We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1859 Historic National Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Jamestown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Food is Fantastic”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The food is awesome (Chef Tom) is amazing. The menu is varied and we have never had anything we didn't love. The staff is very attentive and the service has always been very prompt. Because we are locals we have never stayed over night, but it is one of our favorite places to dine.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Granddarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    45
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
22
115
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I spent the night on a whim on our way to Yosemite. What a charming, warm place.The inn keepers and staff were fun ,hospitable and helpful. The rooms were clean. We loved the ghost story and history of the place. We will be back for sure.The food was great.
We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3-the "ghost" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

For the last six years, my wife and I have celebrated our anniversary on December 20th by staying at the National Hotel in Jamestown for three days. Upon entering the building, we are immediately taken back to the old west and start our stay by having a few drinks in the historic saloon/bar. We normally eat all of our evening meals at the hotel and why not because this is as good as it gets in old Gold Country. The food and service is fantastic and the flambe deserts highlight the evening. We always spend at least one evening in the old double-sized bathtub upstairs while soaking and listening to soft music. Our cell phones don't work too well here but that suits us fine! A true "get-away".

Room Tip: We like the side of the building that overlooks the parking lot and Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimmanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

A beautiful Bed and Breakfast in the Gold Country. Great shops and old world charm. We wanted a get away for one evening and chose this bed and breakfast most rooms with private bathroom and you could have a TV in your room if requested. Great hostess Mary and Kathy. The room was beautiful. Double shower and there is a soaking tub for guest to use if so inclined. The breakfast buffet was included in the restaurant downstairs. This hotel is close to the Black Oak Casino just a few miles away. We did spend most of our money at the shops on Main street close to the Hotel. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Rooms in front have windows overlooking Main Street I probably would choose Room #1 or #7 but the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathyannr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Our stay here was the highlight of our first trip to gold country. The blend of original features (many 150 years old) and modern comforts is practically seamless. From Brian at the desk/bar to the owner, everyone was friendly and seemed genuinely interested in making sure the guests enjoyed every aspect of their stay. The dining room looked inviting enough enough but we almost passed on dinner there, since it was still empty by 6:30 on a Friday night. Glad we didn't; the food and service were excellent, and the place was jumping within an hour. The outdoor dining area is the more casual, fun and festive option; a little too dark, but at the first sign that anyone was struggling trying to read the menu, the waitress showed up with a flashlight. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: The breakfast buffet is excellent, was included with the stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We had a wonderful night staying at the historic National Hotel in Jamestown, California. The Restaurant served up a wholesome breakfast (included in the price) and the evening meal we enjoyed in the Restaurant was delicious. We stopped for just one night on our way to Yosemite National Park, but will be sure to return when next we visit the US from our home town of Sydney, Australia. The staff were super-friendly and very helpful with local history. Guest books are kept on the bed-side table and I passed a couple of hours reading entries made in Room 2 over the past 7 years. We got to learn all about Flo the friendly ghost.

Room Tip: Make sure you eat in the Restaurant - its excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spikeyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agua Dulce
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed 3 nights, and just loved the place. We had a key to the front door , so it felt like our own little place. Gorgeous rooms, really comfy beds with memory foam mattress, VERY clean! I looked under the bed and they even put a little note under there that said "Yes, we even clean under here". Awesome balcony to sit and read or sip wine, little reading nook inside, the showers ROCK with loads of hot water, I wish I had taken advantage of the quaint community soaking tub. Great breakfast every morning, we had quiche, fresh fruit, amazing Sourdough bread, etc.
Every little touch was so appreciated...for instance, upstairs, they have hot coffee set out in the upstairs hallway every morning at 6:45, which I LOVED because I could go out in my jammies and grab a cup to drink as I'm getting showered and dressed for breakfast.
There was so much to do there, the Railroad Museum, PLENTY of antique shops and great places to eat, Yosemite, which was breathtaking, lots of other little towns nearby to explore, with cool clothing shops. Mary was amazing and attended our every need..No need to go anywhere else...Next time, we'll come on the bike! The roads there are sooo smooth!
Thank you Mary et al for a really memorable stay!

Room Tip: You will enjoy ANY room you stay in..but the Honeymoon suite has dual showerheads..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.0 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
122 reviews
3.0 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
13.1 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
799 reviews
5.3 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1859 Historic National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1859 Historic National Hotel

Property: 1859 Historic National Hotel
Address: 18183 Main St, Jamestown, CA 95327-9748
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Jamestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 1859 Historic National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romantic elegance in the California Gold Country near Yosemite. Boutique hotel and acclaimed restaurant have been restored to today’s standards of comfort while retaining the historic charm of days gone by. All rooms have private baths, some with showers for two; pull chain toilets, memory foam comfort on queen size beds and many original antiques. Buffet breakfast included. Onsite restaurant, award-winning wines from throughout the Sierra Foothills, Mediterranean cuisine and patio dining in season. Full service saloon with daily Happy Hour specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your 1859 Historic National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing