We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is that Train going to come through my room?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Irvine
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Is that Train going to come through my room?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

Checked into this hotel late and when I got out of the car I was amazed how loud and noisy the restaraunt/night club was next door. Undeterred and tired, I went to my room which was funky and neat as the hotel is made out of an old lima bean railside depot. I got settled, put my head on the pillow and then suddenly began to think based on the noise I was hearing that the end of the world was upon us and the world was blowing up. A horn so loud blew that had to have woken every person in the hotel and then a whoosh so loud and frightening went by the outside of my room that the door in my room rattled back and forth. I ran to the window to see a freight train running by the outside of my room a mere 5 feet from the wondow. The train itself had to have been 3/4's of a mile long and loud. I called the front desk to inquire as to how frequent a happening this would be and they explained that the freight trains run about once an hour through the night and that the commuter trains in the morning (starting at 5AM) run about every 15 minutes. Needless to say one of the worst expereinces of my life. Never ever again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    126
    82
    61
    63
See reviews for
157
84
41
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

We go to this area a few times a year - usually we stay in an upscale hotel - thought we might try saving some money. This motel was a pleasant suprise for us. Front desk was great - happy to see us and had us on our way to the room in a minute. Our room was in the silo - Funky in a cool way. It was clean and comfortable. Everything worked. If there was a train, we didn't hear it. I was a little worried after reading some of the negative reviews. They were definitely not our experience. We plan on using this motel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alkat-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

Driving to this hotel I was thinking 'that is one awful looking building I hope thats not our hotel' but it was. It looked like a derelict farm, and it turned out, thats just what it used to be.

Reception were friendly, and it looked very clean. They made sure they told us how close we were to the railroad tracks, and asked us if we were sure we wanted to stay, and told us the train times when we would be woken! We went to out room and were shocked, but kind of happily surprised to learn it was an old grain silo! How cool is that? The rooms were hexagon shaped, and unpainted concrete, and there was a paper telling you how and why the hotel was built.

Breakfast is included and was rather basic, and it was fun to see pictures of the hotel when it was a working rail/silo/farm thing.

My only critisism would be the wooden floors and doors and too thin, and that they were many people returning from parties at early hours making lots of noise. They woke me up. But the trains didn't.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sapengro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2010

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times and have always enjoyed it. The breakfast is great, the rooms are clean and up to date. The fact that it is an old silo is a great thrill to children as is the high speed train that runs behind the hotel. There are a few places to walk and eat. All rooms have wifi. Very pet friendly and the staff is great.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vegaspeople1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

We flew into the Santa Ana airport and needed a ride to the hotel which they advertise on their site. What they don't advertise is that the shuttle stops running at 7 pm and it costs $25 for a taxi ride. That made our $44 a night (on AAA) hotel, more than the 4* hotel we got on Hotwire. Definitely not worth that price!! If you use this hotel, make sure you get there before 7 pm or that you are driving.
The room had a distinct ODOR, not sure what it was, if it was just a musty smell or what. The room was fairly clean but the shower had mold in it. Surprisingly, the beds were actually comfortable which I wasn't expecting with the experience I was having so far. The pool and hot tub area did not look inviting like they do in the pictures. The breakfast was all carbs except for some boiled eggs and the orange juice is Tang or Sunny D, not real juice. It is next door to Denny's if you want a real breakfast though. We did not hear the highway or the train during the night.
Just so you know what you are getting if you decide to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgsauder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Irvine hotels
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Irvine - Spectrum
1.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orange County - Irvine Spectrum
1.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Orange County, Irvine Spectrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Irvine / Orange County Airport
5.3 mi away
Wyndham Irvine-Orange County Airport
5.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Irvine - Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum
Address: 14972 Sand Canyon Ave, Irvine, CA 92618-2100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Irvine
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Irvine Spectrum Hotel Irvine
Irvine La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Irvine Spectrum Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing