We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sonoma Coast Getaway”
Review of Fort Ross Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fort Ross Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our third stay, the second at 'The Hill'. We wised up this trip and brought food for the fridge, and to barbeque. Room 19 has a hot tub on the patio, and is in the kid-free building. (The screen door was finicky and slid off it's track.) Last time we came the Store did not have much selection, but there was a wide selection of food this time, and we picked up a few things. The rooms have glass glasses and real coffee mugs! The hot water in the shower went hot and cold. The Sonoma Coast has few hotels/motels, and we've stayed in most of them. This is a good place to just relax and watch the ocean and wildlife.

Room Tip: Look on the website property map, call, and ask about the specifics of your room. All views are grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay the price for complete silence in the evening was well worth the price. Will definitely be back to stay at this little gem.
The management was kind and very pleasant almost invited her for dinner but she is married :(

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenschill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My husband found out about this place online and we spent a lovely weekend enjoying the coast in early April. We had one of the upper rooms with a balcony and tub for two with a view. I believe there was a sauna too, but we didn't use it.
We were arriving late, so we came prepared with wine, salami, cheese and crackers - it was great by the light of the fire!
The couple at the desk were friendly; they can certainly fill you in on what to do and where to eat.
This was a really nice get-away!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank EBTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We spent a summer weekend on the coast, staying for a second time at Fort Ross Lodge. The reservations were easy to make; the reception warm and welcoming. The room (on the Hill) was great - in sight and sound of the ocean. We settled in to our room with a king bed, kitchenette, wood-burning stove, hot tub and sauna in the room. The flat screen TV was never used as we preferred to sit on the balcony, which was equipped with a barbeque, to watch wild deer and enjoy the view of the ocean. We are already looking forward to our next visit.
The Lodge is close to historic Fort Ross, as well as Salt Point State Park and beaches, Kruse Rhododendron Reserve, Sea Ranch and Gualala.

Room Tip: Rooms on the hill are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MGorman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in a room with a king sized bed, fireplace (wood and firestarter provided!), ocean view, and private hot tub on the patio. It was quite a treat for us! We also had a lovely meal cooked on the grill on the deck, with charcoal and a chimney provided. We bought food to grill near Jenner (which is actually quite far from the hotel), but there is a small shop across the street that sells some things to grill and many other supplies that closes at 6pm. We did prepare in advance by bringing a couple dishes and utensils, however, so plan ahead! There is one nearby restaurant just north, called Alexanders at the Timber Cove Inn. Expensive but delicious. It is a beautiful area and the room was very comfortable.

I only have a couple negative comments. First, one day after our room being cleaned, out patio door was left open! I wasn't too worried since not many people are around, but all of our belongings were in the room! Plus a few bugs seemed to have wandered in. I was disappointed by this, though it could have just been a very rare error, who knows.The only other knock is very poor wireless internet and tv quality (though there were lots of channels!). I know the point of a getaway location like this is not to watch TV or surf the web, but the internet especially is kind of important when you want to look up directions or restaurants in the middle of nowhere with no cell reception! And I mean NO cell reception.

Besides those things, we had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: If you can, spring for an ocean view and private hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Fort Ross Lodge is a great place to stay for families. We stayed in a double queen suite that included a mini kitchen (with microwave, coffee, tea, sugar, and sink), full bathroom with deep tub and shower (plenty of towels, soap), the main room had a flat screen TV, a ceiling fan, and a room heater (quiet!). We slept like rocks. The room had vaulted ceilings with lots of windows to let in a lot of light. Off of our patio door we had our own private patio with chairs and a grill (charcoal included). The patio looked right out to the Pacific Ocean. Great view! The lodge provides all guests the use of a Wi-Fi sun-room, a hot tub (which was nice, and a steam room. There is a general store right across the street where you can buy anything you need. Also the gardening on the Lodge land is beautiful! We'd definitely stay at the Fort Ross Lodge again. The price is very reasonable for all that this Lodge offers. Don't forget to visit the historic Fort Ross park just down the road.

Room Tip: We stayed in room #9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our seventh wedding anniversary at this beautiful property. After an extensive online search through dozens of locations, we stumbled upon this quaint property with loads of personality. We were quite apprehensive at first since we don't have the pocketbook to travel to coastal destinations. After saving our coins and checking in to the lodge, we had no idea what was in store as we ventured up to the "hill". I cannot recommend this location enough to couples looking for a romantic, secluded getaway. First of all, there are no children allowed on the hill which in itself makes this a very attractive option for those seeking an opportunity to connect romantically. Secondly, the breathtaking view from the room literally makes your jaw drop to the ground. The list goes on and on. I would really recommend that married couples bring some wine, cheese, grapes, crackers, and champagne to snack on. Then, stop and get some fresh seafood on your way in as you pass through Bodega Bay. You can get fresh caught wild salmon at the tides wharf and cook it right on the grill at the lodge. You can bring some asparagus, or other veggies to grill. Just don't forget the tinfoil. Finally, let's talk about the romance of the in-room sauna and Jacuzzi. This is what really makes the room. You can just relax together and enjoy each other's company. There is also a nice fireplace. Room #24 is an amazing choice. It is on the top level on the corner and you get a gorgeous panoramic view. I would like to commend the owners of this property for the personality, beautiful décor, and the upkeep overall. We really enjoyed our trip and would love to come back sometime down the road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brooke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
0.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
127 reviews
19.1 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,599 reviews
13.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
522 reviews
18.6 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
211 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Jenner Inn
The Jenner Inn
#1 of 1 in Jenner
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Ross Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Ross Lodge

Address: 20705 Highway 1, Jenner, CA 95450-9743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Price Range: £125 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Ross Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
22 cozy, romantic rooms on the beautiful Sonoma coast. Each room is individually decorated and has all the comforts of home. Most rooms offer: Ocean View, Fireplace, private patio with BBQ, microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker, satellite TV with HBO, and DVD player. Some rooms offer private patio hot tub, or in room jacuzzi tub and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fort Ross Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Ross Hotel Jenner
Fort Ross Jenner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing