We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem on the Coast”

Fort Ross State Historic Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$10.00*
and up
Fort Ross State Historic Park Walking Tour
More Info
US$155.00*
and up
Guided Kayak Tour on Russian River
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Jenner
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: As of November 3rd, we are open only on Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, and Mondays (closed on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays) through March 15th. In addition we are open on state holidays: January 1 & 19, February 16, March 31, May 25, July 4th, September 7, November 11, Closed Thanksgiving & Christmas Day. Open December 22nd, 23rd, 24th and from December 26th to January 2nd. Because of Sacramento budget cuts, our days of operations vary with the season. Originally built by Russians in 1812, Fort Ross became a state park in 1909. Today the 3,400 acre park offers pristine natural landscapes as well as historic structures and exhibits that bring to life the former Imperial Russian settlement, early California Ranch era, and the Kashia territory. Our visitor center showcases a museum, bookshop, and an 18-minute video introducing the park's history. Some points of interest: Russian Orthodox chapel, replica Russian-style windmill, historic buildings and exhibits, cannons, historic cemetery and orchard, and a San Andreas Fault marker. You can also enjoy Sandy Cove Beach and numerous trails. Activities include hiking, swimming, marine mammal watching, and more.
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stopped at Fort Ross as we wended our way up the coastal route and were pleasantly surprised by this historic site. The ocean views are outstanding from the fort which has been restored along with a Russian house and church inside the fort itself. A class of middle school aged children were visiting for an overnight and participating in the routine day of a 19th century fort in a Russian run militia settlement, so we observed their drills, cooking over open pit fires, and sentry duty. The docents working with the children answered our many questions as well.
We ended up visiting for about 3 hours and could have visited longer. We did not explore the graveyard...maybe our next visit! There is no shop for purchasing food or water nor are there any souvenirs available if you like that. Bathrooms are portable toilets. There are picnic tables for you to use.

1  Thank Karebearnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Karebearnurse,

Thank you for your review. So good to hear you spent so much time adventuring the grounds and got to see the ELP ( environmental living program) children.

The cemetery is beautiful, I hope you are able to see it someday.

I'm so sorry you missed out wonderful bookshop! It is up next to the parking lot, combined with the museum & visitor center. It's a really great little shop, full of postcards, guide, history & children's books, jewelry, cloths, Russian & American snacks, etc etc.

I hope you make it back so you can see all the treasures for yourself.

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 194 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

Lots of people drive by Fort Ross as they travel on the beautiful coastal road but it's well worth taking the time to stop and visit this fascinating site. The setting is gorgeous as are the buildings and everything is very well presented.
There is an a farmhouse which is only open at certain times which also looked interesting.
We spent several hours and could happily have filled half a day; you can walk across to the community's graveyard too.
Would have liked the chance to buy postcards or guidebook on site.

1  Thank yankeelass57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hello yankeelass57,

Thank you for your review. Great to see past visitors encouraging future guests to visit. It really is a special place, but easily missed.

I am sorry to hear you missed our bookshop. Perhaps it had already closed for the day? We have a wonderful selection of postcards and guide books, along with many other souvenirs and goodies.

The Bookshop is open 10 am - 430 to 5 pm

I hope you can make it back someday.

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We love to visit this historic site and remember that Russia is a neighbor, who visited this area along with the easterners who claimed the land from the original people.

2  Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hello Suzanne B,

Thank you for your review. Since you came in March, we have some good news!

Fort Ross is now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Visited Ft. Ross a number of years ago, and found it to be very interesting, from an historical perspective. Returned recently to visit again. Unfortunately, probably because of budget cuts, the park is only open for a few hours on the weekends now. What a disappointment for tourists who are only in the area for a short while.

3  Thank Kalamariverrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hi Kalamariverrat,

Thank you for your review. You are spot on with your theory. We have been operating under "service reductions" since the budget crisis of 2009, and it's been very hard for all of us. Fortunately I have good news, starting April 1st we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am - 4:30 pm, through Labor Day 2014.
We are all so happy to be open to the public once again, because after all that is what a State park is all about.
Would you please consider updating your review so we are not penalized for the closures? We are a small nonprofit that supports Fort Ross, and these reviews are important to us.
Thanks for all your support!

Sondra K Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A fun little side trip…interesting fort. A little history of Russian settlers in California. The fort has interesting architecture.

1  Thank janasilvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hello janasilvey,

Thank you for your review. I am happy you made it all the way here from PA!

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Ross State Historic Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Ross State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing