We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fort Ross Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fort Ross Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

This is a wonderfully romantic getaway. Our room had a fireplace and a hot tub on the patio with a beautiful view of the ocean. The one thing I wish I had known was you need to bring EVERYTHING if you want to BBQ there. The little store across the street has limited items (not even magazines) and nothing to BBQ except freeze dried chicken/steak. They also close at 5pm. The managers were a bit misleading about the closest dining. They said you had to drive the 13 miles South to Jenner; very windy, foggy drive; however, we discovered (the next day) you can drive about 5 minutes north to The Sea Ranch Lodge which has a better restaurant (called Alexander's) a much smoother/shorter drive. Don't know why management would tell you this unless it's a competition thing. The food at the River's End in Jenner was very weird to us "meat and potato" folks (duck, oysters, etc.) and very pricey! Alexander's food was exceptional and much more to our liking, as well as less expensive! This is a beautiful stay but just be prepared!

Room Tip: The Hill Room #8
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    85
    20
    20
    6
See reviews for
31
187
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stone Mountain, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

If you want to spend time "where the sidewalk ends" this is the perfect place for you. Fort Ross is a tiny village and this lodge is unencumbered by civilization.

We wanted to get away from San Francisco and it was a only a two-hour ride up Highway 1 to Fort Ross. From the room "with view" you have incomparable views of the vast expanse of the ocean. Our king-sized room came with an outdoor jacuzzi tub - a plus in the chilly night for star-gazing. When we arrived, we walked down to the cliff-edge and found a pathway to the rocky cove below - seals were playing in the kelp beds. The air and water were invigorating and cold.

If you go there, be prepared: bring food, utensils, etc., because if the convenience store across the street is closed, you are stuck driving back down the winding highway an hour or so to find a restaurant. Jenner, by the way, has some great places to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marjorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We had two nights scheduled here, however only stayed one. NO, we weren't put off by the lack of cell and internet...we were warned and also expected this as the coast doesn't really have service. We WERE put off by the smallness of the room that is NOT what it appears to be in the pictures on their web site. While we didn't see any "wildlife" it was great for viewing stars, seeing the surf and sitting in the hot tub! We were in room 16, a cabin that had a queen size bed, hot tub and grill on the private porch and interesting tub! The tub was colorful and unusual and DEEP, which made for a nice soak! The hot tub was hot and you could see the stars very nicely. Unfortunately if the folks on either side of your patio are smoking or starting their grill you get the "advantage" of their smoke! The staff were very nice, however telling you to call them if you have any problems, no matter what the time...well that isn't possible as you have no phone in the room or cell service (again, you WERE warned!). Anyway, while it is a beautiful area, you will want to bring some food supplies as you won't find anything open in the evening and a ways to the nearest restaurant! One other issue is lack of ventilation (and while there is heat there is no air conditioning..the coast!) makes it difficult to get air unless you don't mind having your door open.... If you don't mind these drawbacks....you will find the coastal wilderness very appealing.

Room Tip: Get the cabins 14-17 with the hot tubs for nice view, privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BirdieMoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

My 11 yr old son and I stayed here for two nights over the Labor Day weekend. We arrrived before check in, but they had just finished cleaning our room, so we were able to get settled. Our room had a sliding glass door out to the patio with a charcoal bbq and view of the ocean. The bed was comfortable and clean.

There was a wood burning fireplace (wood and fire starter provided), high arched ceiling, microwave, small fridge, direct TV, and DVD player. Bathroom was roomy, but bathtub/shower was black colored so hard to see if it was clean or dirty (it was clean, I just didn't like the color. Sheets were thin and towels were worn, and only two bath towels. The outdoor hot tub was nice in the evening, (ask for towels before you get in). The price was reasonable.

It is not in Jenner proper, it is about a 30 minute drive North of Jenner, and it is remote! The store across the street from the Lodge closes at 5 or 6:00 p.m.. There are no places to eat near the Lodge so be prepared to either have food on hand or drive up or down the coast to find a restaurant. There was only one place open in Jenner for dinner and it was booked solid, but they let us eat at the bar (River's End). The second night we at at the Blue Heron in Duncan Mills.

Nothing wrong with the Lodge, very nice. Next time we would probably stay in Duncan Mills or Bodega Bay just for the convenience of being closer to larger beaches and places to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lj3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at the Lodge for one night. Although it had a decent view of the ocean there was no easy way to walk to the beach. We stayed in Room 4 which came with a wood stove and a BBQ. We did not use it instead drove a mile north to the Timbercove Inn Restaurant. there is no wifi and the manager was not particular friendly. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DCMike82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed here with the kids on a road trip up the coast.

We came from Guerneville where we swam and canoed at Johnson's Beach. The road from Jenner to this property is extremely windy with lots of tight turns.

This is a very isolated location just north of Fort Ross. There is a general store across the street. We had a nice room with a wood burning fireplace and nice views. It was a cozy place to stay.

They had a jacuzzi at the property, but the water was only warm and not hot, so we didn't stay long.

They did not provide breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for his birthday weekend. What an awesome place! We stayed in room 14, which is part of a group of rooms close to the ocean. We had a great view of the coast from our patio, which comes with it's own bbq and hottub. There's no cell phone or internet service, which I actually ended up enjoying. There is a payphone outside of the office, just in case you need to make a call. The room itself was spacious and clean. It has a woodburning stove as well, which adds to the coziness of the place. We will definitely stay here again.

Also the woman at the front desk and her husband (who does the maintenance) are very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
0.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
19.1 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
13.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Jenner Inn
The Jenner Inn
#1 of 1 in Jenner
3.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ocean Cove Lodge Bar & Grill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Ross Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Ross Lodge

Property: Fort Ross Lodge
Address: 20705 Highway 1, Jenner, CA 95450-9743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Ross Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
22 cozy, romantic rooms on the beautiful Sonoma coast. Each room is individually decorated and has all the comforts of home. Most rooms offer: Ocean View, Fireplace, private patio with BBQ, microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker, satellite TV with HBO, and DVD player. Some rooms offer private patio hot tub, or in room jacuzzi tub and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Fort Ross Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Ross Hotel Jenner
Fort Ross Jenner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing