We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic, surprising experience!”

River's End Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
River's End Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Jenner
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: The epicenter of Sonoma Coast dining...the River's End is located in the quaint village of Jenner by the Sea about 20 minutes north of Bodega Bay. The restaurant is set on a bluff overlooking the Russian River spill into the Pacific Ocean. During lunch you can watch the Osprey dive in the river for fish or the harbor seals frolic at riverside. Dinner time is all about the sunset - the show is worth the visit. Fortunately, the restaurant chefs and service staff aim to outdo the natural surroundings. The kitchen prepares California cuisine with a focus on local ingredients. Chef Martin Recoder prepares menus that are changing with the seasons and delight the heart. The service staff is led by Maitre d'/Owner Bert Rangel, who has owned and managed the restaurant for over 10 years. The Chef in the Redwood Bar is talented Patrick Keane. Trained at the French Culinary Institute, Patrick utilizes the freshest ingredients and classic techniques to create truly "Artisanal Cocktails".
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
267 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A fantastic, surprising experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

For a decent meal, it's the only choice... look no further.

What's great... you aren't paying more for bad food with a good view. You are paying for a stunning view, delicious food... and a good value to boot.

We went too late for sunset, so it was pitch black, and we just had to lovingly stare into one another's eyes. What a shame.

It's a delicious spot, not to miss when you are in town strolling through at lunch time, or for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnlineConcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    165
    58
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrific dining on the the northern Cal coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stumbled upon the Rivers End and at first thought it a humble supper club/cabin. We were surprised and delighted to discover its charms! First there's the lovely location at the exact place where the Russian River empties into the Pacific. Second there's the cozy ambiance and good service we enjoyed inside. But the food is the real draw! Everything our party of five had was delicious, from the salmon chowder to the beet salad, the duck confit with chutney to the wonderful creme brûlée. We're from Chicago, a city blessed with great dining options, but Rivers End was all that and more! Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WorkerbeeChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic View & Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent our 35th Anniversary by having dinner at this remarkable restaurant. By far one of the better meals I've had in a long time. Presentation of food was exquisite. Couldn't have asked for a nicer anniversary with phenomenal food, service and the view of the sunset was quite memorable. We will definitely be returning on our next trip to Jenner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sacman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on the Sonoma coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

While driving the Sonoma coast on a gorgeous, clear & warm day, we decided to stop at our favorite restaurant in the area and have a nice late lunch at River's End in Jenner. Seated immediately, we were served by long time employee – Evan. After a couple of drinks we started with the fresh & delicious Ceviche served with homemade tortilla chips. Excellent, could have had a meal of this!! Our entrees were fresh seared ahi on a bed of coconut jasmine rice and the duck confit sandwich with sweet potato fries. Only complaint…. the duck confit was not an entrée but a sandwich as we’ve had in the past. Maybe next time. Wonderful food, service, drinks located at the best spot on the Sonoma coast.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“An excellent meal - pity about the fog!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Booked a table to, we hoped, watch the sun set whilst enjoying out dinner. Unfortunately we had not accounted for the local weather and arrived to find the area swathed in fog!

The meat, however, was excellent. We sampled both of the salmon specials and each was an excellent meal with the fish cooked to perfection and great flavours in 2 very different styles. Would definitely recommend, but don't count on the weather playing ball....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ashgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River's End Restaurant also viewed

Jenner, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Jenner, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 

Been to River's End Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing