We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No breakfast and WiFi”
Review of Country Inn Sonora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn Sonora
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Jamestown
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Our stay included breakfast, but the hotel has recently no breakfast facilities! They offer a lousy selection (handed out from the hotel lobby) for you to bring on a tray to your own room.
WiFi is offered - but is hardly reachable and very unstable! To uptain signal, wait until late at night - and stay close to the hotel lobby.
Nice room if you don't care about breakfast and internet!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lind-Rasmussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We needed a place to stay near Sonora and -- despite the fact my wife hates it when I just pick the cheapest option -- I got away with it this time, booking a ridiculously cheap room at this hotel. What we got for our ~$60/night or so was ... pretty damn nice.

Start with quite the nice room with a lounge area and LCD. Add a fridge and a microwave. The bathroom was small, but reasonably well appointed, and water pressure -- a perennial annoyance for me in hotels -- was quite nice.

This, in addition to the fact that they are pet-friendly (and were extra-friendly to our dog), and parking was easy and near our room. We stayed right next to the pool and if there was noise ... we didn't hear it.

Ample power outlets made it easy to keep our various things charging. We didn't try the breakfast because we ... don't typically do that :).

Overall, really quite nice. The only minor annoyance I had was that their room keys have the room number on them which, from a security perspective, I really, really hate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Location is good if you are visiting Yosemite or on the way out. Rooms are average size, but clean. Breakfast is very basic, just enough to get you going for an hour or so. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajsiromani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Rooms are clean, size is ok. All have small refrigerators and microwaves. The motel is on a very busy and noisy road and with all if the Harley's the area attracts, it is neither serene nor scenic. The location is good for jumping off to all the historic towns and Yosemite bit you won't want to walk anywhere. Cereal, Danish and coffee available in them morning

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Marlene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

It might be unrealistic to book a non-cancellable reservation and then think they might realize that having surgery instead of a holiday is NOT an event that can be planned. I hoped for an opportunity to change dates, but Rick-the front desk manager- said NO. Not only did he say no, he was so cold and unhelpful. I accept that it was my mistake, but if he is this inhuman on the phone, I wouldn't expect much in person. The booking was thru Expedia and they were unable to get him to cooperate either. So. don't book unless you know you won't get melanoma.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Midge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

After reading the reviews, we didn't know what to expect. Overall, it was a good experience, and it fit our budget. I had forgotten a wine cork opener and the front desk helped me out. They were pleasant and helpful. Reviews said they were short on washcloths so I brought some of my own. Other than that, it was an okay stay. If you're looking for the Ritz, go somewhere else. If you are tight on money and not too particular, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annhcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hotel is a bit difficult to find : it is in fact in the middle between Jamestown and Sonora (on the left side of the road if you go north). Be careful because the cars are driven too fast ...
The hotel has three levels : I succeeded to get a room on the first one for easily carrying the suitcases.
The room we got in was very large and well equipped : king size bed, fridge, microwave, coffee pot and Internet which was working properly, for a normal price.
The room for the breakfast was not well equipped : unless you return to your room you have to eat with your plate on your lap (what we did) as there is no table. A girl prepares small pankaces which are good.
In the evening you must return to Jamestown to find several "western" restaurants which are not luxury but sufficient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pierre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countryinnsonora, Front Desk at Country Inn Sonora, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

CW

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamestown
4 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
1.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
4.1 mi away
Aladdin Inn
Aladdin Inn
#3 of 8 in Sonora
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
419 reviews
1.7 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
1.8 mi away
Sonora Inn
Sonora Inn
#4 of 8 in Sonora
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn Sonora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn Sonora

Address: 18730 State Route 108, Jamestown, CA 95327-9129
Region: United States > California > Jamestown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Jamestown
Price Range: £47 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn Sonora 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn Sonora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Sonora Hotel Jamestown
Country Hotel Sonora
Country Hotel Jamestown
Jamestown Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing