We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience and realistic expectations of an old Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Jenner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Jenner Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Jenner B&B and Inns
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience and realistic expectations of an old Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2008

I stayed in the Rosebud Cottage and had a great experience. The Rosebud is a one-room cottage with a private balcony, river view, sleeps 2 and shares a spa with the Rosewater (a larger, nicer cottage). The Rosebud is free-standing, north of the main lodge.

I really enjoyed staying in the Rosebud and would definitely go back. It is right on Highway 1, so there is some noise. But it wasn't to such an extreme that I could not sleep. The private balcony was very clean - no bird feces, dirt, etc., like others complained - and has a great view of the river and the pretty hillside. There are tons of birds. But, I love those sounds so I found it very relaxing. The bed is very comfortable and faces the balcony so you wake up looking at the Russian River. Nice!

There are I think two seatings for breakfast: one at 8am and one at 9am. The morning I was there they served a tomato quiche, a muffin, and some fruit. Coffee and Tea were also available. The food was perfectly fine and in portions you should be eating anyway. So, if you need a Denny's Grand Slam, then go there.

I found every staff person I encountered to be perfectly friendly. I couldn't figure out how to get the old door on the cottage to lock on my way out and the innkeeper offered to walk down the highway (at night) to help me out. Luckily, she didn't have to do that since I figured it out eventually. But, the point is that she was willing and wasn't the least bit gruff about it.

If you want upscale/luxury, then don't go to the Jenner Inn. But, if you want peace, comfort, solitude, and simplicity, DO go. And about the price: you're paying for location folks. Welcome to Highway 1 (and California for that matter) where pretty much everything is expensive!

  • Liked — Views, relaxing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    67
    43
    36
    67
See reviews for
46
161
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto Ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2008

What a nightmare! The walls in this place conduct sound better than a microphone. The guy snoring in the next room might as well have been in my bed. We were entertained by the sound of him brushing his teeth and gargling in the morning rather than the sound of sea birds and soft breezes.

Then there was the security alarm that went off at 2AM in a room nearby. Despite our best efforts to alert hotel staff or local authorities, it was ignored and was still going off when we fled at 8:30 the next morning....after I had emptied the ants out of my shoes that had been sitting next to the dresser.

Save yourself and stay away. This has to have been the worst hotel experience of my life.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Kaciebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jenner hotels

San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2008

Wow, the varied reviews are really something else...

We have been going to the Jenner Inn for 10 years now, and we find it charming every time we go. We love it so much we spent a week of our honeymoon here, and I even named my photography business after this special place. We have always been greeted by friendly innkeepers, our room (we always stay at the Mill Cottage) is warm, romantic and inviting, and the food has always been good. This time we had quiche the first morning with a homemade muffin, and the second day was buttermilk waffles with raspberry sauce and whipped cream. Our server was lovely, and treated us very well.

Jenner/Russian River is a laid back kind of place. If you are looking for more traditional luxury, you might try wine country or Mendocino. We still think its a good value for the money - when we first started staying at the Mill Cottage it was about $150 a night. The bathroom has been nicely renovated to include a whirlpool tub, and the upstairs has been remodeled as well. The shower/hot water always worked for us.

We will continue to go back again and again. It rained the whole time we were there last weekend, but just sitting there with a roaring fire, a good glass of wine, and my husband and baby son, and some good books was just wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake tahoe, nv
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2008

This is the second year in a row that my Mom and two sisters and I stayed at the Jenner Inn, in particular, in the Pelican Suite. At first sight last year, I thought "way too small", but we immediately fell in love with the now newly renovated Pelican Suite. It's small, but quite adequate for up to four good friends (one queen bed and one sofa bed). The small kitchenette and dining room are fine, but the best part is the window seat overlooking the Russian River. The view up the river and down the river to the ocean is incredible. Each morning you are served breakfast in the main Inn which is home made and wonderful tasting. The personnel who work at the Jenner Inn are very friendly and it's easy to get into comfortable conversations with other people who are having their breakfast in the charming, old fashioned dining room. If you want excitement and lots of activity, this isn't really the place. But if you want beauty, peace and comfort, I highly recommend the Pelican Inn. We checked out a couple of the other cottages, but really don't want to stay anywhere other than the Pelican Suite. You can go for walks, drive to nearby Bodega Bay or drive north on Highway 1 for gorgeous views of the ocean. We love the Jenner Inn!

  • Liked — comfort and views, no cell phones, no internet
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovewintertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2008

I received a gift certificate from my boss, for christmas, and was eager to use it. I planned on using it for a nice get away for my boyfriend's birthday in Feb. Unfortunately, I started reading the reviews on here and didn't want to use it at all. On Monday my boyfriend suggested using it for my birthday:) and I thought, well we didn't pay for it if it was a total "dump". I decided to book the Merlin room and we LOVED it. It was all rainy and by the time we got there the sun had already set, but there wasn't a sunset to view anyway, due to the weather. The room looks out onto the Russian RIver and is very romantic. The hot tub was clean and toasty. The room was extremely clean and cozy. The only issue we had, no tv in the room. I wanted to bring some dvds up to watch while we stayed in from the rain, but no and you can only be "romantic" for so long. I woul definitely recommend the Jenner Inn B&B.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cloverall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2008

We had booked early in November based on the the Jenner Inn website photos and asked for early check-in. When we arrived, not only was the early check-in denied but we were greeted with astounding surliness and asked immediately for our credit card.
The furnishings were old and none too clean, the cottage we had suffered from much deferred maintenance, no tv, a radio with static, no cell service and a bed with sheets that were too short for the bed. Don't bother to have the breakfast which was one freezer waffle and two small slices of fruit all tarted up with whipped creme.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — The roof and the staff
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank chessie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2008

We chose this place based on the website pictures and the ammenties that were supposed to come with our room. We were camping for a week and wanted our last night on the coast, the day of our wedding anniversary, to be spent in a warm cozy bed. Ha we were fooled. We booked the Mill house cottage because of the hot tub. Upon arrival, where they had us stuck, we were informed that there "are issues with the hot water heater" but "is easily fixed" and the room is believed to be 'haunted". We checked in and I went to shower when what do you know the hot water went out. So I had to stand in the shower freezing waiting for someone to come to the house go into the basement and reset the hot water. After the shower we went out to get in the hot tub. I pulled back the cover and was disgusted, there was a large amount of dirt and sand on the bottom of the tub and a ring of grease aroung the top of the water line. We went back in and called the front desk. The reply we got was basically that we should have called sooner beacused the maintanence guy had gone home for the evening and there was nothing that could be done. During the night we were awoken by strange noises, and the pitter patter of feet over our heads. the ghost had arrived and it turned out to be racoons or some other rodents invading the upstairs portion of our place. The next morning the hot water heater wa not working and it was 2 hours before someone came to fix the problem. After all the complaints management never offered a refund or even a discount. I would never recommend to anyone, EVER!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everythin
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank h2osno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
10.3 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
9.5 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
9.8 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bodega Harbor Inn
Bodega Harbor Inn
#2 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jenner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jenner Inn

Property: The Jenner Inn
Address: 10400 Coast Route 1, Jenner, CA 95450
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jenner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Jenner Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW OWNERSHIP AS OF FEBRUARY 2016. Where the scenic Russian River meets the crashing Pacific, the landmark Jenner Inn is being reborn. Its new owners are painstakingly restoring the historic inn, room by charming room, transforming the hostelry into a destination worthy of its breathtaking setting. Charlie Coyne, along with wife Katie and his cousins Marty and Tom, are the principals of Dublin Square, the family-owned company that is behind the renovation and rebirth of the Jenner Inn. The Coyne family has demonstrated its ability to breathe new life into historic properties and create superior hospitality experiences. A native Northern Californian, Charlie was practicing law in the 1980’s in San Rafael when his brothers brought him on board to join them in resurrecting the foundering Delta King stern-wheeler that used to ferry passengers across the San Francisco Bay. Under the Coyne family’s leadership, the Delta King is now a thriving hotel and restaurant operation moored on the Sacramento River in Old Sacramento. Tracing its roots to 1904, the Jenner Inn began life as a lumber mill, and played a critical role in the rebuilding of San Francisco after the 1906 earthquake and fire. The mill closed in 1914 when the town consisted of some fifty buildings, seven of which are today part of the Jenner Inn. After the original hotel on the site was destroyed by fire in 1948, the current main structure was built—a one-of-a-kind redwood building with galleon windows, wheel beamed ceilings, and solid oak floors—its design reminiscent of a sailing ship (not surprising since the craftsmen who constructed it were Swedish boat-builders). The building is believed to have been designed by an associate of famed architect Julia Morgan. Today the Jenner Inn is a collection of 21 rooms and free-standing cottages scattered throughout the village, many of them dating to the era of the town’s founding. The Coyne family’s vision for the property is to maintain the inn’s legendary charm while updating its decor, furnishings and amenities. Most important, the inn aims to meld seamlessly with its setting, capitalizing on the surrounding natural scenery, quaint village atmosphere, and proximity to Sonoma Wine Country. Because each room is unique, prices will vary, but the goal is to offer a romantic destination emphasizing the natural beauty and activities of west Sonoma, including kayaking, whale and seal watching, abalone diving, fishing, bicycling and the world class Sonoma wine and food bounty. Several rooms are being designated as pet friendly. Renovation of the inn is occurring in stages, one building at a time, with the hotel continuing to operate throughout the process. Guests may choose from any of eight lodging types, ranging from the cottages with waterfront, meadow or grotto views; to the Jenner House’s comfortable creek side rooms and suites; to private studios. Many have kitchens, most have water views, some have private decks, and all offer comfort, privacy, and charm. In coming months the Jenner Inn’s dining room will include a full bar, and restaurant, beginning with full made-to-order breakfast for guests. The Coyne family’s vision for the Jenner Inn grows from Charlie’s experience as general manager of the Delta King Hotel and Restaurant for twenty-two years, as well as involvement in other hospitality projects in Northern California. An avid abalone diver, Charlie happened upon the Jenner Inn while returning from a diving trip. Dublin Square LLC purchased the Jenner Inn in February 2016, opening the door to another adventurous chapter for the Coyne family. Says Charlie Coyne, “ Our attraction to the Jenner Inn mirrors what motivated our purchase of the Delta King. We will be guardians of an incomparable asset with significance that transcends our ownership. We view the Jenner Inn as a treasure of historic proportion and natural beauty that cannot be duplicated. Our emphasis will be to accent the inherent attractions of the Jenner Inn and west Sonoma County. We were elated at the opportunity to acquire such a unique property located so close to the Bay Area. “ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your The Jenner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jenner Inn And Cottages
Jenner Inn & Cottages Hotel Jenner
Jenner Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing