We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fall at the National Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1859 Historic National Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1859 Historic National Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Jamestown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
pacific palisades
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fall at the National Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just returned from a trip to the Gold Country, with a stay at the historic National Hotel in Jamestown. This hotel was a gem. It has been renovated without obliterating its sense of the past. Our room was furnished with a queen sized brass bed, antique furniture, a lovely bathroom with a large, two-sided shower (great water pressure), There were complimentary bottles of water and candy in the room. In the mornings coffee was available on a table outside the room. Breakfast was served buffet style in the delightful dining room. We were particularly pleased with the soaking tub - a private room with soaking salts, a tub to accommodate two adults, CD player with relaxing music, plenty of HOT water. A GREAT feature. Very friendly staff. A bar that is reminiscent of an old-time saloon.

Room Tip: Room 7 was delightful, quiet, private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank askask_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us! Our goal is always to serve satisfied customers whether they are here for just an evening dinner or a longer stay. If you refer any friends to us, be sure they let us know that they came at your recommendation. And come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    44
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
21
111
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night whilst passing through to San Francisco on our honeymoon. We stayed in room 10, which was lovely furnished with antiques and very cosy. My only grumble was that I hated not being able to look outside the window as a wall was there. It's not a negative reflection on the hotel as it can't be helped that there is another building directly next door, however, I just missed having natural light coming into the room. It was also nice to sit out on the veranda and watch the world go by whilst reading a book and relaxing with a drink. The breakfast was nice and we especially enjoyed the homemade granola cereal. There was no sign of Flo the ghost but that didn't stop me sleeping with one eye open, just in case!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, Corrine! We enjoyed having you as a guest.

When the hotel was built, the view from your window was lovely but, unfortunately, we couldn't control progress and so that room lost its view when the building next door was constructed. We do hope you'll come back again and choose one of our other rooms now that you know the layout of the hotel. We'd love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento CA., United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

A wonderfull change of pace in our vacation touring CA.
A first floor bar and dining room, with the rooms upstairs, just like a hotel you might see in a
Western movie.
Our room, which was # 7, had interesting old furniture and decor, and very comfortable bed .
The bathroom had an old fashioned watercloset toilet and a large double shower.
The large porch on the second floor gives a view of the happenings on Main Street.
We made dinner reservations at the same time as our room reservation and we were not disapointed. The food was great. The Breakfast Buffet is way above average and its included at no cost along with the room. This a fun place to stay,

Room Tip: Room # 7 is the one to ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your review, Thomas! We enjoyed reading what you had to say about us. We have many guests who return on a regular basis just to spend a weekend of relaxation in our hotel. Since you are not too far from us, we hope you'll be one of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
328 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

A little gem - a lovely hotel which has lots of interesting history and features. The food in the restaurant was fabulous and was the best we had on our entire two week trip around California. The bar man is excellent - he gave us really good tips for our trip to Yosemite - the only drawback was that the bar closed at 11pm.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArdMhacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thanks so much for taking time to post your review. We appreciate your thoughts and experience during your stay with us and we're happy that you enjoyed your dinner. It is out of consideration for our hotel guests who are staying in rooms above the bar that we close at 11pm. We will be sure to pass your thoughts onto Brian (bartender) who will appreciate knowing that you enjoyed his company as well. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Im usually more sparse with praise, but everything about this place was great.
Let's start. I found the Hotel on one of the Online booking sites, but the price seemed unreasonable high.

So we walked down the real picturesque Main Road and checked the Hotels.
When we reached the National I walked in and was greeted by a Gentleman, that was very friendly, funny and, imagine, gave me a fantastic price for a room. He showed us the whole house. It was really a homey feeling from the first second on.

I admit the rooms are old, the floorboards make sounds, but damnit if it wasnt the best sleep I had in a long time.

The in house restaurant is between good and excellent, I had a steak, and the pepper sauce was great, my wifess food didnt taste as good as mine (her fault no?)

When we finished dinner, I asked the waitress, to bring the guy from the reception a beer on us.

You know what happened? He send us 2!!! back.


Breakfast was ok, nothing to write home about.

All in all a Gem if you like the homey, warm feeling of a real old house.

Room Tip: all rooms we have seen looked nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manyroadsuntraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your glowing review! We are happy that you found us. The gentleman that you met is our proprietor, Stephen, and he is very passionate about the hotel and all that has changed during its restoration process of the past several years. All of the staff works at maintaining the standard that you found so appealing. We do hope that you'll return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I chose this Hotel solely because of its Doggie Friendly Policy (Dog friendly hotels are the only hotels that get our business!)

The Good:

- Really cute historic hotel, with wonderful antique furnishings, art, relics, interesting history
- Awesome Balcony that all rooms have access to, it was so great to sit there and watch people
- Great side patio (restaurant) covered in vines, it was the most comfortable outside seating area in the town
- Cute room, we had #3, small but very good shower (excellent water pressure)
- Truly EXCELLENT restaurant!
- Very professional, friendly, attentive staff
- Excellent breakfast!
- Reasonable rates
- Doggie amenities - bowls, blankets, big cookie which kept our little dog busy and happy on the Balcony.
- There is also a good "alley way" directly across from the hotel for Dog Business, very convenient

Needs Improvement:

- The bed sheets were awful, and smelled of sweat. I couldn't wait for morning to come so I could get away from those sheets. New sheets are a must!
- The hanging flower baskets on the Balcony didn't have blooming flowers, so it was disappointing for photo taking.

Overall, it was a good experience, and as always, we are extremely grateful for their Dog Friendly policy!! It's just fun meeting other dog people or just meeting other people because of the "dog introduction."

Thank you, National Hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PTown4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
We enjoyed reading your glowing review! We're happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and have shared your experience with other travelers.

We are sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant reaction to our bedsheets. Unfortunately, we were trying out samples of a new fabric softener that we have decided against buying for the very reason you've stated. We apologize that your linens were included in the laundry that was testing the softener. Trust that the problem has been resolved.

As for the flower baskets, we can see by the date of your reservation that you were our guests during the time that we were experiencing a prolonged heatwave. Because the baskets are located on the west side of the building, the afternoon sun literally baked most of the plants even with daily and twice daily watering.

We hope you will return when you're visiting the Gold Country again so that you will be able to get those lovely photos you'd like to have!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Ca
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Staying at the National Hotel in Jamestown was a relaxing and interesting stay. As other people have mentioned, the room was small but we had everything we needed - including a private bathroom. The staff was very friendly in the hotel and the restaurant. The hotel is pet friendly. When we arrived there was a basket in our room with a blanket, a special water/food dish and a big cookie. We had dinner the first night on the patio (with our dog). Everything was delicious. The baked brie was the best I have ever had. The morning breakfast (included) was very nice.
It was fun walking around visiting all the antique shops. We also visited a wine tasting shop on our walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsdencci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thanks for taking time to note your thoughts about us. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the little extras that we do for our furry guests. Did you notice the ice cubes floating in the doggie bowls on the patio? We're definitely animal lovers here and enjoy going the extra mile to keep all of our guests happy and comfortable.

Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
0.0 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1859 Historic National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1859 Historic National Hotel

Property: 1859 Historic National Hotel
Address: 18183 Main Street, Jamestown, CA 95327-0502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Jamestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 1859 Historic National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romantic elegance in the California Gold Country near Yosemite. Boutique hotel and acclaimed restaurant have been restored to today’s standards of comfort while retaining the historic charm of days gone by. All rooms have private baths, some with showers for two; pull chain toilets, memory foam comfort on queen size beds and many original antiques. Buffet breakfast included. Onsite restaurant, award-winning wines from throughout the Sierra Foothills, Mediterranean cuisine and patio dining in season. Full service saloon with daily Happy Hour specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 1859 Historic National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing