We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for great food, view & drinks at a great price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Cove Lodge Bar & Grill
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Come for great food, view & drinks at a great price.”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

If you remember the Salt Point Lodge & Grill (and its owner) of years past, Ocean Cove Bar & Grill is a re-do of the best moments, while avoiding the miserable experiences provided by a subsequent owner. Thankfully, original owner has repurchased and made huge changes; hence the new name. As of 7/14 they're also serving breakfast at 9am. Restaurant, bar and patio all have full-on views.

The high points: Delicious breakfast, homemade biscuits, strong dark-roast coffee, attentive service, clean, remodeled dining room, $5 Bloody Mary, ocean view.

Repeat: $5 Bloody Mary. Generous pour, with freshly made mix. And, with a million dollar view. Our eggs & potatoes breakfast, around $7, was excellent. Easily the best breakfast, at a great price, in 30 miles.

If you're there on Sunday morning, there's a farmer's market from 10am-noon at nearby Fort Ross School.

Room Tip: My review is only for the Bar & Grill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    22
    22
    5
    11
See reviews for
21
46
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 2 days on our anniversary and have to say that Tom was fantastic. He was very polite, courteous and very friendly. He made our stay great. There are only 16 rooms with 2 upstairs that have private balcony and hot tubs. We had a upstairs room with private deck with hot tub facing the ocean. The view was fantastic. The room was very comfortable with a frig, microwave and coffee maker. In the morning there was fresh coffee and pastries, especially carrot cake that was really good. They have been remodeling for about 2 years and it is really nice. There are swings and a slide for the kids and a hot tub for the guests to use. Also there is a bar and grill on site. I would definitely recommend this to other people and family to stay. We will definitely be going back there again

Room Tip: Get room 17. It is upstairs with private balcony. Really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This place is 17 miles North of Jenner. We booked through Expedia for the standard room and paid $195 per night plus 21.45 (tax). Nowhere did I read that this place was 17 miles North of Jenner. We drove back and forth to find it. The sign in front says 69 and up so for the standard room I would have paid $69.00. So if we book through Expedia just to know that you have a room available ahead of time should one pay almost three times the price? I would give 4 stars if the price was 69 to 100. That was the first night of our vacation and felt cheated. The owner was nice but after seeing the price we paid did not have the decency to give us his best room. By the way the place was almost empty. I saw only 2 cars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rajalakshmi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jenner hotels

Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Not sure where to start. This is a 70's motel that other than a flat screen TV hasn't left the 70's. I won't go into the history suffice to say it's a long one.
Pros.. not really on the beach but across the road with a decent ocean view. GREAT bar & grill on the property with good food, good service, homey atmosphere like Cheers bar, all with fair prices and a one minute walk from your room. The flat screen TV's are on Dish satellite so you get lots of channels and HD TV pictures for free.. well included.
HEY it's a funky place that won't give you any stress and a decent cuppa coffee, bun and fruit awaits for you in the office in the morning.
The operator Tim is a very personable guy and will go the extra mile to make your stay fun.
Cons.. Okay.. for $143 with tax this is not an upscale joint by any stretch of the imagination so suck it it up cause it's 50+ miles in either direction to find another joint to lay yer head at these prices. Sure there's some $300+ a night joints near by.. this is not one of them. Deal with it!
No phones (a good thing right) no cell service (my gawd you'll have to talk to each other, now that's a novel idea eh) Internet from the dial up age so don't even dream of yer Netfix or your phone going out that way.
Anyway the place won't bite you and actually you might just find it cool, so enjoy.. I know if it was under $100 I would feel a lot better about it, but HEY I'm cheap.. ahh.. frugal .. yeah that's it.

Room Tip: Talk to Tim I hear some have a hot tub in them???
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This is a unusual place to stay. The views are fantastic and the manager Tom is really helpful, courteous, friendly, and knowledgeable about the local sights and places. The place looks like a motel, but is really more than that. Their name 'Lodge' is about right. Rooms are clean, and some have wood fire style stoves. There is a good hot tub, and again the views are fantastic over the cove. No breakfast, but Tim serves good coffee and homemade cakes and buns. The food in the grill is good. We enjoyed fish & chips, with homemade tartare sauce, homemade clam chowder, which is good, and a range of drinks. Prices are really fair and reasonable. I note the last reviewer's comment about ticks. Sorry that happened. They are endemic throughout California and it's good to be reminded and take sensible precautions wherever you are, like use a DEET bug spray, wear protective clothing, hot shower at the end of the day, and examine yourself.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Ocean Cove Motel should warn visitors of ticks that transmit disease!”

Ocean Cove was one of my favorite places and I had been there once before. So why the bad review? Last time I was there I got a tick bite that I did not see at the time, then I got the rash people often get exactly a week later, and then suffered a spinal "injury" of multiple disc rupture and herniation and over a year of pain and puking and migraines and so on since. I tested positive for Lyme disease and a parasitic co-infection, Babesia, from that tick bite - after struggling for months to figure it out.

My contracting Lyme Disease is of course no fault of Ocean Cove, but when I called them to report that news and ask that they put up a poster or something to warn people of ticks and Lyme and provide some prevention information, I got a dismissive response. They told me that local people know there is a high risk of ticks that carry Lyme Disease and other tick-borne diseases in the area. But people come to Ocean Cove from all over who don't have this information. I hope that the Owner/Staff at Ocean Cove can make the responsible decision to inform their customers, in the spirit of prevention and safety (and just plain customer service!).

I knew nothing of Lyme Disease and I was curious about the circular rash on my arm, but I forgot about it after my back injury until I got sicker. If I had any clue that ticks and Lyme were common in the Ocean Cove area, I may have been more aware to look out for ticks and/or symptoms, and known how important it is to treat it early and fast. Now I have brain swelling, spinal degeneration, gastro trouble and months of treatment to come.

For Ocean Cove frequenters - check for ticks (they are tiny!), learn how to remove them if you find them, know that you won't feel a bite because they emit something to numb the area, and know that adult ticks are now transmitting Lyme in that area Oct-May, on top of the Spring-Summer transmission time for nymph stage ticks. Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa Valley California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We went up to the coast for the night last night. We hadn't made reservations anywhere, so no plans on where to stay. We passed the Ocean Cove Lodge and decided this was the place! We turned in and Tim came out and greeted us. Told us a bit about the place and gave us a GREAT price for a Saturday night! The room was large and clean, and had a WONDERFUL gas fireplace that really warmed the room quickly. The bed was comfy and i had no trouble getting wifi that worked rather quickly, at least on my phone. We will DEFINITELY go back!! Thank you Tim, for having a GREAT place for us to stay! Terri and Darrell.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terri3fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jenner
2.1 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
88 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
297 reviews
22.1 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Sea Ranch Lodge
Sea Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in The Sea Ranch
764 reviews
21.1 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
490 reviews
21.6 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Cove Lodge Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Cove Lodge Bar & Grill

Property: Ocean Cove Lodge Bar & Grill
Address: 23255 Highway 1, Jenner, CA 95450-9735
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Jenner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Jenner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Cove Lodge Bar & Grill 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Cove Lodge Bar & Grill offers 16 comfortable rooms with beautiful views of the Sonoma Coast, Ocean View Dining, Outdoor Seating, Great Food, Full Bar, Reasonable Prices and Friendly Staff. Only 2 hours North of San Francisco and 17 miles North of Jenner, this natural and undeveloped environment is populated with state parks, sandy beaches, ancient redwood forests and secluded ocean coves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Ocean Cove Lodge Bar & Grill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing