We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Jackson Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Jackson Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Jackson
Minden, Nevada
1 review
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Friendly service, very comfortable 'cabin' in a good location with respect to town and wine country. Conveniently located within close proximity to Indian Grinding Rock, Black Chasm, and not too long of a drive to get to Calaveras Big Trees. Kids slept great, 8ft deep pool was unexpected and enjoyed by all (as was the 1.5 ft kid pool attached to the large pool for the younger children). During our next trip to the area, we're looking forward to staying at the Jackson Lodge, well worth the price of admission.

Room Tip: Cabins provide kitchenettes for preparing our own packed meals to help save $ by not eating out, ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    41
    23
    11
    18
See reviews for
35
47
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Me and my friends stayed there for a few days. The service is really good. The manager was very friendly. The rooms was very pleasant and the scenary surrounding the place is quite nice. The pool was a very nice place to relax. I would recommend staying at this hotel and I wish I would be able to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manti C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My hubby and I stayed here for 3 nights. It is relatively quiet for so close a location on 49. The steep driveway is a little tricky to find, and once found, a little hard on the suspension as you drive down and over the curb and the speed bumps. We were upgraded to a king room fronting the pool, and it was relatively quiet. The grounds were fairly well maintained, but the buildings and the interior of at least our room could use some TLC. Our frig never did work. The furniture was a bit worn, and the plumbing was definitely odd- the water pressure was so high, it knocked the cup my husband held right out of his hand, and it honked loudly when we started the water for a shower! We originally thought the walls were paper thin, but found the maid had left one of our windows open behind the drapes. Once closed, the noise level quieted substantially. Breakfast was light, but there was a nice variety- bagels, cereal, oatmeal, toast and fresh fruit. The toaster had to be the slowest i have yet met, but did a decent job on my bagel. We ran into the problem of the back sliding glass door to the lobby not opening, even though we knew it wasn't locked a couple of times. The family that owns the place is still renovating , but they have done a good job so far. They were cordial, and when we checked out caught an error and corrected it immediately- We were within easy walking distance of Jackson town, and easy driving distance of several good Gold Country towns. Good place if you are on a budget and want a good central location to jump off from.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookwoman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed in room 116 and laying in my bed I would hear "scratching" sounds coming over from the back corner. I posted a video in my Facebook page as well and people could hear it. Whenever I got up to walk around the noise stopped only resuming when I was quiet. The property backs up to a creek so perhaps some critter has made a nest below the property. I told the front desk on checkout but they didn't seem to worried. Room was large, bed firm but the pillows sucked. Pool is open 24 hours a day. Not much noise from Hwy. 49 which fronts the property.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Willydor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stayed two nights to work on our craft project. We stayed in the cottage, it was perfect, very roomy and nice and bright. Very quiet for being on hwy 49. The grounds are very well kept. We felt very safe too! Thank you Matt for taking such good care of this hotel and us. Wifi works too!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We reserve a room for our fishing trip. When the manager gave us the keys to our room; we then ask if this is a quiet room so we got to a different room which was quiet and we slept well after a long day out at the lake. The room was clean and we have a nice stay

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luciewallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

"The Jackson Lodge" I was so pleased to find has very spacious rooms, at a very reasonable rate, the property was clean, and the manager was kind and courteous. "The Jackson Lodge" is close to Kirkwood ski resort, there is a lot of beautiful country between them, and much history in the area. Also they have a nice little breakfast area where they serve breakfast, with a fireplace for those cold days. If you go to Jackson or Kirkwood ski resort, you just have to check out this place. Even though it is right off Hwy 49/88, my room was quiet I did not hear the trafic as the Lodge is down the hill from the hwy so the noise goes over the rooms. It is just great. Thank you Jackson Lodge!

Room Tip: All rooms a quiet as Lodge is down the hill from the Hwy and the noise goes over the Lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki E S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jackson hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Amador Inn
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Historic Hotel Leger
The Historic Hotel Leger
#1 of 1 in Mokelumne Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
3.3 mi away
Jackson Rancheria Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jackson Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jackson Lodge

Property: The Jackson Lodge
Address: 850 N. State Highway 49/88, Jackson, CA 95642 (Formerly Jackson Gold Lodge)
Region: United States > California > Amador County > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Jackson Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jackson Lodge features 28 spacious, rooms and 8 fully equipped, one bedroom cabins, a year round heated pool, lawns, trees, and landscaped grounds. We are situated 1/4 mile north of downtown Jackson on the quiet hillside, below the highway. Continental Breakfast is included in our beautiful fireplace lobby. We are constantly upgrading and pride ourselves in absolute cleanliness and a staff that really cares about your experience. Free Wi-Fi., AAA approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Jackson Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jackson Hotel Jackson
The Jackson Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing