We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Fort Ross Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fort Ross Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Ft. Ross Lodge is a great place to stay. The room is large and very comfortable with sky windows that allow you to lie in bed at night and view the moon and the stars. Your room has everything you need---microwave, fridge, fire place, etc. The hotel itself has a great location and plenty of natural land that slopes down to the sea, all of which begs you to explore. From your patio in the late afternoon and evening, you can watch the deer graze between you and the ocean and watch the sunset over the Pacific. Hummingbirds, cliff swallows, and other birds will keep you entertained. Very tranquil and relaxing. Wonderful place for a romantic get away or with the family. And the managers, David and Prudence, cannot do enough nice things for you.

Room Tip: Most rooms, if not all, have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim Buck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    88
    20
    20
    6
See reviews for
35
201
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We didn’t have a reservation and lucked out when we saw there was a vacancy as were driving past the lodge. We saw two rooms, both facing the ocean. The owners, husband and wife, were both very pleasant and helpful in suggesting restaurants for dinner that evening. We were offered the use of the grill on the private patio, charcoal included. There was a path toward the ocean which we walked. We took some great sunset pictures. The room was immaculate and the bed very comfortable. We had a lovely and quiet stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellenwyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed overnight during a foggy June evening and really enjoyed the in room fireplace, to take the chill out. Fortunately we awoke to a sunny day, so we could enjoy the view of the sea. Beautiful location in a remote section of the coast. Bring your food with you because there is not much nearby except a store that closes at 6PM. But if your looking for a quiet evening, this is the place.

Room Tip: Chose a room with an unobstructed view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deano65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband, daughter and I recently stayed at the Fort Ross Lodge, again, over Memorial Day weekend. The views are breathtaking. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay again. Very relaxing, quiet, and awesome. We decided not to buy food to BBQ this time, but did stop at the nearby store to purchase snacks. If you choose to BBQ make sure you check the local stores for hours. There are also nearby restaurants, Timber Cove and Ocean Cove.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deserea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you are looking to "unplug" for a couple days this is the perfect place. We stayed in Room 17 and enjoyed the view and spa. Remember to bring some food - the options there are limited. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pharm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our lodge.
It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

FORT ROSS LODGE is close to some of the best destinations of northern California, that is, destinations to the north of the Golden Gate Bridge. (I describe these destinations below.) The motel takes the form of several independent buildings. (It does not take the form of a large monolithic apartment building.) A driveway off of the legendary Route 1 leads the tourist to the motel's office, where one can park under a roofed part of the driveway, and once registered, one can continue to drive for several more seconds to reach one's motel suite. The facility is as clean and modern, with tasteful décor, as some of the nicer chain motels. The motel rooms are spacious, and not in any way cramped. (My standard of a "cramped" motel room is the size of the rooms at OCEAN COVE LODGE just south of Salt Point State Park, OCEAN GROVE LODGE in Trinidad, CA, and VISTA MOTEL near Glacier National Park.)

To the east is a large forest that contain many miles of well-kept hiking trails. Route 1 does not have commercial traffic, and so the visitor will not be bothered with the grinding, lurching sounds of large trucks. Most visitors will be more interested in the coastline, than in the forests. The beach is a 15 minute walk down a slope from the motel. This is a perfect spot for relaxing, in an area that I consider to be a "holy land." I consider it to be a "holy land" because I have done a fair amount of large format photography (4x5 inch film format) of the tafoni stone formations at nearby Salt Point State Park, and I have exhibited my large color photos (20 X 24 inch prints) at various museums, e.g., Coyote Point Museum in San Mateo, CA.

A shortcoming of FORT ROSS LODGE is that there is no restaurant and no gift shop. However, there is a grocery located a half-minute drive to the south, along Route 1. Now regarding gifts, Mother Nature provides her own gifts for free. These take the form of things to see, e.g., seals, deer, and hawks flying overhead carrying fish in their talons.

The following documents some of the destinations near FORT ROSS LODGE. These destinations include Jenner, Fort Ross, and Salt Point State Park. Jenner features a marvelous sea stack (Goat Rock), and beyond that, a sea arch that is some distance in the ocean, and a spit of land populated by dozens of seals. Fort Ross features a restored Russian fort, with a real cannon that is ignited during guided tours, a lovely hike to the sea, and thousands of calla lilies. Salt Point State Park features the best tafoni on the entire California coast. Tafoni is a strange stone formation that is amazingly photogenic, where some of the formations take on abstract shapes, while others resemble gigantic insects, screaming lizards, honeycombs. Salt Point State park also is the site of Stump Beach. Although Stump Beach has an ugly name, it is as beautiful as many of the secluded beaches in Hawaii.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TomBrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you visit our lodge and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

The first time we came here, we stayed on the hill and could not have enjoyed it more. This time, we decided on a regular room with the assurance that we would be completely satisfied with a bigger hot tub and better view. Both untrue. The room was very small, the night stand holding the TV, microwave and mini fridge was broken. All shelfs were tilting and each appliance was was holding each shelf up. We were promised towels for each day which never arrived. There are quite a few other details about the room I won't go into, since every room is different, but the closets alone looked like port-o-potties.Lastly, we went to breakfast and were 20 minutes late for check out (keep in mind last time we were late the manager laughed it off) so we didn't rush. Our own fault, but we drive up to the manager walking out of our room claiming it was the "worst condition" she had ever seen. Three wine bottles and our clothing hardly could as "worst condition". We also left the room cleaner than when we arrived. The staff on your first visit will be amazing, aside from begging for a great review, which we did. This is not a horrible place, but I will never return considering we left feeling disrespected and uncomfortable about our surroundings. It's a very sad thing to say we went from loving a vacation spot to never wanting to return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaRomeo, Front Office Manager at Fort Ross Lodge, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
'We are very sorry to learn of your disappointing stay at our lodge.
It is not our policy to treat any of our customers in this manner.
We do want to let you know that the resident managers that you had an issue with are no longer working with us. Please consider another visit to meet our new innkeepers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
0.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
88 reviews
19.1 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,268 reviews
13.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
490 reviews
18.6 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
205 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Jenner Inn
The Jenner Inn
#1 of 1 in Jenner
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Ross Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Ross Lodge

Property: Fort Ross Lodge
Address: 20705 Highway 1, Jenner, CA 95450-9743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Ross Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
22 cozy, romantic rooms on the beautiful Sonoma coast. Each room is individually decorated and has all the comforts of home. Most rooms offer: Ocean View, Fireplace, private patio with BBQ, microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker, satellite TV with HBO, and DVD player. Some rooms offer private patio hot tub, or in room jacuzzi tub and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Fort Ross Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Ross Hotel Jenner
Fort Ross Jenner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing