We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dog Friendly, Beautiful Beach and Easy To Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wright's Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jenner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wright's Beach
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Napa, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dog Friendly, Beautiful Beach and Easy To Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Wright's Beach is dog friendly, clean and easy to park. However, do not go swimming or put your feet in the water. The waves are too strong at this location. If you want to go in the water with your dog, go South of Bodega Bay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antelope, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

This camp ground called Wrights Beach is almost a secret. Unless someone tells you about it or you stumble on it, you may not ever experience the true experience of camping on the ocean. Any of the ocean side spots are great. There are no hook ups but you can get water. Bring a long hose depending on where you are. You have to shower at the campground called Bodega Dunes. Bathrooms are just toilets at Wrights Beach. If you love being by the ocean, love the sound of waves; bring fire wood and warm clothes. It's a wonderful place to camp.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank G0ffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hood River, OR
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Ive camped up and down the California Coast, there arent too many places that allow you to camp right on the beach, Wright Beach does. Book your sites early and get one right on the beach and you wont be disapointed. Overall the campground is clean and bathrooms are clean. There are some decent hiking trails up the coast line that can be accessed from the campground. This was a nice surprise and I would go back in a minute.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank hrdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

My son and I finally snagged a camping spot here. We've had day-trips for rock-collecting here, but were never able to get a camping space before. It is a small campground with a seemingly loyal following.

The beach contains a great selection of jasper, chert and agate pebbles -- great for rock-hounds and psammophiles. It is also a dog-friendly beach.

The weather in October is perfect: sunny and warm with the sun low enough in the sky so sun-screen is not required.

As several people have mentioned, the surf is dangerous, but the beach is well-posted. I feel safe rock-hounding with my son. All that is needed is common sense and some respect for the power of the ocean. I can't wait for my next trip.

Room Tip: There are no rooms. It is a campground designed mainly for RVs, but we were fine in a tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank stephan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

We camped this weekend at Wright's Beach and were not disappointed. Great, small campground right on the beach. Sites # 1 - 10 are all on the beach, but 11-18 are also very close. There are some reviews about the danger of swimming on the beach, which are true. That said, Northern California water is not really for swimming (too cold!) so it was a non-issue for us, even with our two kids. One note - this is the kind of beach that gets socked in with fog quite often, so you should come if you want a misty "angry ocean" experience bundled up (not a swimsuit by the calm bay). We loved it!

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

We have never camped "on the beach" b/4. This trip was amazing. Restrooms are very clean however, as one other reviewer commented, cannot understand the smoking in the restrooms...oh well. Other than the drunk guy who stationed himself outside the restrooms it was just fine. The camp hosts are not too friendly but are eager to sell you firewood...they don't offer any "local" info other than
it is their job for the summer and then they go back home...where ever that might be...Be sure to use the food cabinets cuz if you don't you will definitely be raided! And...raccoons do kind of sound like cats in the night..they hiss and spit, etc. One of our group was somewhat disturbed by the crashing waves...she got up at 1am becuz she thought the ocean "was getting closer"...it is loud but when you place it at the back of your mind it does lull you to a restful sleep..We already have reservations to return! You really have to try this campground...be prepared for rain and wind and FUN (take a sturdy kite)

Room Tip: Reserve way in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sqsydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
198 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

My nephew's wedding was creatively done on a nearby bluff overlooking the ocean, and the wedding party ate cake and stayed overnight at Wright's Beach. Online rates are $35-45 per night. The very clean bathroom facilities include flush toilets and sinks with hot and cold water, but there are no showers. A spigot provides water for drinking and cooking. Campsites include paved parking pads, picnic table, fire pit, and lockable wood cabinet. Sites are hidden in the shrubs at the base of the bluff. We thought the paving was overdone--less would have made more space for easy pitching of tents. Other than that, we loved the campground. The beach is the real star, with its rugged beauty and powerful surf. This is not a swimming beach (dangerous surf), but rather one for walking, lounging, flying kites, and emptying the mind. Wright's Beach feels like an escape into the wilderness, even though you're minutes away from civilization.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B_Pope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
0.0 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
0.0 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean View Lodge
Ocean View Lodge
#5 of 23 in Fort Bragg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wright's Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wright's Beach

Property: Wright's Beach
Address: Jenner, CA
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Jenner
Number of rooms: 258
Also Known As:
Wright`s Beach Hotel Jenner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing