We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lounged on the Rocks Next to Wild Baby Seals”

Fort Ross State Historic Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.00*
and up
Fort Ross State Historic Park Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Jenner
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: As of November 3rd, we are open only on Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, and Mondays (closed on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays) through March 15th. In addition we are open on state holidays: January 1 & 19, February 16, March 31, May 25, July 4th, September 7, November 11, Closed Thanksgiving & Christmas Day. Open December 22nd, 23rd, 24th and from December 26th to January 2nd. Because of Sacramento budget cuts, our days of operations vary with the season. Originally built by Russians in 1812, Fort Ross became a state park in 1909. Today the 3,400 acre park offers pristine natural landscapes as well as historic structures and exhibits that bring to life the former Imperial Russian settlement, early California Ranch era, and the Kashia territory. Our visitor center showcases a museum, bookshop, and an 18-minute video introducing the park's history. Some points of interest: Russian Orthodox chapel, replica Russian-style windmill, historic buildings and exhibits, cannons, historic cemetery and orchard, and a San Andreas Fault marker. You can also enjoy Sandy Cove Beach and numerous trails. Activities include hiking, swimming, marine mammal watching, and more.
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We climbed rocks at the shoreline while several seals followed us in the water. At one point I was able to rest on the rocks with a few baby seals lounging nearby. Very pristine. The park is an old Russian settlement and there are several buildings you can enter to see how the settlers lived. The beach is one of the most beautiful, but challenging beaches I ever been to on the west coast. Beautiful.

Thank CletusMaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hello CletusMaximus,

Thank you for your review. Great to see how far some of our guests come from!

The beaches here really are magical. So glad you were able to have such a special experience with the seals!

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 189 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

It was nice and beautiful to walk around the park and check out all the historical buildings. Would have liked to see the campground, but it was closed.

Thank Deserea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hello Deserea,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear Reef Campground was still closed when you visited. You just missed it. The campground is now open on a first come first serve basis.

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Some of the earlier reviews reflect the California budget crunch, when many State Parks were either completely or partially closed. Fort Ross is closed Tues and Wed during the summer but open the rest of the days.

We started with the Visitor's Center, which houses a very good museum and interpretive center. There is a lot of reading, but it does an excellent job of describing the complete history of this interesting fort. There are some great old artifacts such as some hardware bits from the original fort, as well as a 200+ year old cannon. The display about the shipwreck of the S.S. Pomona has little to do with the fort but was interesting. We spent probably an hour in this section.

Outside, there is only one original building, which has changed over the years. We couldn't quite match up the old photos (it was supposedly an 'inn' for awhile) with the building we walked in, as it didn't seem to be laid out right for an inn, even years ago! Regardless, it was interesting to see the huge hand hewn logs here.

The rest of the buildings are reproductions, and they are very well done. It was raining hard when we were there so we didn't wander around too much. We walked back to the parking area via old highway 1. The road was re-routed about 40 or so years ago but we could still see the center line! If you have a handicapped plaque, you can drive down and park right next to the fort.

Cost is $8 per car, and you self pay at the entrance booth. Definitely worth a visit!

1  Thank half-Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hello half-Brit,

Thank you for the great review! It's wonderful to finally see our current open status reflected in our reviews. Thank you for being the first one!!

I will add for others to read, in case they missed it:

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We camped at Salt Point State Park nearby and with our camping tag were able to also include this spot....an advantage to camping at CA state parks is that your tag gains you entry for free to all other state park sites for the next day. We took advantage and were very glad we did. The Fort Ross site includes mostly reconstructed buildings but also one original Russian log building....hand hewn logs all over the site and so you can love the construction in addition to the incredible views of the Pacific, sounds of seals on nearby rocks, and gorgeous flowers everywhere. Oh, the Fort provides a fascinating history of Russian settlement in early CA. Beautiful spot!

Thank copilotpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hello copilotpreston,

Thank you for your review. Great tip! It's not just for campers though, if one pays to get in one State Park, they can use that same tag to get in to any for the rest of the day. Something I find few visitors know.

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Fort Ross is the furthest north Russian incursion back in the 19th century. It has been rebuilt, and is an excellent historic record of a little-known part of California history.

One thing to know if you're an abalone diver - it's now off-limits. So I think many of those who would have visited will now look elsewhere.

Thank PhantomPhlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarichka_1812, Public Relations Manager at Fort Ross State Historic Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Hello PhantomPhlyer,

Thank you for your review. That's the first time I've seen any mention of abalone diving here, and I think that's an excellent piece of info to share for future guests. It's true, it is closed. We are trying to give them a rest due to their die off a year + ago.

Thank you again.

A bit of good news from Fort Ross, we are now open Thursday through Monday 10 am- 430 pm until Labor Day 2014!
We are all so pleased to be open more days for our visitors.
Thanks for all your support!

Best,

Sondra Hunter
Fort Ross Conservancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Ross State Historic Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Ross State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing