We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Jamestown
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stopped here after leaving San Fransisco on your way to Yosemite National Park. We were doing a not planned vacation so everything was up in the air. Came across this town and stayed in this hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Never stayed in a Hotel like this and it was exciting to us. Now it was just my husband and I so It was fine. Now if we had our teenage son that would be another story as the rooms were small but we expected that as it was a much older building. Our bed was comfortable enough to get some rest. But over all it just gave me that feeling of being back in my great grand parents house. Felt like we were with family. Breakfast was including. It did the job. Some of the other guests that were staying were very friendly as well as we all shared stories over breakfast. Where we were from and what our plans were for the day. I would stay here again if we ever go back to Yosemite.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillianmaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed here for a night with friends and got adjoining rooms. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. Staff were helpful and friendly and the front part of the hotel was beautifully old style. Breakfast was included (watch for the pancake maker) and the whole package came at a great price.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

One night stop over en route to sanfranscisco and was very pleased when we arrived.
Nothing to special, just very quaint little hotel with friendly staff.
Room was comfortabl with large bed, and loved the fact our room was at the front with view of jamestown, sat on verandah drinking wine in the evening was a treat, watching the world go by, though nothing much happens..
Breakfast was pretty basic but did the job..
Would stay again..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Built 1922. Totally rehabbed in 1982. Out buildings hauled by wagons in sections from old gold mines many years ago. Refurbished in recent years extensively. Richard Chamberlin stayed here while location scouting for a historical film.Clint Eastwood stayed here when filming Pale Rider movie. Tony Fransciosa spent time here and enjoyed local playhouses. Rear of property during gold rush era Was a roudy dance hall building. Property adjacent to rear was the town dump during gold rush. Many bottles and artifacts still await....the property was the Royal Hotel named after original owner Royal Rushing, a town business man....perhaps auto repair and service. Gold was founded around 1848. Mark Twain and Bret Harte as well as Prentice Mulford and possibly poet Joaquin Miller spent time in Jamestown. Poverty Hill in Bret Harte's writings refers to area just outside town in nonexistant community today named Stent. The Sierra Railroad short line still operates in town founded in 1897. Hundreds of movies have been made in Jamestown using steam rail rolling stock and local rustic scenery. The 1982 property rehab emphasized old gold rush trappings and affordable hospitality...no TV...coffee in room....refeers...hair blowers...lavender soap.yuk!

This property and town are true historic treasures referred to as "A Place Of Old And New Dreams".

Room Tip: Enjoy another time....a historical kickback experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank queg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stopped here midweek on the last night of a one-week road trip. Walked in quite late, and the innkeeper was very kind and took us in, even showed us the room before booking. Great service. The room was small but comfortable, clean, and with all the basics. Breakfast was complimentary, but no options - pancakes and apples - a bit of a stretch to call it "continental".
We had the misfortune of having our car vandalized overnight, and the innkeeper and his staff were very helpful in contacting the local sheriff, recommending local service, and accommodating our late departure.
The price was right and the bed was comfortable, so overall we had a very nice stay despite the mishap.

Room Tip: Rooms in the hotel are small but comfortable. No info on the cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nameleftblank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights so as to have access to Yosemite NP. It was quite a drive out but much cheaper than staying nearer and the drive to and from the NP was spectacular.
Jamestown is great, a little like you imagine an old western cowboy town. The hotel reminded us of an old saloon. The staff were all great, helpful, professional, polite and friendly. the complimentry breakfast and breakfast room were excellent. The pancakes that were cooked for us were the best we've ever eaten (and we've eaten a lot) Our room at the back had 2 doors, one went staright onto a small, pretty porch.
We felt that our room was far too small, with no wardrobe or room to swing-a- cat. Plus you had to pay more to have private bathroom. But the bed was soft and lovely. Overall a great stay and one we'd recommend for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a room with a door to the porch. If it's quiet you may not have to pay the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thedynamicduo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here in a cottage over the Memorial Day holiday. It was spacious with some nice amenities, but I found the unit difficult to be comfortable in. I guess there was really no comfortable chair to settle down in to watch television. Just the bed. The kitchen had a full size refrigerator/freezer.

There were a lot of odd things going on that detracted from a true boutique experience. For example, the hardwood floor was nice and shiny, but either the floor wasn't level or the door was ill-fitting because the door bottom scratched up the lovely floor when I tried to open the door wide. In other words the door would wedge up against the floor so you couldn't completely open the door. The venetian blinds would not adjust (i.e. swivel to let in more or less light). In fact, sections of the louvers were missing. In the kitchen, there was lots of silverware, but only one setting of a plate and bowl. There was dish soap, but no dishtowels or paper towels. The bathroom was very nice, but the medicine cabinet was placed 90 degrees to the wash basin, with the mirror hinged so that it faced away from you when you opened the medicine cabinet. This made shaving a challenge. In fact I nicked myself shaving for the first time in over five years. Also, there was no light fixture in the bathroom, just the bare bulb. See the pictures that I attached.

The evenings were surprisingly mild and I really had no need to use the air conditioner. I opened one of the windows in the sleeping area (the one with the broken blinds). The other window did not have a screen and I didn't want bugs coming in so I left that one shut. I also opened the window in the bathroom and I got good cross ventilation that kept the cottage at a comfortable temperature. Most of the other occupants in adjacent units ran their air conditioner all night.

The price paid was still a great value for the room and I won't hesitate to stay here again. But honestly, it can't be compared to a full-fledged boutique hotel, which is why I gave it a rating of only 3 dots/spots.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bay_Arean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
0.1 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
139 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
170 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
415 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jamestown Railtown Motel
Jamestown Railtown Motel
#2 of 5 in Jamestown
111 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn Sonora
Country Inn Sonora
#5 of 5 in Jamestown
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage

Address: 18239 Main St, Jamestown, CA 95327-9251
Region: United States > California > Jamestown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Jamestown
Price Range: £47 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage Hotel Jamestown
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites - Royal Carriage
Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown
Americas Best Value Inn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing