We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat on the Mendocino Coast”

Ocean Cove Lodge Bar and Grill
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Jenner
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Pinole, CA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great place to eat on the Mendocino Coast”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

In the area between Bodega Bay and Mendocino on the Mendocino Coast, there is a dirth of restaurants, but one comfortable, cozy, and scenic oasis stands out. The Ocean Cove Lodge Bar & Grill has great food, comfy and casual ambience, beautiful scenery, and a staff who are truly people focused. Although found on a section of road where not a lot is happening, this is a great place to stop and stay awhile.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    23
    12
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Tasty Dinner and Live Music with view of ocean”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Very good food and friendly, fun staff. We had dinner and stayed for entertainment. Ordered cod fish tacos and turkey burger, while enjoying view. Reasonable selection of wine, draft beers and liquors. To our very pleasant surprise, two guitar champions serenaded us on the deck, Todd Hallawell and Robin Kessinger. Very fun. I'd come here again. FYI: Ocean Cove is approx. a 30 minute drive north of the tiny hamlet of Jenner and 2 miles past Timber Cove Lodge. Immediately adjacent to the east side of the Coastal Highway. Pleasant view across road and bluff to the ocean. Outdoor seating (which is a bit chilly as is typ. in Northern California) left me wishing for an outdoor fireplace or heaters.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Designer-at-Large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Charming staff, beautiful view”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My girlfriend and I stopped here for the night on a road trip up highway 1. We hadn't made any reservations, so we just picked the lodge that seemed that had the most charming appearance. It was quite late when we arrived, but as soon as we had parked the car we were greeted by the manager (Tim) and given information on rates and services. We booked a room for the night, and since the kitchen had already closed, Tim called the chef to arrange some dinner for us.

Food was good, bar was cosy, rooms for comfortable, staff was friendly and the view is spectacular. Just a few miles south we had spotted a few grey whales, so whale watching is probably possible from the bar on a lucky day. All in all a great experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LewisMogridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California, United States
1 review
“This place is a hidden jem for the budget minded Traveler!”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

First off, this place has great clam chowder and live music! Not to mention great views and a friendly staff. We also stayed in the motel and the rooms weren't huge but they were really clean, and had a neat little electric fireplace. Will come here again. And it's a third of the price of the nearby Shelter Cove.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chandler P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gualala
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good place to stop driving up Highway One north of Bodega Bay”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

There are not a lot of places to stop for food or drink on California's Highway One between Jenner and The Sea Ranch. Although the Timber Cove lodge is an option, nearby is this friendly bar and grill. It is more informal than the Lodge and the food is good and reasonably priced. We thought the clam chowder was particularly to our taste and the calamari appetizer exceptional. They have a full bar and were, in the past, known for their cocktails. The location when going north, is just after the twistiest part of the highway so we have stopped here in the past to allow passengers to recover who are showing signs of motion sickness. The restaurant has been re-opened under new management and with a name change after years of decline and neglect. Now it is back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean Cove Lodge Bar and Grill also viewed

Jenner, Sonoma County
 
Jenner, Sonoma County
Jenner, Sonoma County
 

Been to Ocean Cove Lodge Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing