We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, secluded view of the ocean”
Review of Fort Ross Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fort Ross Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice, secluded view of the ocean”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This little lodge is very much off-the-beaten-path, but nice. We had a view of the ocean from our room, and there's a nice little path that leads to a better view. Our room also had a wood burning stove/fireplace that was a nice touch, and it was stocked with firewood. We stayed here on a Thursday night, and it seemed very quiet, even though it was Spring Break week. We never once heard any of the other guests, and I don't even recall ever hearing any traffic from the road, even though the hotel is right there on Hwy 1. There are only a couple of restaurants in the area, so you may want to bring something to cook on the grill that each unit has. There is small grocery store that is easily accessible across the road, that had several options for a simple breakfast (yummy muffins that seem homemade, packages of cinnamon rolls, cereal, granola bars, trail mix, milk, juice, and a couple of breakfast burritos). The hotel room has a coffee pot, and the reception area has a Keurig machine, so the basic caffeine needs are covered. If you do plan to cook your own meal on the grill, I assume you would also need to bring eating utensils, because I didn't see any plates, forks, knives, napkins, bowls, etc.

Room Tip: Look at the maps that show the actual locations of the rooms, to make sure you like the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byrd11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for you lovely review of our lodge. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We look forward to having you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    86
    20
    20
    6
See reviews for
34
197
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

From Bodega Bay to Fort Ross along California Hwy 1 we enjoyed beautiful beaches and ocean views, culminating in 2 nights at Fort Ross Lodge.

We enjoyed a one-room accomdation. It had a nice layout with fireplace, dining table and amply-sized bathroom. I was charmed by the welcoming place setting for two with wine glasses and candle. We did not use the fireplace, although firewood was readily available. We DID relish our the private patio, grill and supplied charcoal.

We enjoyed the small walk to the cliff edge for closer experience of crashing waves, seals, sunrise and sunset. Incredibly relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We drove up the coast not sure where we were going to stay, this place was recommended by a local resturarant in Jenner, and we could not have been more thirlled. The room was on the hill overlooking the ocean, the hot tub was amazing, the fireplace was perfect, the bed was one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in, it was honeslty one of the best trips we have ever had. I would recommend this place to anyone, and will be going back as soon as possible. They have the best staff and Sheila at the front desk is the sweetest person ever! We came home today and are trying to plan our next trip. Very very very hilghy recommended.

Room Tip: We had room 19 which was up on the hill above the hotel, the most beautiful view of the ocean from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Loved this hotel. Granted, it is in a very remote location, and quite a distance from Jenner, or from most anything, for that matter, but it's part of what makes it special. This awesome little place is out on the wild Northern California Coast. THe rooms are lovely, with vaulted ceilings, fireplaces in the room, and some rooms have hot tubs on the very large patios. I believe there is a restaurant at the one other hotel down the road, but otherwise, eat before you get here, or bring your own and grill on your patio, because each has a barbecue grill. The owners are super nice, and clearly attend to every detail. The place is clean, was very quiet when we were there. I wanted to just stay forever and take in the beauty, but we had to move on. Too bad. Stay, relax, enjoy is my recommendation! (If you must have nightlife and lots to do, this is not your place…just saying')

Room Tip: Not all rooms have an ocean view. Ask the managers-they will be honest. Also, a few rooms don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janasilvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Page, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This place is very peaceful and beautiful and inn manager is so helpful and nice. This place is a hidden gem on Highway 1. A little far from most urban life but then again that is why we go. I loved room 17, fell asleep listening to frogs and woke up to the sea lions down at the beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at Fort Ross & we will be back. We always choose a room on "the hill". This stay, we were the only guests in our area. It was very peaceful & quiet. The ocean view was beautiful. Since our previous stay, it looks like the property has been undergoing some upgrades. One thing I really enjoy about the Fort Ross Lodge is that they provide a barbeque with charcoal & wood for the fireplace. My only complaint about the visit was the pillows. They are very soft. Next time I will bring my own.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermiston,Or
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have been on the road for five weeks. This is no doubt the best place we have stay at. I hope to stay there again. It is much better then all of the high end Motels. You can not beat this place. The Host are the best I have seen. They go out of the way to make you happy and the cookies at the front desk are great.

Room Tip: Eat before you get there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimG65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
0.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
19.1 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
13.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Jenner Inn
The Jenner Inn
#1 of 1 in Jenner
3.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ocean Cove Lodge Bar & Grill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Ross Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Ross Lodge

Property: Fort Ross Lodge
Address: 20705 Highway 1, Jenner, CA 95450-9743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Ross Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
22 cozy, romantic rooms on the beautiful Sonoma coast. Each room is individually decorated and has all the comforts of home. Most rooms offer: Ocean View, Fireplace, private patio with BBQ, microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker, satellite TV with HBO, and DVD player. Some rooms offer private patio hot tub, or in room jacuzzi tub and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Fort Ross Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Ross Hotel Jenner
Fort Ross Jenner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing