We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want sophisticated accommodation don't go here...”
Review of River's End Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jenner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River's End Resort
Reviewed 29 May 2013

But if you want a fantastic location (Russian River and sea views) and comfortable lodgings with a wonderful restaurant on site - this is the place for you!!

As we walked up to our cabin the first thing I noticed was half of the number 3 was missing and the door was peeling and faded, so first impression was not ideal! Bedroom has deep brown pile carpet, furnishings generally on the 70s style, bed was comfortable though husband felt too soft. Fridge for wine cooling; wine glasses and coffee/coffee maker on hand - great. The shower room is a bit of a let-down - jaded/tired. Very thin/small towels - bring your own.

But hey, what about the balcony and the amazing, amazing view - nothing else really matters does it?! Restaurant was terrific, though quite expensive, good service - a little too fast if you don't slow them down! You do need to book the restaurant.

Room Tip: We had the smallest cabin, there are larger and more expensive cabins also - pictures on are their w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

While it's not elegant or fancy, it is definitely special. Perched on a hill overlooking the juncture of the Russian River and Pacific Ocean, this small inn is like no other. We loved Room #5 which is in the same building as the restaurant and shares the same fabulous view. It is comfortably furnished and has a small, inviting deck. We will definitely return to this gem.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pearsoninmarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I chose to spend my birthday at Rivers End in early April when planning our holiday from New Zealand. We had spent a lot of time around the San Francisco area visiting my husbands family and friends and I knew that at some stage we would need some "quiet time". Jenner was perfect. The drive from SF through the country side and quaint towns to get to Rivers End was beautiful. I had chosen Cabin 3, it is the smallest but had all that we needed. We loved the rustic appearance and feel and oh the view in the morning (we had arrived at night) was fantastic. We could hear the waves crashing while we went to sleep and to awake to seeing seals and numerous birds feeding in the river and to watch the huge waves was pure bliss for us. We had taken our own breakfast supplies and sat out on the deck to breath in the beautiful air and scenery. We had arrived on a cold evening, the heater had been turned on which was very welcomed. The bed was cozy. We only stayed two nights but we both agreed that out of all the places we stayed, this was where we should have spent more time. My husband had lived in the SF area for many years and had never been to Jenner so it was also a treat for him. We had my birthday dinner at the restaurant, the view once again was tranquil and amazing, however we both struggled with the richness of our food. I am vegetarian and it was a challenge to find something suitable. The service was good.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the smallest but for us it was adequate, we don't require a lot of room and we knew it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhangareiSioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Both the restaurant and the Inn are a little pricy but the view is special and I can allow a lot of faults to be ignored because of that. The food in the restaurant is only ok, the rooms are not exactly luxe, but seeing the sun set in the afternoon and seeing it rise in the morning illuminating the ocean it can be quite magical. Avoid in the fog but that is often difficult to predict.

Room Tip: I would suggest you avoid room 5 (I think) under the restaurant. A nice room but the view is not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAHSanAnselmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We recently stayed at the Rivers End on April 3, 2013. We stopped just to check out the restraint, but it was closed since it is the off season. We asked the lady at the front desk for more information about the cabins since my husband had looked into them, but the pictures were not very detailed. She offered to let us see the room. We checked out Cabin 1. It was small and quaint, but what sold us on the night was the moment that I opened the sliding door to the balcony. The only sounds I could hear we're the waves crashing against the rocks, the seagulls, and the seals barking. We knew that this was exactly what we were looking for. We were informed that since the restraint was closed, we would probably be the only ones there.......again, we were on our honeymoon :) this was more that ok.

I can not fully express how perfect this place was for us. Yes, it is small, quiet, and there is no phone service....but why would you want that when you are trying to have a perfect, peaceful getaway.

Room Tip: The only reason the fitness center is "terrible" is because I accidentally clicked it on m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mommiesteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Finally, after passing River's End Resort for YEARS, a friend, who returns every year to stay, eat at the marvelous restaurant, and enjoy the peaceful tranquility, beauty, ocean waves, wildlife, sounds, etc., convinced me to accompany him this time.

Located on the cliffside overlooking where the Russian River meets the Pacific Ocean, you need to disconnect from electronics, sit down in one of the veranda chairs facing the ocean, and just relax. Minutes later, you begin to smell the sea air, and you begin to relax. I was blown away by the panoramic ocean views, cozy fireplace, firepit below where we had a smores party, and watching the sun set magestically. To top it off, dinner in the adjoining restaurant was amazing: we enjoyed thefresh crab tasting menu prix fixe, with wonderful wine pairings, each subsequent course more fantastic than the one before. The only problem I had was I couldn't finish the decadent chocolate souffle dessert! Themulti-hued sunset finished the perfect day.

Host Bert Rangel was hand's on helpful, friendly, the consummate host. He helped with suggestions for morning coffee at the locals' coffee shop at the bottom of the hill, and continued to make our stay perfect. '

What an amazing place, River's End.

Room Tip: Rooms are all with ocean views... decks, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daltes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Give up your cell phone and wifi and RELAX and ENJOY the amazing view of the Russian River and the Pacific ocean. We watched osprey, sea lions and a beautiful sunset. The sound of the waves, Seattle's Best coffee, a bathroom with a view. If I didn't have to drive on those beautiful but terrifing roads, I would go to River's End again and again! Loved, loved, loved it!! We stayed in the room under the restaurant which was quiet and charming. They also have private cabins with more ammenities (which we didn't need)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
10 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
142 reviews
9.2 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
376 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
535 reviews
22.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
787 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Jenner Inn
The Jenner Inn
#1 of 1 in Jenner
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's End Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's End Resort

Address: 11048 Hwy. 1, Jenner, CA 95450
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Jenner
Price Range: £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
River`s End Hotel Jenner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing