We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed!”
Review of River's End Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jenner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River's End Resort
Warwick, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Years ago we had dinner at the Rivers End. It was an enchanting setting. Dinner there is still wonderful, as we went back August 2013. However, they have added cabins. We thought it would be a wonderful place to stay. I had read about gardens and of course the amazing view of the Russian River meeting the Pacific Ocean. Well, there were no gardens to speak of and the view, although beautiful, is marred by the parking lot below filled with old ratty cars. The door on the cabin is old and appears to be rotting. It did not inspire confidence. There was no cell service or Internet and no phone in the room should an emergency occur. A sign in the room said to go up and use the pay phone in front of the restaurant. We were so disappointed for we had such high hopes. So... Be sure to have dinner in the restaurant, but do not stay there!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    28
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
3
73
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Galt, California
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed in cabin #5 and it was sublime. The room was nicely decorated and we had the best view of the ocean and the Russian River. We also saw a whale and many really keen birds. We had dinner at the restaurant and it was the best. They also make bloody marys for which to die! The purpose of the trip was to shop at Jim and Willy's in Duncans Mills, which we did. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: We loved #5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weyesowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

But if you want a fantastic location (Russian River and sea views) and comfortable lodgings with a wonderful restaurant on site - this is the place for you!!

As we walked up to our cabin the first thing I noticed was half of the number 3 was missing and the door was peeling and faded, so first impression was not ideal! Bedroom has deep brown pile carpet, furnishings generally on the 70s style, bed was comfortable though husband felt too soft. Fridge for wine cooling; wine glasses and coffee/coffee maker on hand - great. The shower room is a bit of a let-down - jaded/tired. Very thin/small towels - bring your own.

But hey, what about the balcony and the amazing, amazing view - nothing else really matters does it?! Restaurant was terrific, though quite expensive, good service - a little too fast if you don't slow them down! You do need to book the restaurant.

Room Tip: We had the smallest cabin, there are larger and more expensive cabins also - pictures on are their w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belvedere, California
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

While it's not elegant or fancy, it is definitely special. Perched on a hill overlooking the juncture of the Russian River and Pacific Ocean, this small inn is like no other. We loved Room #5 which is in the same building as the restaurant and shares the same fabulous view. It is comfortably furnished and has a small, inviting deck. We will definitely return to this gem.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearsoninmarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I chose to spend my birthday at Rivers End in early April when planning our holiday from New Zealand. We had spent a lot of time around the San Francisco area visiting my husbands family and friends and I knew that at some stage we would need some "quiet time". Jenner was perfect. The drive from SF through the country side and quaint towns to get to Rivers End was beautiful. I had chosen Cabin 3, it is the smallest but had all that we needed. We loved the rustic appearance and feel and oh the view in the morning (we had arrived at night) was fantastic. We could hear the waves crashing while we went to sleep and to awake to seeing seals and numerous birds feeding in the river and to watch the huge waves was pure bliss for us. We had taken our own breakfast supplies and sat out on the deck to breath in the beautiful air and scenery. We had arrived on a cold evening, the heater had been turned on which was very welcomed. The bed was cozy. We only stayed two nights but we both agreed that out of all the places we stayed, this was where we should have spent more time. My husband had lived in the SF area for many years and had never been to Jenner so it was also a treat for him. We had my birthday dinner at the restaurant, the view once again was tranquil and amazing, however we both struggled with the richness of our food. I am vegetarian and it was a challenge to find something suitable. The service was good.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the smallest but for us it was adequate, we don't require a lot of room and we knew it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhangareiSioux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Anselmo, California
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Both the restaurant and the Inn are a little pricy but the view is special and I can allow a lot of faults to be ignored because of that. The food in the restaurant is only ok, the rooms are not exactly luxe, but seeing the sun set in the afternoon and seeing it rise in the morning illuminating the ocean it can be quite magical. Avoid in the fog but that is often difficult to predict.

Room Tip: I would suggest you avoid room 5 (I think) under the restaurant. A nice room but the view is not as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAHSanAnselmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We recently stayed at the Rivers End on April 3, 2013. We stopped just to check out the restraint, but it was closed since it is the off season. We asked the lady at the front desk for more information about the cabins since my husband had looked into them, but the pictures were not very detailed. She offered to let us see the room. We checked out Cabin 1. It was small and quaint, but what sold us on the night was the moment that I opened the sliding door to the balcony. The only sounds I could hear we're the waves crashing against the rocks, the seagulls, and the seals barking. We knew that this was exactly what we were looking for. We were informed that since the restraint was closed, we would probably be the only ones there.......again, we were on our honeymoon :) this was more that ok.

I can not fully express how perfect this place was for us. Yes, it is small, quiet, and there is no phone service....but why would you want that when you are trying to have a perfect, peaceful getaway.

Room Tip: The only reason the fitness center is "terrible" is because I accidentally clicked it on m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommiesteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
10.0 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
99 reviews
9.2 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
310 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
496 reviews
22.9 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
769 reviews
10.0 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River's End Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River's End Resort

Property: River's End Resort
Address: 11048 Hwy. 1, Jenner, CA 95450
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Jenner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
River`s End Hotel Jenner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing