We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting place to visit with significant history”

Fort Ross State Historic Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$10.00*
and up
Fort Ross State Historic Park Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Jenner
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: As of November 3rd, we are open only on Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, and Mondays (closed on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays) through March 15th. In addition we are open on state holidays: January 1 & 19, February 16, March 31, May 25, July 4th, September 7, November 11, Closed Thanksgiving & Christmas Day. Open December 22nd, 23rd, 24th and from December 26th to January 2nd. Because of Sacramento budget cuts, our days of operations vary with the season. Originally built by Russians in 1812, Fort Ross became a state park in 1909. Today the 3,400 acre park offers pristine natural landscapes as well as historic structures and exhibits that bring to life the former Imperial Russian settlement, early California Ranch era, and the Kashia territory. Our visitor center showcases a museum, bookshop, and an 18-minute video introducing the park's history. Some points of interest: Russian Orthodox chapel, replica Russian-style windmill, historic buildings and exhibits, cannons, historic cemetery and orchard, and a San Andreas Fault marker. You can also enjoy Sandy Cove Beach and numerous trails. Activities include hiking, swimming, marine mammal watching, and more.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very interesting place to visit with significant history”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a great place to visit if you have an interest in history, or just want a great ocean view and a walk. The beautifully maintained grounds and buildings preserve a former important era for all to enjoy, and the visitor center also offers a great movie and exhibits. This is an especially good stop if you have children given the wide open spaces and access to the buildings, but would be fun for anybody. Unfortunately, due to California budget cuts, this may not be open if you are coming through during the week, so be sure to confirm ahead of time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CFMWvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hello CFMWvisitor,

Thank you for your review. I am so happy to hear you felt our grounds were well kept, and our visitor center informative. Thank you.

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    82
    20
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Informative journey back in time”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

To walk through Fort Ross was a wonderful step back I. Time, we were fortunate that a guide there opened the store and room us back in time, looking at the forts store, how the Russians traded supplies with passing sailors and how they worked with the alaskans

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hello travelbug1959,

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Fort Ross all the way from Australia!

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fascinating look into Sonoma Coast history.”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We spent three hours wandering the grounds of Fort Ross, which is beautifully maintained. The museum is very well presented, with lots of information about the Russian presence, lumber business, and the Native American history of the coast. I was especially impressed by the detailed sea charts made by the Russian explorers and used by nearly everyone who followed for safe navigation. Easy access, great history lesson!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Winterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Winterfield,

Thank you for such a positive review. I am so happy to hear you were impressed by our clean grounds and informative Visitor Center. Thank you.

I hope you are able to come back again some day.

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“California's Russian history”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised by this bit of history which was previously unknown to us. We learned about Russia's attempt to establish a permanent trade post on California's coast in support of their Alaskan colonization attempts.

The fort has been recreated around one original building left from the time period. We were able to see and experience what it must have been like to live there during that time period. While we were there, we heard some visitors who we thought were speaking in Russian to each other, which gave an air of authenticity to our visit. There is a small museum/gift shop at the entrance and we learned about the Alaskan Inuits who were brought to the area by the Russians to be their workforce.

Fort Ross is an excellent place, if you like to learn about history, and we highly recommend a visit to it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CA2rista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear CA2rista,

Thank you for your review and pictures. I see from them you were here on a beautiful day. Great tips for future guests.

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“interesting and historic”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

You can't really beat a lovely drive up the coast and the payoff is a historic fort with cool old Russian architecture. Check out the visitor center - you won't believe the boat loader model (i mean, really!?!?!). The little cove is charming (picnic on the beach!). We hiked across the pasture and saw a number of seals on the rocks. Overall, a lovely afternoon for $8. Be sure to stop and take in the views along the way!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pattyfabul0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hello pattyfabul0us,

Thank you for your review. Full of great tips for future visitors, perfect. Come back any time!

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Ross State Historic Park also viewed

 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 

Been to Fort Ross State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing