construction going on, so be prepared. As stated, if you have no other choice...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lagunamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Will never stay here again. Have been to this location in the past on several occasions. A/C is hit or miss. It stays on for only a few minutes, then stops and blows the air around the room. This trip, it was 92 degrees outside and we were on the 3rd floor. Difficult to sleep when the room remains at a pretty stead 87 degrees all night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Even with lowered expectations, this was a bad experience. I checked in on a Wed night, and found a black T-shirt on the floor in the corner of the closet. Rosa's name was on the card saying who cleaned my room. I called the front desk to let them know. I was offered a change of room, but declined, as long as the t-shirt would be removed the following day. Disappointed, I decided to draw a bath....but found soap residue and hairs in the bathtub! This time, I did accept a different room....also cleaned by Rosa (I checked the card). This room looked clean, except for the gum wrapper on the carpet near the entrance to the bathroom....in plain sight.....you can see it from the doorway, for Pete's sake. I didn't say anything and lo and behold, it was there the next evening as well.

I hate writing negative reviews, so here are the good things about the hotel....the bed was comfortable, the towels were nice, the coffee at the breakfast buffet was nice and strong.

I didn't care for the older appliances, the location (next to a railroad track) and the strange elevator setup at the back of the hotel...but in this respect, maybe I am a little spoiled.

I would have given this an Average or maybe even a Very Good score if it weren't for Rosa.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themoogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln City, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Room on top floor was large, comfortable and quiet. I stayed in the silo and had no problems with the train - could hear it in the distance but it didn't interfere with hearing the TV, conversation on the phone or with visitors. Air conditioner was quiet and kept room comfortable. Everything in working order. When I left in AM for short time, came back to find room cleaned (good experience) Wifi strong. Only complaints was had to call housekeeping over items left from previous guest and took a while for them to show up. Didn't use pool or breakfast - seemed popular, and a number of people hanging out at times in parking lot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank U7406AGlindac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irvine hotels
1.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orange County - Irvine Spectrum
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Irvine - Spectrum
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
4.7 mi away
Hotel Irvine
Hotel Irvine
#3 of 22 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum
Address: 14972 Sand Canyon Ave, Irvine, CA 92618-2100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Irvine Spectrum Hotel Irvine
Irvine La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing