We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely first night in the US” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1859 Historic National Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1859 Historic National Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Jamestown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stamford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely first night in the US”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We had literally flown into SFO that afternoon, and then embarked on a couple of hours drive to Jamestown so were ready to drop when we arrived. The room was very oldey worldy, like stepping back in time! The staff were very welcoming and on hearing that our accommodation in Yosemite was cancelled (the budget debacle) kindly booked us in for an extra night, and directed us to the state parks which were open!!
We tried out a local restaurant across the street and visited the railway museum and Calaveras Big Trees state park near Arnold.
Did have a moment in the night when the bedside lamp suddenly switched on at dead on midnight. Im sure it must have been a loose connection rather than anything paranormal. Would visit again en route to Yosemite.

Room Tip: I would have opted for a room facing the street, just for a better view and you have easier access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachellovelock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
national2, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking time to post your review, Rachel. We appreciate your words and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. The park closure was a difficult experience for many people but especially those who had planned to stay in Yosemite. We were happy to assist travelers like yourself and hope that the charm of our hotel help soothe the change in plans. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    44
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
21
111
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowen Island, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The hotel room was typical for an old country inn - except Flo the ghost didn't show up on our visit but the staff made the visit most enjoyable. Our bartender/front desk receptionist welcomed us warmly and the chef who we ran into was extremely enthusiastic about her kitchen and the hotel. Off season at $145 seemed high but there you go, we didn't want to drive any further. All the rooms have access to a wonderful balcony overlooking the Main Street. We stayed in #1 which had a wonderful but probably politically incorrect antique shower head that almost drowned you in its downpour. We didn't stay for dinner but understand from several locals we ran into that The National offers the best kitchen in town.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was good but some other rooms have double showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your review, Terry. Flo has a mind of her own when it comes to who she's willing to see! We're glad you enjoyed staying with us and hope you'll return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a short weekend getaway. We stayed in room 3. It was noisy at night because it's over the saloon but it wasn't a big deal for us. As soon as I put my ear plugs in, I couldn't hear anything. The soaking room was awesome. We used it the first night we were there. It was so relaxing. There aren't any TV's in the room which I neglected to tell my husband about until we got there. It was really nice to unplug from everything and we survived not having one. :-) The staff were all very nice. We'll stay there again. Oh and we didn't see Flo or have any paranormal experiences. I was a little bummed about that.

Room Tip: If you don't like noise at night, ask for a room away from the saloon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
So many people love our soaking tub, Susie! We think it's one of life's guilty pleasures. We're glad you took the time to post a review and, more importantly, that you enjoyed your stay with us. Perhaps your next visit from the Bay Area will be more productive in terms of a visit from Flo. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upland, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I stayed in Room 3 on our first night of a short trip up and down historic Hwy 49. We love antiques and history. This hotel gave us both! Dinner in the restaurant was delicious and affordable. The free breakfast in the morning was wonderful. My husband kept raving about how good the coffee was. Staff was attentive and helpful. Our room was comfortable and we truly felt that we had stepped back in time. The attention to detail in regards to the furnishings was outstanding. Our bed was quite comfortable also. If you are looking for an "experience", this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with access to the balcony so you can sit there and overlook the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write your review, Edie! We are always happy to hear about our customers' experiences during their stay. Our staff is well-trained to give quality service and attention to our guests' needs. We appreciate your comments and are glad that you had an enjoyable visit. Come back again sometime... Upland isn't that far away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacific palisades
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just returned from a trip to the Gold Country, with a stay at the historic National Hotel in Jamestown. This hotel was a gem. It has been renovated without obliterating its sense of the past. Our room was furnished with a queen sized brass bed, antique furniture, a lovely bathroom with a large, two-sided shower (great water pressure), There were complimentary bottles of water and candy in the room. In the mornings coffee was available on a table outside the room. Breakfast was served buffet style in the delightful dining room. We were particularly pleased with the soaking tub - a private room with soaking salts, a tub to accommodate two adults, CD player with relaxing music, plenty of HOT water. A GREAT feature. Very friendly staff. A bar that is reminiscent of an old-time saloon.

Room Tip: Room 7 was delightful, quiet, private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank askask_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience with us! Our goal is always to serve satisfied customers whether they are here for just an evening dinner or a longer stay. If you refer any friends to us, be sure they let us know that they came at your recommendation. And come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night whilst passing through to San Francisco on our honeymoon. We stayed in room 10, which was lovely furnished with antiques and very cosy. My only grumble was that I hated not being able to look outside the window as a wall was there. It's not a negative reflection on the hotel as it can't be helped that there is another building directly next door, however, I just missed having natural light coming into the room. It was also nice to sit out on the veranda and watch the world go by whilst reading a book and relaxing with a drink. The breakfast was nice and we especially enjoyed the homemade granola cereal. There was no sign of Flo the ghost but that didn't stop me sleeping with one eye open, just in case!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, Corrine! We enjoyed having you as a guest.

When the hotel was built, the view from your window was lovely but, unfortunately, we couldn't control progress and so that room lost its view when the building next door was constructed. We do hope you'll come back again and choose one of our other rooms now that you know the layout of the hotel. We'd love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento CA., United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

A wonderfull change of pace in our vacation touring CA.
A first floor bar and dining room, with the rooms upstairs, just like a hotel you might see in a
Western movie.
Our room, which was # 7, had interesting old furniture and decor, and very comfortable bed .
The bathroom had an old fashioned watercloset toilet and a large double shower.
The large porch on the second floor gives a view of the happenings on Main Street.
We made dinner reservations at the same time as our room reservation and we were not disapointed. The food was great. The Breakfast Buffet is way above average and its included at no cost along with the room. This a fun place to stay,

Room Tip: Room # 7 is the one to ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda E, Public Relations Manager at 1859 Historic National Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your review, Thomas! We enjoyed reading what you had to say about us. We have many guests who return on a regular basis just to spend a weekend of relaxation in our hotel. Since you are not too far from us, we hope you'll be one of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
0.0 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Charlotte
#2 of 7 in Groveland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Groveland Hotel
The Groveland Hotel
#5 of 7 in Groveland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1859 Historic National Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1859 Historic National Hotel

Property: 1859 Historic National Hotel
Address: 18183 Main Street, Jamestown, CA 95327-0502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Jamestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Jamestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — 1859 Historic National Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the romantic elegance in the California Gold Country near Yosemite. Boutique hotel and acclaimed restaurant have been restored to today’s standards of comfort while retaining the historic charm of days gone by. All rooms have private baths, some with showers for two; pull chain toilets, memory foam comfort on queen size beds and many original antiques. Buffet breakfast included. Onsite restaurant, award-winning wines from throughout the Sierra Foothills, Mediterranean cuisine and patio dining in season. Full service saloon with daily Happy Hour specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your 1859 Historic National Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing