We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Victorian Gold Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Jamestown B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice room, good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Jamestown is a good resting place between the majestic grandeur of Yosemite and the history of the gold rush towns, although Jamestown itself is steeped in railway history. Victorian Gold is a homely B&B with a range of nice rooms (or at least the ones on the ground floor we saw were nice). As with most B&Bs, the owners 'retire' for the night reasonably early but are available should you encounter a problem. We didn't thankfully, but we did make use of the free coffee and cookies that were available through the evening. It's location is good, just a few minutes walking up a hill from downtown Jamestown so you won't need to drive to your local eatery (we recommend the National Hotel; it was one of only two open the night we visited Jamestown).

Breakfast consisted of fruit juice, coffee or tea, an absolutely gorgeous apple cake (I was tempted to go back for seconds but that might have denied another guest their piece) followed by a fairly standard cooked breakfast. You have a choice of sitting 'inside' or 'outside', the latter being the conservatory. We sat inside and were joined by three members of a family and enjoyed lively conversation. It was a good start to our day.

Room Tip: If you've got a heavy suitcase then the ground floor may be best. The stairs looked quite steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deryck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    14
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We spent a night here while visiting Gold Country. It's a cute little place that looks good during the day and even cuter at night when the lights are up. Walking distance to downtown.

The reason I didn't give it a 5 star is that I feel that this B&B is a little 'commercialized'. When we walked in, there was a big marble/granite counter where we checked in, very much like a hotel. The check in process was efficient, the conversation was normal and formal. Personally, I find that it lacks the warm B&B appeal.

Room was decent with country style decor. The light was a little dim for me as I often like to read before bed time. I couldn't do that. One of the lamps didn't work and I asked to replace the bulb. They suppose to replace it while we were out but nothing was done when we got back - a bit disappointed on that front.

Both my husband and I didn't sleep well. The bed was a bit soft and not supporting the back very well. My husband said he had to sleep close to the center to avoid being rolled off the bed because the mattress was soft and lower on the edge

Breakfast starts at 8:30am. There were two courses - coffee cake and fruits, followed by main course. I'd say the breakfast is the most memorable of my stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank codebeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

stayed for 2 nights in june as we were visiting yosemite (bout 1hr - 1.5hrs away). lovely room in victorian homey style. large bathroom with huge shower. pretty quiet apart from the occasional motorbike nearby. breakfast is the best part of this place. all homemade, came in 2 courses with juice an coffee. think it changes regularly. drinks and snacks near front desk all the time. the owners are really nice too. only let down is jamestown itself - tiny, shops never seem to open. seems to be only one place to eat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owlbeonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Firebaugh, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We ended up here because everything was booked in Columbia and Sonora (apparently it was the Frog Jumpin' Jubilee weekend, who knew?). But I'm so glad that we stayed here! The hospitality was first rate, as was the room, and the breakfast. Jamestown is a little sleepier than Sonora, and we loved walking around the town. A+

Room Tip: The rooms are all unique, and they are open, unless it is occupied. It gives you a chance to "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed here for 1 night. The owners were nice and helpful and the rooms were clean and cozy. The decor was perhaps a slightly overdone for our tastes, but the bathroom featured a two-person shower which was a nice surprise.
The breakfast was simply excellent. Lots of fresh fruit, a great little omelet with a muffin and a light apple crumple.
Apparently the stay is somewhat cheaper if you book two nights, making it competetive with choosing a hotel, and a lot better.
Also, Jamestown, to our surprise, was actually quite charming and had some good restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed in the suite on the second floor. The accommodations were excellent and the history of the inn added to the stay. The food was absolutely heavenly. Breakfasts started with fruit and a creative baked dish followed by a second serving of hot delicious creative dishes served beautifully. The inn keepers were warm and accommodating. It was a true delight to stay there.

Room Tip: Each room was set up with different accents and varying bed sizes. We chose a suite with the king s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
328 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Located just off Main Street in Jamestown, we were very happy to get a room for New Year's. As mentioned in previous posts, the room itself is small but had a very nice bathroom. Very clean too. Note that arrival time is 3 p.m. We arrived right on time and were met by the Inn Keepers who were a very nice couple. Among some of the benefits we noted were a pretty decent cable television connection with a large DVD collection if one wanted to use those. All day coffee service with cookies and biscotti while we were there. Wi-Fi worked like a champ. Breakfast the next morning was very nice and we enjoyed our meal and some great conversation with other guests. Beds are a little firm which was great for me but so-so for my wife. Plenty of parking in the back. Very conveinent to Jamestown and Sonora. We at the National Hotel and had an outstanding meal. For golfers, there are some very nice golf courses nearby. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LodiWineBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
2.7 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
5.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
5.1 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
11.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Gold Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Gold Bed & Breakfast

Property: Victorian Gold Bed & Breakfast
Address: 10382 Willow St, Jamestown, CA 95327-9761
Region: United States > California > Jamestown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Victorian Gold Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Gold Bed & Breakfast, located in Jamestown California, is reminiscent of fine European bed and breakfast hotels and offers eight unique rooms, all with private baths. Our lodging is quietly located one block off Main Street in Jamestown, and embodies the grace of the past with the addition of modern comforts: air conditioning, TV, internet access and private off-street parking. Our Victorian era bed and breakfast is the perfect vacation spot and is also a wonderful location for a wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Victorian Gold Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing