We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horribly Rude Managers!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Fort Ross Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fort Ross Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Certificate of Excellence
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horribly Rude Managers!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2007

The female manager was extremenly rude. I was with my mother and young children, trying to find a place because it was a very rainy and windy night and we were camping. During the course of filling out my paperwork to stay at this hotel, she called me a "Brat" more than four times. She said "I was acting like a brat, just like everyone else my age." (I am 36.) I finally told her I didn't need to stay at a place like this, and to debit my charge card.

Her behavior was totally unprovoked and I can't believe how managers can be in this business and treat innocent people, let alone customers, in this discourteous and desrespectful manner.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CaliforniaFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    85
    20
    20
    6
See reviews for
31
185
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2007

If you enjoy extreme rudeness without cause, from the very beginning of your stay, then this is the right place for you.
I was waiting for my husband near our car, and I was approached by a guy, the supposed "manager " of this facility, which asked me in a very unpleasant tone and manner: "What are you doing here?" and then sent me to park the car to another place twice, without explaining clearly what the problem was, and always with a negative and abrupt tone of voice. Then he saw my husband and start harassing him as well, for no reason at all.
We lasted there only about 5 minutes, asked for our money back and off we went!

I am Italian, my husband is American, we have been visiting other places in the US and throughout the world, in all kinds of different lodgings, and we have never been treated so poorly before. There is no reason for staying in a place where guests are not welcome at all, and for being treated with such hostility and rudeness!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Juicycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2006

Just got back from a weekend at the Fort Ross Lodge. It was great! We had an ocean front queen with our own hot tub. We never saw and barely heard our neighbors (only when we were on our patio and they were on theirs). Otherwise, we had all the privacy we could have wanted. When compared with the other hotels in the area (Timber Cove, Salt Point, etc.), we felt we got the best value for the money. Only wish they had a restaurant...

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AFandMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2006

When I called I requested a Non Smoking Room, and was amazed to hear all rooms contains ash tray's. Our bathroom screen had a large hole in it and the Sliding patio door, which is badly need for cross ventilation, was absent of a screen as well. Our bathroom was't as clean as I would have imagined. The room was otherwise, cute and basically clean
My largest concern is the fact, they just open the door and walk in to see if you are still in the room, this happned to me twice, when my husband had left for a walk. And both entry's were made by men. I am considering the Timber Cove inn next visit, I had dinner there, and it seemed lovely and you could hear the ocean, one of my reasons for staying out there.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antelope, ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2006

We've stayed here a few times and love it. The best rooms are those with the hot tub on the patio. Very relaxing waking up to the sound of the ocean. The grounds and view are beautiful. My favorite treat are the raccoons that come to visit at night! The staff are also very friendly. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tobrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2005

It was difficult to pick a place to stay in that area because there were so many different reviews about every option. I picked this place because it had the least negative reviews and the comments seemed to say "as long as u don't expect much, it's fine." We were actually pleasantly surprised because there was a small bottle of white wine, 3 apples, a cutting board and knife on the table when we entered. That was a nice touch. The store across the street is very handy and is now open till 8 on Fridays and Saturdays. There are refrigerators in every room which means u can buy/bring food and store it instead of eating out all the time. We payed a lil extra for the fireplace, and we're glad we did. It was chilly and foggy and it added a nice touch and the wood and matches were there for the using. The bathroom was actually very roomy and not as badly kept as I expected. Everything was pretty clean except for the lampshades next to the bed - they need a good vacuuming!! The one bad thing was the bed sheets, and it's a cheap thing to replace. I'm not asking for 500 thread count, but these were OLD and were covered with lint bumps that made me itch when I moved. If you book a room with a view, don't always expect one because of the fog. Check out the weather for the time of year. You'd be paying for nothing. Eat at the River's End in Jenner for an awesome meal, there is nothing around until Timber Cove Lodge above Fort Ross and the reviews aren't great. River's End is upscale in food but welcomes everyone.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City and LA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2005

Amazing location , we stayed on The Hill in the Bridal Suite, more on that later. We looked out over an amazing sunset view , deer came right up to the building and no one else was anywhere in sight. So , for the money $300 a night incl. tax, it was worth it for the location alone. However the "deluxe suite" simply wasn't. The room is enormous and has an ensuite Jacuzzi and sauna, but is horribly decorated a la 1976- and the bedding is atrocious , percale floral sheets and A HORRIBLE comforter. For a few hundred dollars they could buy some lovely simple cotton high thread count, white linens and towels and it would improve the place 100 per cent. It was so dated and funky and not in a good way. Vey secluded though, no phones in room, satellite TV , and a few minutes from a fairly decent restaurant at Timber Cove. I peeked in at some of the other rooms and we seemed to have the most luxurious, so don't come expecting a deluxe hotel, if you expect a rather tawdry looking bachelor pad - Hugh Hefner sevnties style with faded and dated amenities , but one of the world's most spectacular locations. You'll have fun but it could be so much better with just a little upkeep and modernization.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank EMAWEST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
0.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
19.1 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
13.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Jenner Inn
The Jenner Inn
#1 of 1 in Jenner
3.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ocean Cove Lodge Bar & Grill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Ross Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Ross Lodge

Property: Fort Ross Lodge
Address: 20705 Highway 1, Jenner, CA 95450-9743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fort Ross Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
22 cozy, romantic rooms on the beautiful Sonoma coast. Each room is individually decorated and has all the comforts of home. Most rooms offer: Ocean View, Fireplace, private patio with BBQ, microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker, satellite TV with HBO, and DVD player. Some rooms offer private patio hot tub, or in room jacuzzi tub and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Fort Ross Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Ross Hotel Jenner
Fort Ross Jenner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing