We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Getaway”
Review of Fort Ross Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fort Ross Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Peaceful Getaway”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you are looking to "unplug" for a couple days this is the perfect place. We stayed in Room 17 and enjoyed the view and spa. Remember to bring some food - the options there are limited. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pharm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our lodge.
It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    86
    20
    20
    6
See reviews for
34
197
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

FORT ROSS LODGE is close to some of the best destinations of northern California, that is, destinations to the north of the Golden Gate Bridge. (I describe these destinations below.) The motel takes the form of several independent buildings. (It does not take the form of a large monolithic apartment building.) A driveway off of the legendary Route 1 leads the tourist to the motel's office, where one can park under a roofed part of the driveway, and once registered, one can continue to drive for several more seconds to reach one's motel suite. The facility is as clean and modern, with tasteful décor, as some of the nicer chain motels. The motel rooms are spacious, and not in any way cramped. (My standard of a "cramped" motel room is the size of the rooms at OCEAN COVE LODGE just south of Salt Point State Park, OCEAN GROVE LODGE in Trinidad, CA, and VISTA MOTEL near Glacier National Park.)

To the east is a large forest that contain many miles of well-kept hiking trails. Route 1 does not have commercial traffic, and so the visitor will not be bothered with the grinding, lurching sounds of large trucks. Most visitors will be more interested in the coastline, than in the forests. The beach is a 15 minute walk down a slope from the motel. This is a perfect spot for relaxing, in an area that I consider to be a "holy land." I consider it to be a "holy land" because I have done a fair amount of large format photography (4x5 inch film format) of the tafoni stone formations at nearby Salt Point State Park, and I have exhibited my large color photos (20 X 24 inch prints) at various museums, e.g., Coyote Point Museum in San Mateo, CA.

A shortcoming of FORT ROSS LODGE is that there is no restaurant and no gift shop. However, there is a grocery located a half-minute drive to the south, along Route 1. Now regarding gifts, Mother Nature provides her own gifts for free. These take the form of things to see, e.g., seals, deer, and hawks flying overhead carrying fish in their talons.

The following documents some of the destinations near FORT ROSS LODGE. These destinations include Jenner, Fort Ross, and Salt Point State Park. Jenner features a marvelous sea stack (Goat Rock), and beyond that, a sea arch that is some distance in the ocean, and a spit of land populated by dozens of seals. Fort Ross features a restored Russian fort, with a real cannon that is ignited during guided tours, a lovely hike to the sea, and thousands of calla lilies. Salt Point State Park features the best tafoni on the entire California coast. Tafoni is a strange stone formation that is amazingly photogenic, where some of the formations take on abstract shapes, while others resemble gigantic insects, screaming lizards, honeycombs. Salt Point State park also is the site of Stump Beach. Although Stump Beach has an ugly name, it is as beautiful as many of the secluded beaches in Hawaii.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TomBrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you visit our lodge and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

The first time we came here, we stayed on the hill and could not have enjoyed it more. This time, we decided on a regular room with the assurance that we would be completely satisfied with a bigger hot tub and better view. Both untrue. The room was very small, the night stand holding the TV, microwave and mini fridge was broken. All shelfs were tilting and each appliance was was holding each shelf up. We were promised towels for each day which never arrived. There are quite a few other details about the room I won't go into, since every room is different, but the closets alone looked like port-o-potties.Lastly, we went to breakfast and were 20 minutes late for check out (keep in mind last time we were late the manager laughed it off) so we didn't rush. Our own fault, but we drive up to the manager walking out of our room claiming it was the "worst condition" she had ever seen. Three wine bottles and our clothing hardly could as "worst condition". We also left the room cleaner than when we arrived. The staff on your first visit will be amazing, aside from begging for a great review, which we did. This is not a horrible place, but I will never return considering we left feeling disrespected and uncomfortable about our surroundings. It's a very sad thing to say we went from loving a vacation spot to never wanting to return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
'We are very sorry to learn of your disappointing stay at our lodge.
It is not our policy to treat any of our customers in this manner.
We do want to let you know that the resident managers that you had an issue with are no longer working with us. Please consider another visit to meet our new innkeepers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I've stayed at the Fort Ross Lodge twice (most recently this week) and both stays have been wonderful. It's on a stretch of the northern CA coast that is just breathtaking. No cell service and spotty in-room wifi might deter many, but the whole point in going there is to "get away from it all". Splurge on a full ocean view room and pack a cooler with things to grill for dinner on your private patio Weber grill (charcoal provided but bring your own eating implements!). There is a general store across the street but I wouldn't recommend relying on it (expensive like a convenience store but handy for things you forgot). Each room has a tv, Direct TV and a DVD player. Management is very friendly and helpful but keeps in the background unless you need them. Great place to relax and unwind.

Room Tip: Get a full ocean view room to make the most of the experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spocksf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of our lodge. It is our pleasure to have such wonderful guests such as yourself. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I'm not going to get too into the boring details, but I held of on writing this review until I heard back from the ownership…but since that hasn't happened I'll let you know how we felt. We went there for New Years and when we arrived late we had no hot water. We let staff know the next morning, and the woman at the desk, Sheila, was the rudest person in the world. So rude we wanted to leave. But it was New Years eve and we drove 8 hours to get there, and it's at the end of the world so we dealt with it. But to say that she was rude is an understatement. She seemed to enjoy being that rude, and it made us livid. We were NOT happy with their solution to the problem and I wanted to talk to the owners about it but they are not on the property. I was basically told "too bad" and "are you happy with that?" Well NO! I'm not happy with that. I called and left a message for the owners to get back to me to no avail. Finally I left a message here for them to get back to me and they did, and was thankful for it, but I missed that call so I called back. No reply. I then called again. No reply. My bottom line is that you want a place to make you feel welcome not sorry you wasted your money on a stressful experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DannyTheFallGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaRomeo, Owner at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Sorry you felt the need to write a negative review on this site. We do apologize for your being treated "rudely" by our staff. We would like to let you know our position regarding your concern:
We responded IMMEDIATELY to your maintenance issue and resolved it as soon as it was brought to our attention. You were also refunded for your first night's stay. Sometimes issues are beyond our control and our guests generally understand this. You were offered to check out early, but chose to stay the second night. There was nothing more that we could offer you. During your stay, we also had to refund one night's stay to the room below yours, due to a noise complaint that came from your room.
We did play phone tag with you and are sorry that we were unable to talk in person.
We take great pride in our lodge and are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This little lodge is very much off-the-beaten-path, but nice. We had a view of the ocean from our room, and there's a nice little path that leads to a better view. Our room also had a wood burning stove/fireplace that was a nice touch, and it was stocked with firewood. We stayed here on a Thursday night, and it seemed very quiet, even though it was Spring Break week. We never once heard any of the other guests, and I don't even recall ever hearing any traffic from the road, even though the hotel is right there on Hwy 1. There are only a couple of restaurants in the area, so you may want to bring something to cook on the grill that each unit has. There is small grocery store that is easily accessible across the road, that had several options for a simple breakfast (yummy muffins that seem homemade, packages of cinnamon rolls, cereal, granola bars, trail mix, milk, juice, and a couple of breakfast burritos). The hotel room has a coffee pot, and the reception area has a Keurig machine, so the basic caffeine needs are covered. If you do plan to cook your own meal on the grill, I assume you would also need to bring eating utensils, because I didn't see any plates, forks, knives, napkins, bowls, etc.

Room Tip: Look at the maps that show the actual locations of the rooms, to make sure you like the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byrd11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for you lovely review of our lodge. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We look forward to having you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

From Bodega Bay to Fort Ross along California Hwy 1 we enjoyed beautiful beaches and ocean views, culminating in 2 nights at Fort Ross Lodge.

We enjoyed a one-room accomdation. It had a nice layout with fireplace, dining table and amply-sized bathroom. I was charmed by the welcoming place setting for two with wine glasses and candle. We did not use the fireplace, although firewood was readily available. We DID relish our the private patio, grill and supplied charcoal.

We enjoyed the small walk to the cliff edge for closer experience of crashing waves, seals, sunrise and sunset. Incredibly relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
0.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
19.1 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
13.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Jenner Inn
The Jenner Inn
#1 of 1 in Jenner
3.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ocean Cove Lodge Bar & Grill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Ross Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Ross Lodge

Property: Fort Ross Lodge
Address: 20705 Highway 1, Jenner, CA 95450-9743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Ross Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
22 cozy, romantic rooms on the beautiful Sonoma coast. Each room is individually decorated and has all the comforts of home. Most rooms offer: Ocean View, Fireplace, private patio with BBQ, microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker, satellite TV with HBO, and DVD player. Some rooms offer private patio hot tub, or in room jacuzzi tub and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Fort Ross Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Ross Hotel Jenner
Fort Ross Jenner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing